We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holly's Hostel
Ranked #11 of 314 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Holly's. I thought the staff were really friendly and nice, they were helpful too. The roof top cafe served really tasty food! The location was nice. All in all a great hostel If i go back to Chengdu, I will stay there. www.chinahollyhostel.com

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniellegallant5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
14
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were in Chengdu for a brief time, we stayed 2 nights and that was 2 nights too many! First of all we turned up at the exact time we said we would, with no staff awake in reception, when we found someone they spoke very little English and they said there were no rooms available - although we had them booked weeks in advance. We then managed t get a room but were told we would have to sleep in seperate rooms but after a bit complaining we managed to get sorted. We then tried to book a trip that day to visit the pandas and were told it was fully booked, even though we also arranged this in advanced to do it with friends we were meeting at the hostel. 5 minutes before the bus was due to leave they knocked on our door and told us we could go. The noise was unbearable at night, a little noise is expected at hostels but this was a joke. Building work started at around 6:30am outside. We had people fixing their bikes in our room, tools and oil everywhere. about 2 doors on the ground floor had handles so every other one had to be slammed shut. The restaurant was open 1 time out of the 3 we tried but wasn't serving food, although prices were cheap enough on the menu if you can catch it open. The reception area was more of a crash pad for staff, 3 or 4 people slept there on a night. We got asked to move twice whilst sitting in a group so all the staff could sit together to eat. The plus side would be the showers, nice hot and clean, not a complaint in that department. Yes, the place is cheap but we've had a lot better experiences for the price. Would not reccomend it in the slightest, absolute dive!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We arrived at 5am, went to our rooms to drop off gear, had an excellent breakfast and were then driven to the Giant Panda Centre, where we had the pleasure of seeing most of the pandas moving around. Holly's Hostel has great rooms, with excellent bathroom, clean, cheap and fantastic food, great staff and very helpful booking next accommodation and travel arrangements.. we highly recommend this place, you won't have to eat anywhere else in Chengdu

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street, talk to Holly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Though Holly's Hostel is located in a great part of town, that is the only good thing I could find about it. The reception people were okay, as long as the questions I asked didn't involve them getting out of their seats. When I asked to look at some of the private double rooms, they were quite upset that they had to get up and walk upstairs to show them to me.

Downstairs, the lobby was filled with chain-smoking Chinese guests. I asked to look at a non-smoking triple room and the room they showed me had a man chain-smoking in it as well! Walking up stairs I quickly was overcome by the strong odor of urine. The shared bathrooms for the dorms was horribly disgusting....even for China.

There are other good hostels to stay at in Chengdu. I recommend avoiding Holly's and going someplace else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Our first night was spent in a filthy expensive hotel that was loud, smoky, and absolutely disgusting. This hostel was hostel-quality, but nice and clean, safe, quiet at night, friendly extremely helpful staff, good food. It was cold and amenities were basic (no glass in windows, just a curtain over the hole). But, hot water and space heater worked so it was fine. And it didn't reek like smoke, barf, or anything else! Just fresh air. The staff were really great and helped us plan visits to the panda center and the opera, eat, get phone cards, change money, use the internet, and get rides to the airport. Walkable to some cool neighborhoods although the alleyway location was a bit intimidating at first. The price was right, too!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

A simpel place that provides you what you need: a clean room with a good bed and bathroom. The location is perfect, at the edge of the tibetan quarters and close to the center. The staff is very friendly and speaks good english. I alwoays use the pickup-service from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFruit256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Good location. Room is basic and very reasonably priced.
Holly and staffs were friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended to all active travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.2 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#23 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dreams Travel International Youth Hostel
1.2 mi away
Somerset Riverview Chengdu
Somerset Riverview Chengdu
#20 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.6 mi away
BuddhaZen Hotel
BuddhaZen Hotel
#7 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly's Hostel

Property: Holly's Hostel
Address: No.246-17 Wuhouci Street, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 314 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Holly's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly`s Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing