We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu
Ranked #43 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

In a city where foreigners aren't always loved - half the cabs we tried to catch refused to stop for us - this hotel was an oasis. The front desk staff spoke excellent English, and went above and beyond to be helpful. We travelled China for 1 month, and the staff here were the very best we had. Offered to arrange cabs for us when other hotels told us they could not control the taxis. Breakfast was very decent, some western offerings included with the usual Chinese stuff. Room very clean, with the exception of the grout in the shower, which was still acceptable for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    65
    31
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
17
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions, my recent satay was in early April '13. The heavy highway construction work in front of the hotel is more of less complete now, I did not experience any construction noise in the night except for vehicles speeding past. Overall, i would rate this hotel as an average hotel with basic amenities (that's why it is a HI Express hotel after all!). Some of the rooms are showing their age e.g carpeting with an unpleasant smell, bath area have mold stains, etc, perhaps the management can pay more attention into raising the overall hygiene of the rooms. Breakfast is average fair, with a good selection of local dishes and some continental breakfast thrown in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenlow118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's pretty much a standard Holiday Inn Express Hotel.
Design is western style, amenities are comfortable, shower is comfortable, in short - a good place to stay.
All this, with two exceptions.
First, The Chinese Government is building right now the elevated ring roads, so there's a lot of noise. I don't know if there are rooms to the back, but if there are, choose them.
Second, it make the traffic very heavy, so when you calculate your checkout time for reaching the Airport or any other time precision dependent destination, take a 30 minutes fore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eryador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently stayed at this property for 2 nights (early Sept 2012). Rooms were clean and well apportioned. There is no fitness facility! The breakfast buffet is basic with mediocre coffee. The hotel sits on a main street where there is a lot of construction to expand the roadway in front. Construction continues until midnight, so if your room faces the roadway (and mine did), earplugs are a must. The bathroom is clean with a good shower. Overall, until the construction is completed, find a quieter place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms at this property for one night after traveling to Juzhaigou, Huanglong Scenic Area and Mt. Emei. After staying at a series of very poor to mediocre hotels (state run, I believe) this was a comparative paradise and at a very competitive price. The staff was helpful and attentive and spoke great English. There was reliable free wifi throughout the hotel. The rooms were modern and clean. The breakfast had an expansive selection of wester items which was thrilling especially to our kids (we adults especially loved the cappucino machine). The hotel was a short cab ride to the lovely Wuzhou temple area and covenient to the airport as well. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer -- love this property!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had reserved a non-smoking room for two nights but when we got to our non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor, it reeked of cigarette smoke! Fortunately, the helpful front desk staff was able to get us another room that was indeed non-smoking. This is a major problem in China where smokers ignore non-smoking signs in restaurants, hotel lobbies, and non-smoking hotel rooms. Our room was quite spacious, with a well-designed and perfectly functioning bathroom, something that you cannot take for granted in China. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was adequate for light breakfasters, although some may like more variety and quality. All in all, this is a very comfortable hotel in Chengdu.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had a good stay. Clean and quiet. The breakfast was alright. Some items could improve. The room size was average and the lobby was clean.
Thumbs up! I recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express CHENGDU WEST GATE
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#36 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minya Hotel Chengdu
Minya Hotel Chengdu
#74 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.2 mi away
Somerset Riverview Chengdu
Somerset Riverview Chengdu
#20 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu
Address: No.5 West Section 1 Erhuan Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing