We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Seemed fancy but not as nice as I would have expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minshan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minshan Hotel
Ranked #38 of 2,519 Hotels in Chengdu
Sydney
Level Contributor
180 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Seemed fancy but not as nice as I would have expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a nice hotel - there wasn't anything blatantly wrong with it but, then again, it seemed to lack the character which would have made it truly memorable in some way.

The lobby was nice but, sadly, that same level of pizazz wasn't reflected as strongly in the rooms. While spacious and reasonably well-appointed, the bathrooms seemed a bit worn. Strangly, we had a shower in our room with a floor-to-ceiling window (facing into the bedroom) with a curtain inside - a bit odd.

Concerning the amenities, the buffet restaurant was very nice (and included a great variety) which was a plus. On the down-side, the wi-fi was only available in the lobby (though I think that this was temporary). And also, it was a bit frustrating to communicate with the spa. There was no spa menu in the room or online so I rang but couldn't find anyone who spoke English. Once got down there, they had an English menu but I couldn't communicate with the woman at the desk to actually make an appointment.

Finally, on the super-plus side, this hotel is in a great location - near the city centre, close to the Metro station, within walking distance to Tianfu Square, Renmin Park and a big shopping area :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sasandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    159
    37
    10
    0
See reviews for
7
13
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are very small. Bathroom is very small too. Furniture is new but bed feels like rock hard. Would rather stay at North American chain with more comfort. Free wifi is a plus. Seems clean but again super small.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlstar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is probably the least favorite hotel of our trip. The lobby is gorgeous and so we thought we hit a gem, however, don't judge a Hotel by it's lobby. The rooms are small and the bathrooms does not feel clean at all. Thank goodness we just stayed one night. We left early in the morning and therefore did not have the opportunity to experience the breakfast. Would love to come back to Chengdu for the food but not this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanatictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARRICKFERGUS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for 1 night as part of 'Splendours of China' tour of China. Location wise, in shopping district.
First sight - very impressed - it is modern, clean and deserves its 4 * status.
Room (standard room) and bathroom again clean and modern, 2 standard size double beds, shower in bath.
Breakfast usual large selection for both Western and Chinese tastes and good quality.
Bar has both smoking and non-smoking areas - efficient service.
Overall, no complaints - recommend it .
Final note, reviewing my credit card statement once I got home, I noticed that I was charged twice for a round of drinks - am in process to try and retrieve second payment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAZBOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed here twice in April and have no major complaints, but this is not five stars. Rooms are fine, 3 to 4 stars, not fantastic as one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Staff is unevenly polite, sometimes a bit dour and sometimes smiling and helpful. Buffer restaurant is varied and good quality, again a 4 star, but service leaves some to be desired. I had to get up repeatedly to ask for drinks.

I would return to this hotel and would recommend it, just call it a 4 star...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indipendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I guess front desk people are working there just for the sake of working. When I check in I never heard from them welcoming me and when I check out the lady who entertain me had a grumpy face maybe I check out too early around 600 am. Also the concierge was really really bad.. I request him to call a taxi for me but he never leave his desk so I just when out the street and get one.. I left June 3rd morning.. The only consolation is the house keeping people are quite helpful. But their new main wing room are quite nice.. but personal touch is lousy.. I guess because I look chinese.. Also seems they are quite few Non-smoking room ..so if you are non-smoker just beware you might not have a room for you even you have made a non-smoking reservation

Room Tip: They said the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wuhuanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Located in the middle of a posh shopping district/avenue (Tiffany & Co is across the street and Dior is next door), I gave this beautifully appointed, modern hotel only 4/5 because the bathroom smells like mildew. It's the one thing I cannot tolerate. Ew.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. The lobby is gorgeous. It's big and airy and modern, as is the room I occupied (1 king bed). The bed is firmer than I like, but I still slept. The hotel provides two complimentary bottles of water per room per day.

The room, bedding, and bathroom is clean (except for the smell of mildew).

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.1 mi away
JinJiang Hotel
JinJiang Hotel
#37 of 2,519 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#13 of 2,519 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#10 of 2,519 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Min. Suniya Hotel
Min. Suniya Hotel
#54 of 2,519 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wanda Reign Chengdu
Wanda Reign Chengdu
#8 of 2,519 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chengdu Garden City Hotel
Chengdu Garden City Hotel
#740 of 2,519 in Chengdu
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshan Hotel

Property: Minshan Hotel
Address: NO. 55 Section 2, Renmin South Road, Chengdu 610066, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#18 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#44 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Minshan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Minshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minshan Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing