We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chengdu business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center
Ranked #38 of 2,730 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Room was well equipped and comfortable. The second floor restaurant provided a range of a la carte and buffet menus. We were happy with the a la carte service. We also used the 25th floor restaurant, which catered well for 10 people for an a la carte evening meal.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank TerryUK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 801 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

I wanted to stay in the shangri la but decided that the crowne plaza was a more economical option. The hotel is fine the staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable. do not spend extra on the excec floor the lounge is very small and the food and drink offerings very very limited.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicken1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I was booked into this hotel by my employer. I stayed 28 days and did not find any really problems to complain about.
Dont expect a non smoking hotel in China as they smoke everywhere including all resturants. Ask for a non smoking room and you will get one, no problem.
The food is as you would expect in China, and if you like noodles for breakfast you will be in heaven, but you can still get all the normal breakfast food you would expect in Europe. The two resturants for evening eating are really expensive but the hotel is close to a lot of good chain and local eating places. Starbucks on every street !!!!

Room Tip: Up grade to a business room for the free internet, business lounge with happy hour and a larger bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was my fourth stay at the Crown Plaze in Chendgu. I've always found the hotel to be in good condition and the beds firm but no over hard. The gym has all the necessary equipment, and a pool large enough for laps. The breakfast buffet has sufficient choices to satisfy any apetite.

The hotel was full for a conference so I received a twin room. The bed seemed about the size of a queen size mattress, and the room was well furnished. The rates were also about $60 more per night than I usually pay, I suppose because of the conference.

Room Tip: Ask for no smoking room. Chinese people sometimes smoke in non smoking rooms but you have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobFonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Crowne Plaza in Chengdu has a great location in the heart of Chengdu, close to the main shopping strip and ammenities.

The rooms themselves are perfectly fine without being anything special (if not old) and the buffet breakfast is of decent quality.

There was an incident where we asked the concierge to book the buffet breakfast the following morning - however this was somehow lost or not done and we were treated like criminals the next morning when we arrived and they couldn't find us in their book. They started packing up our dishes after we had started eating and we had to call the management to try and rectify the situation.

Unfortunately the management were also arguing with us and it was only after long conversations did they let us continue. This was poor customer service and inexplicable given that we were full paying customers of the hotel.

Hotel - 3 stars.
Service - 2 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I previously reviewed this hotel last year and warned all and sundry to stay away because of filfthy carpets and miserable dingy rooms. Sadly my employer has continued to book me into this hotel despite numerous protests.

However on my recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chengdu I was put in a refurbished room on the 16th floor and I have to say that the difference is ASTONISHING. This room is well appointed, bright and most importantly CLEAN!! There's no sign of the filfthy carpets and mould infested bathroom that I have been subject to in this hotel in the past.

For that reason I am re-reviewing the hotel with a much better rating, but with the caveat below:

PLEASE NOTE: only a couple of floors of the hotel have been refurbished at this stage, which explains why the other reviews of this hotel vary so wildly. Reviewers that have been given the better rooms are well pleased, while those that weren't are bitterly disappointed. So along with the high praise for the refurbished room my advice now is - If you can't be guaranteed a refurbished room STAY AWAY!!

Happy travels.

Room Tip: You MUST get a refurbished room, otherwise forget it. The high ratings do not apply to the disgustin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anh128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here 6 times in four years. Soon again. Great people, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast buffet, even grab snack for later. Pool. Spa. View from rooftop bar fine. Restauarant 25th floor usually not busy but great quality food and service. All at really good prices. LG

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
0.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,730 in Chengdu
352 reviews
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
#25 of 2,730 in Chengdu
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,730 in Chengdu
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center

Address: No.31 Zongfu Street, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#21 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#30 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $72 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb, convenient location in the heart of the Central Business District, adjacent to the “Chun Xi Lu” shopping and dining area, surrounded by office buildings like Times Square, Central Plaza, City Heart and Chuan Xin Mansion. The hotel offers 402 guest rooms and suites including the new Premier and Club rooms and suites. A comfortable stay awaits with attentive, courteous service plus the full facilities of our exceptionally designed rooms.For large scale events the 630 square meter ballroom can accommodate up to 550 guests. The ballroom is complemented by 10 other meeting rooms ranging from the 130-seater auditorium to the smaller 10-seater Boardroom. Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center offers an outstanding selection of restaurant and lounge venues to suit your every need. These include the Lobby Lounge, Sky Lounge and four restaurants serving Chinese, Japanese and International cuisine. An array of leisure facilities are available that include a heated indoor swimming pool, a brand new Fitness Center and Sukhothai Spa.Earning the reputation as one of the region’s finest hotels, “TRAVELING FOR SUCCESS” to Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chengdu
Chengdu Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing