We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Looks impressive but not practical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Ranked #14 of 2,259 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Looks impressive but not practical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I like this hotel, the hotel is quite new and staffs were nice especially those during checking in and out.
I was upgraded to the executive floor and the room was impressive as I walked in: full ceiling to floor clear glass view to the outside (not much of a view but open spaces with skyscrapers being built all around), here comes the strange part, the bathroom spans the width of the room and faces the street with the tub and toilet right next to this huge glass, I was told that the glass is not semi-mirror so that while you enjoy watching people working, they enjoy watching how you use the bathroom so for privacy, you have to lower the shade however, the shade is a single piece and does not come down in sections so that if you want to use the toilet, you have to turn on the lights. If you use the tub or the shower stall, you have to come out wet across the room to get towels and as for me, my glasses too and the bathroom becomes all wet. Oh, the toilet paper is located that you have to twist your hand to get it. The bed was good but the chair and couch were so uncomfortable, so much of the room was for looks until you uses them.

Room Tip: Get the shades down, I didn't know that the glass were clear glass until the next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    54
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
43
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The staff at this hotel is very helpful! There are a number of persons that made my experience very homely and I must acknowledge in my review.

The room was truly exceptional, after a long day it is rewarding to come to and I would recommend the Rhombus Fantasia Chengdu Hotel to anyone looking to relax and feel at home after a long day. The whatever whenever service, is at the name says, the staff really try to help you with just about any issue or concern you may have, I take this time to thank you for your excellent service, acknowledging me by name and making me feel so comfortable to call for anything.

The atmosphere at the hotel is very lively, the bed is rewarding and amenities in the room was great in the hotel and what you can expect for a 5 star hotel.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Ct. Usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. The staff were attentive, the breakfast was fine, and the bed was pretty good but we found the room to be horribly uncomfortable and inconvenient. Given the choice I would never stay there again. The hotel was designed to appeal to people who value style above comfort. There are very few towel racks and no counter space in the bathroom to put your toothbrush, shaving supplies etc. There must be 15 or 16 light switches by the bed, controlling various combinations of lights. It was impossible to figure out what switch turned on or off what light. When we entered the room at night it was pitch black and very hard to find the switch to turn on the light. There is no desk; instead there is a bar with a high stool that is very uncomfortable for working at a computer. The fitness center is not airconditioned and very warm. The pool is outdoors and you have to cross a dirty concrete floor to get to it. In summary, this hotel looks good on paper but it is a very frustrating place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a night when I was in Chengdu for business. I heard that it is a new hotel and it shows. The suite I had has a separate lounge area in the room. The bed was clean and comfortable, and there was a choice of soft and hard pillows for me to choose from.

The only view I had was from the restroom, which overlooks old housings and construction site. Your privacy is ensured by a touch of a button which sends the curtains down. The restroom has a great rain shower facility and a clean bath tub. The only gripe I have with the restroom is that the switch for certain lights cannot be found. For example I could not locate the switch for the toilet cubicle, so I spent some time there in relative darkness.

I was especially pleased by the turn down service. I went back to the room at night to find that there was a tray of nuts and a flask of warm tea with the next day's weather information set out. As the weather was cooling, the warm tea was a nice touch.

The decor of the hotel and the room was tastefully done and I felt that it bears a bit of similarity to W Hotel. The breakfast was ordinary and the hotel could do better with more variety of food.

Overall, it is an excellent hotel. For travelers seeking comfort in this inland city, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TayCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I used to stay at the Shangrila everytime I come here but decided to try this recently opened new hotel which is not as close as Shangrila to the very popular eating & clubbing hotspot Kwai Fong Chengdu (literally 30 steps away from the Shang's own bar Mooney's!), but still close enough around a 5-minute walk. It feels like a stylish, private and contemporary boutique hotel with nice rooms (got upgraded so I had a living room!). Interior was chic and stylish, and the room I had was of a decent size. Oh and there were 2 TVs in the room! I find the food much better than Shangrila's and service here showed a lot of personal touch. They even put a late night snack tray on your bed with mild tea and pistachios. The GM Alison is from HK and she told me this hotel is actually of the same group as the award-winning Hotel LKF in HK's LKF area!! Given the price being 2/3 of Shangrila, I would much prefer this hotel to the Shang. And I loved the close distance to LKF which has quite a lot of quality restaurants, bars and very trendy clubs! Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nawal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I travel internationally a lot and I have four main priorities when selecting a hotel other than location, which is unique to each person’s travel needs: 1) solid air conditioning that can be controlled from the room, 2) no-smoking rooms that truly are no-smoking rooms (read: no nasty smell in the room), 3) free in-room wi-fi, and 4) access to good Western breakfasts with the breakfast charge included in the room rate. Give me these four things and I’m willing to pay up a bit. I was scheduled to stay in a Holiday Inn in Chengdu, but my local friend who own a business near the Rhombus recommended it to me. FANTASTIC advice. In every way, the Rhombus exceeded my expectations. The A/C was perfect, there was no smokey smell whatsoever in my room, the WIFI worked brilliantly in the room (and was free) and the hotel's restaurant had a huge variety of delicious food (Western and Asian). The best, parts, though, were that the hotel is smack in the middle of downtown Chengdu and close to everything, and that the hotel itself is brand new. The hotel is very modern, in the lobby area, the restaurant, and especially the rooms. I could not have been happier with the room. It was essentially a suite, with a living room and a bar area when you first walk in, with a bedroom that was partitioned from the living room with a funky demi-wall. there was also a separate dressing area and a HUGE bathroom with two sinks, a tub, a glass-enclosed toilet area and another glass-enclosed shower. This room was bigger and WAY nicer than any of the apartments I've lived in and at an incredibly reasonable cost (I think only 850 RMB per night, breakfast included). The staff were also delightful, top to bottom. To me, all other hotels in Chengdu just vanished from the city...this is the only one to stay in. Period.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottv1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed a night here on 16/712, very new hotel !
swimming pool is ready, staff are very helpful in information , they are able to speak english too !
the hotel is very near to eatery n famous chunxi rd, lots of shopping n transportation is easy, a direct bus 301 from the airport can reach here.
Room are huge n we stayed in G60 Suite

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisboey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#11 of 2,259 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,259 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,259 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
0.2 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,259 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel

Property: Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Address: Hailrun Square, No.216 Xiadong Street, Chengdu 610021, China (Formerly Rhombus Fantasia Chengdu Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 2,259 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre of Chengdu, Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel is a 5-star all-suite hip hotel within walking distance from the famous Chunxi shopping district, Chengdu IFS, Taikoo Li Complex and Chengdu Lan Kwai Fong. With the Metro Line 2 Station just steps away, guests can enjoy easy access to the entire city through the remarkable subway system. The contemporary suites range in size from 50 to 330 sqm offering a separate living room, dressing area and bathroom uniquely designed with his & hers touches. All guestrooms are equipped with 42-inch LCD TVs in the living rooms and bedrooms, WiFi internet access, coffee machine as well as 100% cotton bedding and goose down pillows. Located on the second floor, Soulmate Restaurant & Lounge serves modern international cuisine with a dash of innovation, offering guests a heartwarming array of exquisite taste sensations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing