We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good after a rocky start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Ranked #31 of 2,704 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good after a rocky start”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Some problems when we checked in. My friends were not given the rollaway bed requested until 11pm and the executive lounge had no food despite being told it was open until 10pm. We arrived at 8:30pm. However this was all put right the next morning by the excellent staff, Kevin & Henry. Henry drove us to the panda reserve, picked us up and organized tickets for the Sichuan Opera in the evening. Turned out to be an excellent day. The buffet lunch was excellent value and had a fantastic choice.

Room Tip: Executive club gives you access to the lounge, free drinks and canapés but be aware of the time rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    139
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
55
17
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the type of hotel I like best: a great value. It has a lovely interior and rooms, gym, pool, and a really attentive staff, yet is not expensive. The buffets are great and when I was late for the dinner buffet, the staff helped me choose local food from the menu and made me feel like an honored guest at a private dinner. Of course, the fact that it is brand new also helps, but I think it is well managed because it has a lot of small service touches that put it above its class.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We took a 14day- 5 cities tour and out of all 5 hotels this is the cleanest one I've been to. The hotel is very new looking. Compare this hotel to to the Holiday Inn in the US it's like a five star hotel. The breakfast is good and the restaurant in the hotel is good too. And the staff are very nice and curteous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A hotel with a distinct eagerness tto copy-cat some features of the InterContinental. They seem to have succeeded a bit atleast in the ambience of the corridors. Staff a bit on the learning stage. A disappointing fact that they do not accept Dollars, and there seems to be no redressal mechanism at place, if u land in the midnight straight from the airport with only foreign currency in hand. Breakfast menu the same as would be in most of the HI hotels. Could be better, but ok for now. Evening buffet seems to be sumptuous with additional varieties. Housekeeping seem to be always on the move....sometimes it is turning out to be a disturbance on ur privacy...a little over-doing there but appreciable cleanliness. The MRT just at the doorstep would add a great locational access advantage to this hotel. New hotel, new staff and require some new thinking towards better orientation to guests. Toiletries mediocre....could do well there. Overall a quiet place for a short stay.

Room Tip: Just ask for rooms at the front overlooking the road and in the middle. The nearby building overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAS1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a brand new hotel in operation for just a couple of months. Everything is new thus making this a comfortable stay in Chengdu. The hotel crew definitely maintains it's HI standards. Speaks very good English.
While location is not as ideal ( no direct metro line nearby) but everything is just 8-10 yuan away. Cheap convenience.

The staff at concierge offers excellent tour reference and arrangement. You should get their help to flag a cab as gettig one at peak hour yourself can be tough if you are not tough enough.

We stayed for 5 days. The 蜀restaurant downstairs is nice. Staffs are very helpful and accommodating.

I will definitely recommend this hotel to any foreign tourists to Chengdu.

I want to thank the staffs who attended to us during our stay fr june2-6.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamBoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Even though my trip coincided with the first week of operation of the hotel, the few hiccups during my stay were attended to, to my satisfaction.

Room Tip: From he standard to the club level rooms, all are well appointed and comfortable, as expected a new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

New hotel that is in a great location. Club lounge is a bit limited but they have just opened.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you very much for staying at Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza. It is honor for us to provide you with satisfied service and catering. Sincerely expecting your return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center
1.9 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,704 in Chengdu
324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,704 in Chengdu
913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#8 of 2,704 in Chengdu
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Address: No.231 Zhiquanduan,East Avenue | Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610061, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 2,704 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the stylish, contemporary Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza to relaxing and enjoying your lifeConveniently located at Zhiquan Duan, East Avenue, Chengdu Financial Centre and 19 km from Shuangliu International Airport. We are close to Yan Shi Kou Commercial Centre and Chun Xi Lu Shopping Street, within 5 minutes driving. Lai Kwai Fong and Jiu Yan Qiao Street , the city bar street, are 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Commute easily to other parts of the city, such as Wuhou Temple, Kuanzhai Alley and Du Fu Thatched Cottage with the nearby No.2 Metro, which takes only 30 seconds to get there from hotel Porte Cohere or readily available taxis in the district.Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s guestrooms all feature flat-screen televisions, satellite channels, work desks with ergonomic seats and high-speed Internet access. Let our Business Centre support all your secretarial needs with print, fax, copy, email and IT services. With one function room and three meeting rooms, banquets team can customize our facilities to suit your event’s needs, whether it is a boardroom meeting, intimate champagne reception or special wedding dinner.Renew your body with a workout or swim in Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza’s modern Fitness Centre. Indulge your appetite in our master chef’s finest creations at Jinjiang Chinese Restaurant or in our all-day dining - Cafe C and room service. Treat yourself to an afternoon tea or evening cocktail at hotel lobby lounge.Make Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza your first choice in your next trip to Chengdu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing