We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu
Ranked #54 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel and I was impressed. Room, bed and bathroom were excellent. Breakfast was impressive. Internet is included. I stayed over three days. Tried to have an evening meeting in an area adjacent to the lobby and lighting was a problem. Otherwise, service was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

After I made some anoying experience with other Holiday Inn Express I was quite reluctant to stay at HIE Wuhou Chengdu. After reading some better Reviews I finally decided to give it a try.
Located central and in reasonable distance to Chengdu Airport but I have to admit Close to road and the new elevated road. I didn't had a room to this side, so I can not judge about the noise since my room was OK.
The room size is OK, with an additional small meeting/gambling room.
The furniture looks outdated and was not always clean.
From my other stays at HIE my my moyor concern was the bathroom, which doesn't look nice but clean. Some makeover is advisable.
The western breakfast is simple, cornflakes, toast, marmelade, boiled egg, front side cooking.
Chinese guest might find the buffet quite OK.....
Finally, the stay was still OK but my concern about Holiday Inn Express will remain.
Mostly this was my last time!
WiFi was included free of Charge at a reasonable speed.

Room Tip: Try to get on the opposite of the elevated road. But you have to close the curtain due to the proxim...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xpl0r3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Front desk staff helpful and polite, reasonable English. Domestic team on hand to sort out any issues - we needed another bed in the room, and they were already putting in place as we arrived at the room. Walk-in showers and basic supplies in bathroom, soft towels (not always expected in lower end of hotel sector). Beds were very comfy and selection of soft / hard pillows to suit your needs.
Breakfast buffet was great, but you needed to ask for the drinking yoghurt and if you got there early, for other things - like the fried eggs.
Great central location, easy to walk or get the local buses to see the sites or connections to Airports. No need to use taxis. Local shops / supermarket to get basics or grab snack / cakes.
Reception not able to give a map and no basic location / tourist guides in rooms. Travel office on ground floor operated by agent - charge for maps and arranges tours.

Room Tip: If you want to see the nightime lighting show as each building seems to outdo one another in their l...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMW050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over 5 seperate days in a 10 day period. An excellent hotel for chengdu. Locatoion wise, Its arounbd 20-25 minutes away from the international airport and a 60-70 RNB taxi charge. Its also a 15 walk from the famous Jinli streetand wuhou temple of chengdu or a 10 rnb taxi fare.
Service is top notch. Personelle behind the reception have a very good command over english and serve always with a smile. No reuest is ever too much for them.
Used their baggage store facilities on 4 occasions for a day each and never had any issues. Complemetary bottles of water served. Rooms wise, as always,was of very high quality. Great beds and clean linen - perfect for a good nights rest.
Only negative feedback, or more so, a coment would be that the hotel is near the very busy 2nd ring road, which means that it is not particularly quiet. That being said, the sound proofing does seem to keep out most of the cacophony outside although not 100%.
On the whole would gladly stay here when at chengdu and glad to recommend it.good job by the tam at holiday inn express wuhou. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offered a wonderful stay. Front desk staff spoke excellent English, and were incredible helpful. While a Holiday Inn may be considered a low end hotel in the US, do not under estimate the value and comfort. Great value and I was more than pleased with my room. I was even able to guide the cook to scramble some eggs with spinach and tomato at breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WickedIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am very impressed with the Holiday Inn Express. They are well suited for the business traveler as well as the leisure traveler. The rates are quite reasonable and can sleep up to four (4) persons. The buffet breakfast is excellent. The appointments in the room is very nice.
Free wifi in each room.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade upon check in. They will try to do so if you are a Priority Club - IHG Member.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel and we really enjoyed it. You feel right away that the room is ok, it is very spacious and offers all the things you need and more: a choice of pillows, slippers, free wifi, and a catching, modern design. Breakfast offers a wide range of choice. The bed is comfortable, and we did not hear sounds from our neigbours (and the hotel was completely booked). Our room was on the streetside (6th floor) but we closed the outside windows and did not hear a sound. Airco works smoothly. So we slept very good.
Leave the hotel and after 8 minutes walk to your right you will find a very good Pizzahut. Leave the hotel to your left and after 3 minutes you find a supermarket with cheap rices and a friendly saleslady.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express CHENGDU WEST GATE
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu City Center
3.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,714 in Chengdu
346 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu

Address: No.5 West Section 1 Erhuan Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $53 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing