We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but showing signs of age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
Ranked #23 of 2,747 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stay here sometimes for business. Its nice, the rooms are nice size. The area is close to lots of things to do. The subway entrance is right next to this place, which makes getting around good. But, the place is showing signs of age. I think there is a small remodel going on now, but I have not seen the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f2titan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, With regards to your comments, we currently finished a stage of upgrading our hotel facilities, now the brandnew Grand floor is coming up, and there will be a special offer for Grand floor guest which is paying extra 200rmb to get Executive Floor Treatment. In 2012 we start the room renovation project. We have therefore put your comments to our profile for future action.Only through these honest feedbacks can we strive to continue providing the best service and products to our gracious guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 830 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We toured with a group of 42 to Chengdu and everyone found the rooms a bit disappointing. Some rooms had no showers and the overall the rooms seemed old. The buffet was not bad. Good selection and the location was great but the Sheraton Lido would not be our top pick in Chengdu.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEEHUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Patrick,thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are currently in a stage of upgrading our hotel facilities and now the main new rooms renovation have already finished.We have therefore put your comments to our profile for future action.Only through these honest feedbacks can we strive to continue providing the best service and products to our gracious guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

One feels the age of this hotel. Although clearly booked a non-smoking room they were not able to deliver a non-smoking room for us. Also, it was raining heavily and no umbrella available so we could not go out. Beside if that the hotel is ok. The breakfast has a variety of food though more a focus on Asian than on western food.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petermann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel have provided for you. Please be sure of that we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and comments such as your help us to do so. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel.

With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is decent but beginning to show its age. I understand a renovation is in the works, hope the results turn out well. The first impression of the hotel in the soaring lobby is great, nice fixtures, even a large fountain. The first room I was assigned was supposedly on a non-smoking floor but smelt strongly of smoke, after a couple of calls to and ultimately a trip back downstairs I was reassigned a similar room that did not have the smoke smell. Throughout the hotel the carpets are worn and stained but most the fixtures in the rooms were in great condition. The hotel had quality solid wood doors and furniture throughout, hope they survive the renovation. I also hope they bring in the Sheraton bed as the current mattresses were hard and definitely not the sweet sleepers! The executive lounge has a nice selection of food & drinks, and good views over the city. Guests are allowed to smoke in the elevator lobby of this floor though, so be prepared to walk through a cloud of smoke to get into the lounge. Overall, this hotel has nice foundations and after a light refresh, especially in carpets and bedding it will be back up to a high standard. Don’t miss the Pandas if in Chengdu!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate your consistent support to Starwood Hotels and Resorts. I am very sorry for the unpleasant service you experienced at reservartion roon arrangement, Please accept my sincerely apologies. It's our priority to put our guests before us and we appreciate your affording us the opportunity to serve you. Needless to say that we will also take the necessary action regarding training and coaching of our associates in order to make sure they will deliver our service promise as it can be expected by you. Thank you for your valuable comments which certainly will help us in the improvement process of our services.
Finally, I would like to take the chance to thank you for choosing Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel for over 10 times. It is not the newest and most modern in Chengdu. The facilities and rooms are slightly dated. However, it is well upkeep, clean and efficiently run. I also like the convenient as it is located in the older part of town that provide good access to major government offices. It is one of the best value 5 stars hotel in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to hignlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We recently have undergone an extensive renovation and we are glad to see that our efforts were worth it. Thank you for your review, and we are look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two weeks and it was a great experience. All staff spoke English (not very likely in Chengdu) and they were really helpful. The breakfast buffet had variety of food.

There are almost no exchange offices in Chengdu so you might want to exchange money in this hotel, there is not a big difference in their exchange rates, very reasonable.

Also during my stay, there was an earthquake (pretty serious one) and staff were really well trained, and it was managed perfectly.

If you are a non-smoker, you might want to go and check the room because even though some of the floors are non-smoking you can see cigarette butts in the hallway and you can still smell that someone smoked in that room before.

Location-wise it's great, 1 min walk from subway station. Downtown is 15 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your generous praise of Sheraton Lido Chengdu. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality, and we will continually strive to deliver the warm Sheraton service and high quality products to our guests. It is also very encouraging to know that our Concierge team had made your stay a memorable and wonderful one.
Thank you once again for sharing your kind review. We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The staff on duty at the Nova restaurant on the morning of April 20 showed a high degree of professionalism when the earthquake struck. They very calmly directed us to the assembly point. It was clear that they knew what they were doing.

Well done Sheraton Lido Chengdu staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, Manager at Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your generous praise of Sheraton Lido Chengdu. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality, and we will continually strive to deliver the warm Sheraton service and high quality products to our guests. It is also very encouraging to know that our Concierge team had made your stay a memorable and wonderful one.
Thank you once again for sharing your kind review. We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,747 in Chengdu
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,747 in Chengdu
935 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#12 of 2,747 in Chengdu
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#11 of 2,747 in Chengdu
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,747 in Chengdu
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel

Address: No.15 Section 1, Renmin Middle Road, Chengdu 610015, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#32 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $83 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel is an international 5-star hotel which suits for both business and leisure travelers. Benefiting from the perfect location of city center, the hotel possesses an easy access to various landmarks of Chengdu. From the hotel, Tianfu Square, Wide and Narrow Alley, and Sichuan Science and Technology Museum are within walking distance; and Chengdu Shuangliu International Airport is also merely 30-minute away by vehicle. The closest metro transfer station “Luomashi” is 2-minute walking distance from the hotel. By utilizing the metro system of Chengdu, you will be able to reach attractions such as Wuhou Memorial Temple, Jinli Street, and Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding. In order to provide the best living experience for you, all rooms are equipped with amenities such as electronic card lock, chairs, umbrella, safety box, iron, ironing board, office stationeries, and 220 volt socket etc.. Non-smoking rooms are also available in our hotel. Additionally, the hotel also provides various facilities to enrich your stay, including 4 restaurants (Chinese and Western) and lounges, business center, swimming pool, gym, and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Chengdu
Chengdu Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing