We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, high standard rooms, helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Ranked #24 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, high standard rooms, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location with a subway station literally next to the hotel entrance and a lively little street adjacent to the hotel with plenty of food stalls, restaurants and a lovely open air teahouse (next to the river). The bus station for a daytrip to the Dafo Giant Buddha is a 10 min taxi drive.

Rooms are large and high standard; hotel is brand new and occupation still low, so ask for an upgrade when you check in.

Overall very good place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cifar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    135
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
55
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
213 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Checked in the 2 nd of october and booked an executive room. It is mentioned that this hotel has AC but after 4 hours the temperature was still 23 degC in the room. I finally went down to the reception and they told me that they have inabled the AC to be individually controlled below a certain amount of degrees. There was also a smell of urine in the bath room and the shower was dirty (I have evidence on pictures). I do travel up to 200 days a year and I do off course know that HolidayInn is not a five star hotel, but an AC which cannot be controlled and dirty smelly bathrooms are not ok. As consequence of this I cancelled the other 2 nights directly during the first evening. The breakfast room was overcrowded and You needed to fight for a table.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_Pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The last time I was in Chengdu was about 10 years ago and have no recollection of the city and did not know what to expect when I booked this hotel. First and foremost, we were very fortunate the Metro (subway system) for Line 2 was opened only 2 days before our arrival. The entrance to the Metro is right next to the entrance of the hotel and it connects to almost everywhere in the this vast city. All the signage are in both Chinese and English and the Concierge at the hotel will assist you to plan your trip. Tickets can be bought from the vending machine and it is in English. Cost is between RMB 2 to 4 only for one way. My friends took a taxi to a famous Chicken Soup restaurant and it took them 1 hour due to rush hour traffic whereas I took the Metro and I got there in only 30 minutes.

Besides the Metro, just across from the hotel (about 10 mins walk) is the newly opened bar and restaurant strip called Lan Kwai Fong Chengdu (the same operator as the original one in Hong Kong). Great place to hang out and this vast entertainment area have almost everything for all ages.

We found that Chengdu has a shortage of taxis and with the above comments, if you are a first time visitor to this great city, staying at this hotel will greatly solve your problems about moving around.

The rooms at this Holiday Inn is of much higher standards than most of your Holiday Inns in Asia. It is very modern and most of all, lots of the staff understand and speak good English. The breakfast has lots to offer, especially the juices. The coffee is freshly brewed unlike the instant coffee you get elsewhere. There is a noodle station and also a Dim Sum station besides your standard egg station, breads and so forth.

One of the reasons this trip was memorable for us has the choice of staying here. We never felt that we were far away from our hotel as it was so convenient to move around for sightseeing and shopping.

Overall, the price you pay versus the benefits of location, this hotel has to be your choice if you are visiting Chengdu for the first time.

Room Tip: As Chengdu is so foggy, it does not matter which direction your room faces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Some problems when we checked in. My friends were not given the rollaway bed requested until 11pm and the executive lounge had no food despite being told it was open until 10pm. We arrived at 8:30pm. However this was all put right the next morning by the excellent staff, Kevin & Henry. Henry drove us to the panda reserve, picked us up and organized tickets for the Sichuan Opera in the evening. Turned out to be an excellent day. The buffet lunch was excellent value and had a fantastic choice.

Room Tip: Executive club gives you access to the lounge, free drinks and canapés but be aware of the time rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the type of hotel I like best: a great value. It has a lovely interior and rooms, gym, pool, and a really attentive staff, yet is not expensive. The buffets are great and when I was late for the dinner buffet, the staff helped me choose local food from the menu and made me feel like an honored guest at a private dinner. Of course, the fact that it is brand new also helps, but I think it is well managed because it has a lot of small service touches that put it above its class.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We took a 14day- 5 cities tour and out of all 5 hotels this is the cleanest one I've been to. The hotel is very new looking. Compare this hotel to to the Holiday Inn in the US it's like a five star hotel. The breakfast is good and the restaurant in the hotel is good too. And the staff are very nice and curteous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
196 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

A hotel with a distinct eagerness tto copy-cat some features of the InterContinental. They seem to have succeeded a bit atleast in the ambience of the corridors. Staff a bit on the learning stage. A disappointing fact that they do not accept Dollars, and there seems to be no redressal mechanism at place, if u land in the midnight straight from the airport with only foreign currency in hand. Breakfast menu the same as would be in most of the HI hotels. Could be better, but ok for now. Evening buffet seems to be sumptuous with additional varieties. Housekeeping seem to be always on the move....sometimes it is turning out to be a disturbance on ur privacy...a little over-doing there but appreciable cleanliness. The MRT just at the doorstep would add a great locational access advantage to this hotel. New hotel, new staff and require some new thinking towards better orientation to guests. Toiletries mediocre....could do well there. Overall a quiet place for a short stay.

Room Tip: Just ask for rooms at the front overlooking the road and in the middle. The nearby building overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAS1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
0.4 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#10 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Address: No.231 Zhiquanduan,East Avenue | Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610061, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the stylish, contemporary Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza to relaxing and enjoying your lifeConveniently located at Zhiquan Duan, East Avenue, Chengdu Financial Centre and 19 km from Shuangliu International Airport. We are close to Yan Shi Kou Commercial Centre and Chun Xi Lu Shopping Street, within 5 minutes driving. Lai Kwai Fong and Jiu Yan Qiao Street , the city bar street, are 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Commute easily to other parts of the city, such as Wuhou Temple, Kuanzhai Alley and Du Fu Thatched Cottage with the nearby No.2 Metro, which takes only 30 seconds to get there from hotel Porte Cohere or readily available taxis in the district.Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s guestrooms all feature flat-screen televisions, satellite channels, work desks with ergonomic seats and high-speed Internet access. Let our Business Centre support all your secretarial needs with print, fax, copy, email and IT services. With one function room and three meeting rooms, banquets team can customize our facilities to suit your event’s needs, whether it is a boardroom meeting, intimate champagne reception or special wedding dinner.Renew your body with a workout or swim in Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s modern Fitness Centre. Indulge your appetite in our master chef’s finest creations at Jinjiang Chinese Restaurant or in our all-day dining - Cafe C and room service. Treat yourself to an afternoon tea or evening cocktail at hotel lobby lounge.Make Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza your first choice in your next trip to Chengdu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing