We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area, mediocre hotel”
Review of JinJiang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JinJiang Hotel
Ranked #40 of 2,711 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a tour group trip through China and stayed here for 2 nights. The biggest thing that I did not like is that there are signs for a snooker room, a game and chess room and karaoke rooms. When we went to the snooker room, at 9 pm they told us its closed and when we asked when it opens they said it's "not open for business" (it's weird because there was a snooker room with balls and sticks, but we weren't allowed to use it). Similar thing for the game and chess room, except that there was no game and chess room. When we went to karaoke, an Asian mn shooed us away and said we cannot go sing at the karaoke rooms.

Given that no one spoke English when we went to ask where those rooms were and why we couldn't use the karaoke room, we couldn't get an answer from any of the staff.

The breakfast wasn't too bad and they had really tasty watermelon juice. The bar in the hotel was expensive, but right across the street is a little store that sells everything really really cheap and two streets away is a huge street full of little stores for shopping and in the other direction just a street away is a super cheap general store for anything you may need.

The service in breakfast was mediocre. It was hard to get the attention of the staff and I needed to go get my own coffee because they didn't bring me any after a while I eating there.

Cleanliness wise, I have no complaints; clean rooms, clean bathroom, clean hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanyaKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for JinJiang Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 753 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We always follow the reviews on Trip Advisor, but this time, it felt the reviews had been given by the staff's guanxi.

The hotel was the first hotel in South Western China to obtain 5 stars. In 1995 that was...
Today, it is no close to even a 3 star.
Apart from the location by the river and a nice shopping area, it is to be avoided.
The hotel floors and rooms stink of cigarette and have obvisouly not been refurbishment since 20 years ago.
On the first morning, we had booked a taxi early in the morning to go see the panda. Without letting us know, the groom explained in Chinese to the taxi driver that he could wait for us at the pandas (and charge us 80 yuan an hour!). We had to argue with the taxi driver on the way there, that it was not the plan. Nice plan Mister groom!
After the pandas, we went to a temple and then had lunch. When we came back to the hotel at 12.30, we wanted to take a nap and to our bad surprise, the room had not been cleaned! We called reception and went to wait in the lobby. 2 hours, when we went back up, the cleaners had just started cleaning... So we off for another round of tea in the lobby.
When the manager came to see us, she explained we should have asked for our room to be cleaned when we left in the morning. Yeah, sure. And should we also have asked to have a bed in the room?
The rooms are very aged and as per 2-star Chinese hotel standards 20 years ago, it feels (sounds) like the adjacent rooms' occupants live in your room...
When we checked out, we were surprised to be charged for a breakfast. We were explained that we had breakfast included, but as per their standards, it is only breakfast for 1 guest!
Also, at check-out, the receptionist tried to fool us and charge us 100 yuan for the taxi ride to the airport. When a ride to the meter is only 60 yuan (+ 7 yuan for the express way toll fee).

We wanted to pick a high standard Chinese style hotel (such as the Peace in Shanghai or the Raffles in Beijing) and wanted to rely on Tripadvisor reviews. That truly was a mistake.

There are many very nice hotels in the same area and surely they offer much better service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sociss-de-Monbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When you travel overseas, you must know and understand the culture. When we checked into the JinJiang hotel on October 11, the room was stifling hot. Outside was hot and humid and the room was miserable. We asked someone to come and turn on our air conditioning. They sent someone who spoke no English so it took awhile for us to find out that air conditioning is turned off the first of October. When the hotel amenities say 'air-conditioned public areas' that is a tip that the room might be hot. Luckily the windows opened and it cooled down at night but if you are going to be in the room during the day, it was pretty miserable. The location was excellent if you want to shop at Madison Avenue shops. Also, it is close to the river so there is an opportunity for a river stroll. Breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tilliemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

It is one of historical hotels in Chengdu, China. The room is neat even tough a bit small. Breakfast has lot of choices & delicious.
The location is great in the mid of shopping areas with walking distance (neat, clean and safe environment), taxi is easy to reach. The service of the hotel is definitely good.
Price is the most important thing: average price! means still affordable.

Not bad for staying for couple of days either for business trip, couple trip, family or just for lone-wolf vacationers.

Cons: For pub lovers, need to take taxi or cab to the locations.

Room Tip: Not sure about it, mine was 7th floor by the road.....
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you want to know what it was like to travel in China before international chains started throwing up ultra modern skyscrapers and cookie cutter business only hives, stop off at the JinJiang Hotel in Chengdu. Not that a lot of money didn't go into the refurb of this old matron, but it was spent on the wrong things like lobby marble. Lots of marble at the JJ. I can't comment on the main building except to say it's hideous though the breakfast is passable if you don't mind eggs fried in lots of oil served with white bread. I stayed in the building around the back, past a sad bamboo garden that looked like it hadn't any much attention since the passing of Sichuan titan Deng Xiaoping. The rooms were equally tired and dingy and the surly staff had a distinctly state-owned enterprise mien to them. I half expected a thermos of boiled water to be left outside my door each morning. (And if you understand that reference you're a real zhongguotong.) The JJ is only recommended for gluttons for punishment.

Room Tip: only stay in the main building, the back annex is horrid
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mriguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a very average hotel in China - one of those 3 stars by US quality, 4 star if pushed - by Chinese quality. The breakfast buffet was below average, the room was smaller than average, the location is very nice. But for the price, pay a little bit more for the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honglong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I am quite aghast at how highly rated this hotel is. It's a local 3-4 star that has seen better days, 15 years ago. The lobby is quite large, but shows its age and poor design. The check-in service was typically local, so it is rude and unfeeling, depending on who you get. The lifts are showing their age too, and everything is peeling off. The room is just as bad of course. Drabby and old, with poorly designed spaces and a small bathroom with no standing shower. At least they bothered to throw in a flat screen Philips tv, otherwise they will get a worse rating from me. Room service is expectedly below average. The fried rice I ordered was served in what looked like a kids plate and the quality is blah. Breakfast is in a large area, with some variety, but the quality is equally blah. I'm lucky i only needed to stay 1 night here for a conference

Room Tip: i don't think there's such a thing as a good room here
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.2 mi away
Minshan Hotel
Minshan Hotel
#47 of 2,711 in Chengdu
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,711 in Chengdu
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy Minyoun Chengdu Hotel
Galaxy Minyoun Chengdu Hotel
#49 of 2,711 in Chengdu
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
1.4 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,711 in Chengdu
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,711 in Chengdu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JinJiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JinJiang Hotel

Address: No.80 Second Section of Renmin South Road, Chengdu 610002, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#37 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $82 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JinJiang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the downtown area of Chengdu, Jinjiang Hotel has become the symbolic building of Chengdu with its long history, peculiar architectural style and irreplaceable importance. The patronage by world celebrities and business tycoons added much more to its dignity and honor.Decades-Old history 1958 witnessed the ground-breaking ceremony of Jinjiang Hotel. Marshal Zhu De and Marshal Chen Yi assigned personally the name“Jinjiang” to the hotel when it was completed in 1960.The name “Jinjiang” has three meanings: first, the hotel is near Jinjiang River; Second, Chengdu has been known as Jin City or Jin Guan city since ancient times; third, the character Jin in Chinese has a meaning of Prosperity, it implies people’s expectation that the hotel will have a prosperous future like new china. “The name of Jinjiang Hotel is the right word, very Suggestive.” said late Premier Zhou Enlai when he visited the Hotel in 1964. Height of Honor Honored as the first five-star business and tourist hotel in southwest China in 1995,Jinjiang hotel become the first hotel of Les Clefs d’ Or (Golden Keys)—a jack –of –all-trades with hotel services in Southwest China in 1998 by joining the International Les Clefs d’Or Organization. Jinjiang Hotel was conferred the most prestigious Five Star Diamond Award by AAHS in 1999. Superb Location Occupying an area of over 50,000m2,Jinjiang Hotel enjoys unique geographical advantages and is only 1 km from Tianfu Square, 17 km from Shuangliu International Airport and 5 km from Chengdu Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your JinJiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinjiang Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing