We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Ranked #31 of 2,730 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was my first time at this property (I formerly stayed at the Sofitel) and I was pleasantly impressed. The building is about a year and a bit old, feels new still, and the staff really do go out of their way to help. Breakfast is quite extensive and reasonably priced (RMB100). The bed was super comfortable. The location is good in the sense that there is a metro station steps from the front door, and it is also easy to get taxis - this can be a problem in Chengdu - at the Sofitel I had to wait up to 30 mins for a taxi, but here it was less than 1 minute each time. The Lan Kwai Fong area is currently under redecoration, but it is about a 10 minute walk away. Some new highways have been completed recently, so the airport is easier to get to - 20-30 mins depending on time of day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempleofPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear guest, welcome to Holiday Inn Oriental Plaza and thank you for your comments. We are glad to you have a nice stay in our hotel. We'll provide more professional service to all guests. "Stay Real, Stay You! " is highly appreciated in Holiday Inn. Looking forward your next stay in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 365 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed for 4 night in April and have nothing but excellent things to say about this hotel. The staff were cheerful, polite, efficient and spoke good English. At check in the front office manager introduced himself to me (im afraid I have forgotten his name) and the greeted me every time he saw me in the lobby.

The room was not large but certainly big enough, and well equipped. Location is also excellent. There is a metro station right on the doorstep (literally), and it is only a 15 minute walk the the very center of Chengdu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toasty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

In the CBD of Chengdu but just around the corner from local restaurants, & a metro station. The staff are very friendly & the rooms well appointed & very clean. Breakfast had a wide range of dishes to suit all tastes & Happy Hour in the Executive Club was very enjoyable. There was free WiFi in the rooms.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Executive floor which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstymc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our recent trip to JiuZhaiGou and ChengDu. I picked this hotel primarily based on its tripadvisor review and was very happy with the choice after a two night stay. The hotel is in the financial section of the city so it’s not walking distance to the tourist attractions. I considered that a plus because the area around the hotel was much more modern, cleaner and less crowded. The room is very modern and clean. It is on the smaller side for hotel rooms, but the interior design made very good use of the space available, the furnishings and the décor gave a European hotel room feel despite it being a Holiday Inn. The breakfast buffet was awesome, it had one of the best spread of both American and Chinese food on our week long trip staying at 5 star hotels in the SiChuan province, and it was a welcome sign (finally!) seeing a self-service espresso machine at the breakfast buffet.

The subway stop (line #2) is right outside the hotel front door, it’s two stops east of the main city square (or a 20 minute walk). There is a 7-11 type store inside the subway stop if you need to get extra bottle water. The entire hotel is equipped with fast and free WiFi, that was very much appreciated after staying at two hotels without WiFi (even paid) access. We’ll definitely stay here again if we visit ChengDu in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huskies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of our China trip and we loved it! The check-in was very welcoming and the staff went an extra mile to celebrate my birthday with a cake and a hand written birthday card which was a very nice touch. Since, my hubby is a Priority Club Platinum, they were kind enough to upgrade us to the club level. The rooms were small but beautiful. We loved that they gave a pillow menu as well.

The breakfast in the main restaurant was outstanding. We not only loved the variety of food they offered, but also the taste of every single dish. The servers were always smiling and would politely refill coffee when asked.

Since we were busy exploring Chengdu, we didn't really get to try the Club Lounge but it looked great. In the evenings, they had variety of appetizers and sushis as well as beer and wine.

As some people mentioned earlier, the hotel is not close to anything but it was quite easy for us to take the taxi from/to the hotel. On the last day, we took a metro to come back from the Chunxi road area and the subway is right outside the hotel (about 10 steps from the hotel) which made it extremely convenient location for us.

I highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely go back whenever we are back in Chengdu next!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shikhasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I did find the hotel via Tripadvisor and I have to say that I am not disappointed. Hotel has completed one year recently. Everything is still new. Rooms have good sice and anything one would need.
Breakfast had to be paid extra. Not too exciting. Would say standard. If I had a Strabucks nearby, it would have been my choice.
I had a beer in the bar behind the lobby. Besides the CNY 35 they charged (USD 5.60) they charge CNY 5 as service. Dont think this is appropriate. Should be te choice of patron to decide.
Overall very recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: To the rear and upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5matters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Convenient location – not far away from Chun Xi road and tube station is right under building
Good condition – room is spacious and we chose the one not next to street, very quiet in the evening/morning
Good service – staff know what they doing skilfully, and being very friendly

Room Tip: not close to main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azureskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
1.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,730 in Chengdu
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,730 in Chengdu
925 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel
#25 of 2,730 in Chengdu
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza

Address: No.231 Zhiquanduan,East Avenue | Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610061, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 2,730 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $70 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the stylish, contemporary Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza to relaxing and enjoying your lifeConveniently located at Zhiquan Duan, East Avenue, Chengdu Financial Centre and 19 km from Shuangliu International Airport. We are close to Yan Shi Kou Commercial Centre and Chun Xi Lu Shopping Street, within 5 minutes driving. Lai Kwai Fong and Jiu Yan Qiao Street , the city bar street, are 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Commute easily to other parts of the city, such as Wuhou Temple, Kuanzhai Alley and Du Fu Thatched Cottage with the nearby No.2 Metro, which takes only 30 seconds to get there from hotel Porte Cohere or readily available taxis in the district.Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s guestrooms all feature flat-screen televisions, satellite channels, work desks with ergonomic seats and high-speed Internet access. Let our Business Centre support all your secretarial needs with print, fax, copy, email and IT services. With one function room and three meeting rooms, banquets team can customize our facilities to suit your event’s needs, whether it is a boardroom meeting, intimate champagne reception or special wedding dinner.Renew your body with a workout or swim in Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s modern Fitness Centre. Indulge your appetite in our master chef’s finest creations at Jinjiang Chinese Restaurant or in our all-day dining - Cafe C and room service. Treat yourself to an afternoon tea or evening cocktail at hotel lobby lounge.Make Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza your first choice in your next trip to Chengdu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing