We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch quality of service and facilities, close to Giant Panda Reserve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
Ranked #30 of 2,790 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is located in Poly Park and is a good base to visit the Giant Panda Breeding and Research Base. They offer a free shuttle to the base and also sell tickets at the front desk.
The facilities are incredibly modern and well decorated, with some panda elements here and there. Our room was spacious and comfortable, also suitable for business travelers.
Service was flawless and they went the extra mile because they served us late dinner at the bar when the kitchen was about to close.
The breakfast was impressive, with plenty of choice, both local and international. We cannot point out a single flaw. The hall where breakfast is served was itself stunning.
The taxi ride from the airport should cost around 150 yuan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie F, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear guest, thanks for sharing your feedback, and we are happy to know that our hotel complemented your trip here and left you with good impressions. Hope you were all good with dinner served in the lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 286 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We picked up this hotel because it is very close to Panda breeding research base (5 minutes shuttle ride), and not expensive, less than $100 per night. We were very surprised to find the hotel is very modern,beautiful, and very clean. The food is delicious, both in Chinese restaurant and Cafe. Staff are very friendly. The hotel has free shuttles to Panda base and city. It is very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank smilej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie F, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden and taking your time to give us your valuable comments. We're proud to see that you really enjoyed the stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you in the near future with the excellent environment and service as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed Crowne Plaza for 3 nights, very nice, large room. The place is pretty new, large tub in the bathroom, walk in shower. The buffet dinners were nice, great selections of western and Chinese food. It's close to Panda base, a little bit far from city, but we had a car so it wasn't a problem.

Great place for family to relax, will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castlerock0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie F, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear guest, thanks for choosing to stay with us, and share your feedback. It is truly delightful to learn that you had an great stay. We are really proud of leaving a good memory for your trip. Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

When we booked this hotel we did so because Crowne plaza was a name we could trust, it was a 5* resort with that looked like stunning grounds and the price was reasonable and i must say it has lived up to our expectations.

This was the perfect location for us to view what i would consider the main attractions of Chengdu:
1. The panda breeding center.
2. Junli Street
3. Leshan Buddha
4. Mt Qingcheng

From the Airport:
As first time traveler's to China from the UK i thought it would be nice to stay in this resort rather than a hotel in the middle of the city. Personally i think we made an awesome choice. Yes, it is around 150-180RMB and 45mins to the hotel but hey we've done the same in New york, LA, Sydney etc and the fare is a lot cheaper here (Just be sure to take a green taxi - and try to ignore anyone who speaks english at the airport who wants to help you find a taxi, they will want a cut of the fare). We went into the city a few times and saw a lot of the hotels there and i think unless your on business there's no real benefit to stay in the heart of Chengdu?

The Hotel:
Hotel is fabulous and from the moment you arrive you notice how large and spacious the lobby is and the huge windows looking out over the grounds of the hotel and the swimming pool/beach. Rooms were plush and modern, there was lots to choose from the buffet in the morning including both western and eastern foods which suited. The buffet is open for lunch and dinner i believe for dinner the price per person was equivalent to £13 (weekday) £16 (weekend) however this includes wine!

We made a spa reservation which went really well, spa prices were fair and the staff and facilities are very professional and relaxing - definitely inline with 5* standards. We used the outdoor pool everyday and did a spot of sunbathing on the manmade beach.

We upgraded our room to a Club room, so we had club lounge access. This is well worth it considering every night we went back and chilled out with a bottle of wine and there was a really good selection of hot and cold foods

The staff:
All in all the staff were excellent and really made our stay memorable. As westerners who don't speak chinese (apart from 'hello' and 'thank you') we felt the communication barrier as soon as we landed in China however staff at the hotel did their best - every time to ensure we got the information we wanted. I don't know whether we stood out but i can honestly say we felt like we had personal treatment all the time.

During our stay we got engaged - and when we ordered champagne for the occasion the bar manager set his team to make a cake with a panda theme for us which i thought was a nice gesture and just goes to show how far they are willing to go to ensure you have a good stay.

Sightseeing:
Panda base tickets can be bought in the hotel and there is a free shuttle to the base from the hotel which is great. For other sightseeing trips e.g Leshan buddha and Mt Qingcheng I would also like to recommend 'ChinaTravel4u' at www.chinatravel4u.com, we had Daniel and he was excellent, trustworthy and has good knowledge of the hotel location.

We did a 3 week tour around all the major sights in China and my partner and I agreed that of all the stops, we would visit Chengdu again and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Club room with access to club lounge is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie F, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest, we are so glad to witness your engagement and made the moment more meaningful.Thank you for trusting Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden. All of our staff are committed to excellence and to be a guest loved great hotel is our primary vision to achieve. We will be grateful if you could allow us the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Went for a business conference. Staff was very well trained and helpful allround. English maybe a little light, but no big problem. Facilities are modern, spacious. Food at the buffet offers many choices. Only the bread was too soft. Location was great for my colleagues who decided to stay for the WE.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank EugeneRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie F, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your generous praise of our hotel. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality, and we will continually strive to deliver the warm service and high quality products. Thank you once again for sharing your kind review. We will also enhance staff training to better meet our guests' need. Looking forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. It is a good way out of the city but hotel runs a shuttle bus to both Panda reserve and town.
Cost Y 180 for cab to get there , slightly less in the cab they ordered for us to return to airport when we left. Well worth it.
If you there just for Panda reserve then this is literally 5 mins away.
The rooms are fantastic and large. There is a big bathroom with good size bath as well as a shower.
The pool is fantastic with a steam room and sauna. Swimming hats and great towels supplied for guests along with all manner of complimentary soaps , gels, shampoos.
Lovely grounds , shops in walking distance.
Food was very good. We had the evening Buffet on two occasions and the items varied. Really if you can't find some thing to your satisfaction it'syour own fault and to cap it all they gave you complimentary Californian wine with it.
I can't really say enough about it. The staff were helpfull and friendly , the concierge actually chased after us once as we walked out, with a brolly, cos it looked like rain and he was concerned we might get wet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clive b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie F, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear guest, thanks for choosing to stay with us, and share your feedback. It is delighted to learn that you had an great stay with us. To be a guest loved great hotel is our primary vision to achieve. We will be grateful if you could allow us the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I went to the Chengdu Panda Garden Hotel last summer and it was amazing. Once I got there, I didn't want to go anywhere else. It is a giant magnificent hotel with beautiful architecture and designs. The lobby and dining hall was giant! There also was a Gothic church for weddings and even a small garden where they plant things and have rabbits. The service was great there and everything went well as planned. It is a great place to stay if you want quietness and if you are going to the Panda base. There are free shuttles to and from the base (free!) everyday and you just have to reserve a spot for yourself/selves. When we went into our room, there was a free snack waiting, panda shaped cookies and fruits. The breakfast was good and everything was good at this hotel!
Definitely coming back to hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, the views are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie F, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear guest, thanks for sharing your feedback, and we are happy to know that our hotel complemented your trip here and left you with good impressions.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
14 mi away
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
10.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu West
Crowne Plaza Chengdu West
#32 of 2,790 in Chengdu
89 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#20 of 2,790 in Chengdu
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden

Address: Poly Park 198, No.1980 Shulong Avenue, Xindu District, Chengdu 610503, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 2,790 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $77 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of colorful Poly 198 Park, Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden is the first international upscale hotel in North Chengdu. The hotel conveniently adjoins High-Tech West Zone and Xindu Industrial Park, and is within nearby walking distance to a 2,000 acre music park, Poly Lafitte Sports Park and the world famous Chengdu Panda Base. We are 30 minutes’ drive from downtown’s Tianfu Square, 20 minutes from Chengdu North Railway Station and East Railway Station, 45 minutes from Chengdu Shuangliu International Airport. Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden offers 345 exquisite guest rooms, each designed to exceed your expectations. We also feature 3 signature restaurants of differing styles, presenting you a delectable range of global cuisines and delicacies, along with a carnival of Sichuan and Cantonese specialties. Choco Deli offers a distinctive French and European flavor, a variety of homemade breads, cookies and tasty selection of fine pastries and cakes for all occasions including weddings. The hotel is additionally equipped with Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Touch Spa, Indoor and the only Splash Outdoor Pool in town. 3 round trip shuttle bus to Panda Base and city centre Tianfu Square is your ideal choice of convenient travel with quickness. What’s more, Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden features an 800 square meters ballroom and is complemented by our Tulip function room with independent reception hall and 6 additional function rooms. In addition, the hotel offers 3,000 square meter outdoor banquet area and space suitable for any number of events. As for that special day in people’s lives, the hotel presents a unique outdoor venue that’s ideal for weddings and parties presented by our devoted Crowne Plaza Weddings team.With its attractive environment, elegantly appointed rooms, broad range of meetings and event facilities, unique dining and recreation facilities and excellent service, Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden offers you a refreshing and successful city-resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing