We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the area is a really nice suburb” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu
Ranked #54 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Lima
Level Contributor
265 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“the area is a really nice suburb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed there for some months, I have to recognize that it was not my ideal place but compared to others it was the best choice for a combination of service, neighborhood, surroundings, easy access and convenience. Close to the subway, quite well maintained, full of shops around, banks, restaurants, supermarkets, malls, different types of stores, green areas. Staff is very polite and actually the one in the restaurant were really welcoming. Previous management was very responsive and proactive, not sure how is it going now (not that good judging by some reviews). Breakfast as in many other long stay aparthotels is biased towards chinese/asian food (nothing wrong with that, just that I would prefer more western type), having said that you can always order eggs whatever style you want. I didn't like the fact that for my likes the rooms were quite dark, I like bright places. All in all no complaints, it is right in frontof the Tongzilin area where lot of expats live, so you have plenty of choices and services across the other side of the subway. Has a nice gym but I stopped going since they turned off the a/c and I was not able to exercise with the air coming out of a vent (dusty).

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the top floors are better and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments and hope you to be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Location is great near the subway station, facilities ok, breakfast average. Main problem for me, they do not differentiate between smoking and non-smoking floors. Hence the room smell of smoke as long as someone on your floor is lighting up a cigarette. Furthermore, windows are sealed, can't even ventilate within the apartment. This is especially bad for people with allergies. Although they claim to have a air purifying and circulation system, it does not seem to have any effect. Probably bearable for short term stay, but definitely not recommended for long term stay with kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank star3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience in our hotel. Even though there are some problems, all of our staffs will try our best to provide better experience for you. If we are lucky to have your reservation next time, please send e-mail to our reservation department via reservations.orfc@oakwoodasia.com, we will provide private service for you. Please receive our sincerest apology and hope you to be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
244 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel was recommended by frequent travelers who spend long periods of time in Chengdu, and the Oakwood seems the right place for those trips: Service in good (but could be faster), hotel is clean and well kept. Breakfast is OK, dinner is simple but good quality western food.
The hotels location requires subway travle to local attractions and shopping markets, but the subway station is a short walk away. Behind the hotel is a 7-11, good for stocking the refrigerator in the room (coffee & tea are replenished daily).
Unfortunately the fitness center only opens at 6:30AM, this is not early enough for business travelers on tight schedules. The pool and fitness machines are new and good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Dear guest, thank you for your review. Hope we can serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The apartments are so quiet inside even with the noisy streets outside. Perfect night's sleep! The area is quite residential, with private apartment blocks just next door. Theres a convenient 7/11 round the corner and the bakery next to the entrance has wonderful pastries for breakfast or tea. Round the back are restaurants and across the street, is a great massage place called Changle. Its is very clean and professional - try the one where they step on your back!. Service is pleasant and efficient at Oakwood and the people are very good.

Room Tip: All are pretty quiet cos they have good double glazed windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryLuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Dear guest, thank you for your review. Hope we can serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My Husband stayed in this service apartment for 5 weeks due to work. I flew over to join him on his last couple of days we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was clean, looks very new and the size is very generous. Our kitchen was full of utensils and was cleaned everyday. We had a hugh tv in both the living area and our bedroom.

The service is spot on, even though there is a language barrier they still try the best to accommodate you and help you find your way to where ever you want to go!

The swimming pool is very clean, they will not let you in unless you have a swimming cap on! They have a change room with lockers that requires an electronic bracelet to open - free of course. The showers in the change room is also kept very clean. They also have a sauna in the change room. I didn't get to go to the gym but it is right next to the swimming pool with a glass wall separating the two.

Breakfast is reasonable, they have their typical asian breakfast which includes congee, noodles, chinese donuts, pork buns etc as well as catering for westerners they also have the American hot breakfast and cereal.

Location of the hotel is near the wangfujing shopping centre. The centre is well worth a visit, it is big with all different kinds of shopping stores from clothes, restaurants and even a supermarket downstairs.

I would definitely be staying here if i was to visit Chengdu again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, and we also thanks for your precious review. Hope we will see you again at Oakwood, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in Oakwood for 1 night. Hotel itself looks great, brand new. I got a room upgrade and ended up in this 150 square meter apartment with kitchen, washing machine, huge TV, etc.

While huge, the apartment was very cold. The air conditioning made a lot of noise and provided no improvement so I hd a pretty poor sleep.

One more issue to with mentioning, I arrived rather late, after 10pm and the hotel had no open bar. No bar in the room either.


All in all I have seen better in Chengdu, but for the price here Oakwood is a good choice. But not in winter time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AriesInMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,Thank you for choosing Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, and we also thanks for your precious review. For the air conditioning issue that you mentioned,
we feel sorry to about that. And our engineer will check it consistently. Hope we will see you again at Oakwood, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was shocked when I saw used underwear and tissues in the right drawer of the desk in front of the mirro in the bedroom while I was serching for internet wire.And the room was cold without air-conditional functionally working, I called the frondesk immediately and asked for my room to be changed, but I was told since the manager was not on duty, they could do nothing.She only gave me the password of the hotel wifi.
about 7am this morning, I called the front desk again about the airconditioning problem and requested a meeting with the manager so I could persuade some reasonable personnel to help me out with this mess. I was simply told the manager and the engineer would not work until 9, when I was back again in the room after breakfast, I called the frontdest again, I was told they were busy with the morning meeting, and I had to wait at least 10 minutes. the fact was a Mr Zhao Ben Wei, entitled chief engineer came to my room at least 35 minutes after my call. Two more ladies from the Housekeeping Department came another 20 or 25 minutes later, and the Financial Controller Captain Ip came to my room at 2pm, and nothing happened so far
How can a five-star hotel treat customers like this?
I am so confused.
and I am sitll waiting for their "five-star" reaction, which is supposed to be more prompt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Oakwood

Helpful?
1 Thank chaizhixian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry L, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu, and we also thanks for your precious review. For the issues you mentioned,we did review your comments carefully and we feel sorry to what happened before in our property. We did the related investigation for your case, we improve our services consistently. Hope you will give us the chance to restore the Oakwood brand image for you.

Thank you!

Have a nice weekend!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
#28 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#5 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
Renaissance Chengdu Hotel
#13 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hi-Tech Plaza Chengdu
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu

Property: Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu
Address: No. 7 Xin Xiwang Road, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu is located in an exclusive area in Wuhou district on Tongzilin Road. Close to the Metro station, shopping malls and entertainment facilities, the 237 stylish and contemporary serviced apartments are developed with an elite range of amenities and facilities to ensure each resident’s stay is as comfortable as homeThe spacious and well appointed studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are ideal for both short and long term stays. A fitness center, children’s play area, residents’ lounge, business center, meeting rooms, indoor swimming pool, and basement parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Oakwood Residence Funder Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing