We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Ranked #10 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was on a business trip and stayed here for 2 weeks with my family in their 1 bed room apartment. Everything is spot clean, great service and kind staff...

The hotel is near subway station in the center of the city, few mins taxi ride to tourist and shopping areas.

The rooms are spacious and every little details is taken care off, whatever you wish for is made available. . Bed is excellent, bathroom is brilliant. Bedroom curtains can be controlled via remote control.

Special mention about the kitchen which is modern and spacious.The only thing i didn't like is about the dining table which is attached to the kitchen table, they should have rather provided a separate dining table. No matter whichever rice cooker / oven settings we used, the food was getting cooked very slowly. May be there was problems with those machines.

They provided me baby cot and water dispenser on request.

Swimming pool, gym, massage room, sauna and stream room, children play area, dining area are all excellent and modern.

I had breakfast on some occasion but there isn't much selection for vegetarians. Though i loved the coffee from their machine...

All this comes at a high price and naturally it is only for people who could afford it.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are best i think
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dashing_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear dashing_traveller,

Thank you very much for your review of Fraser Suites Chengdu. We are happy to have given you and your family a great stay experience. We thank you for your comments on our in-room dining layout and equipment. Our one-bed room has an attached kitchen table like you mentioned and is usually for 2 persons. However, our two and three bedrooms have a separate dining table for larger families. We have checked the rice cooker and oven and they were working fine. However, we will continue to see if there are other comments on these equipment. Your comment on vegetarian food is great and we will try to offer better vegetarian selection soon.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments as these have helped us improve offerings and you and other guests in the future.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Fraser Suites Chengdu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 492 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

One of THE best spots to stay in Chengdu. Warm welcome on arrival & quickly up to the room. All rooms are very well appointed & are fully fitted (full kitchen, washer dryer) with everything for a weekend or long term stay. Living area & bedrooms large - lots of space to relax. All staff had a good command of English - no 'lost in translation' moments.
7-11 next door as is an ATM and some upscale shops. Starbucks across the road. 1 block walk to a fantastic market - mainly selling clothes, bags etc.
Panda Centre is approx 30-40 mins drive away on the south side of town - a MUST do in Chengdu - we used Haba Yefei as our guide & he was superb.
Hotel Food for breakfast and dinner (we ate there twice) was medicore - Asian dishes by far a better standard / choice. Eat local - we did this for lunch & had a superb meal.........even when it was spicy.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiNZExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear KiwilExplorer,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay with us at Fraser Suites Chengdu. We are happy to have given you a positive stay experience. We will continue to improve on our breakfast offerings and hope to meet the expectations of our guests.

It's great that you are able to take spicy food as this opens up a whole variety of food offerings in the city. You are right to say "eat local" as this is the best way to experience Chengdu.

Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Check-in was efficient but nothing to shout about. The porter, Edison, was a pleasant surprise for us. We asked him for recommendations for dumplings within the vicinity and got a couple of verbal recommendations. Went out, ran some errands, and came back to an additional print-out list of dumpling eateries with a hand written note from Edison. Simple and thoughtful hospitality as such really matter.

The suite we stayed in for 2 nights was superb. Spacious and well-appointed. We liked that they were generous with bathroom amenities. TV remote controls came in dual languages, English and Chinese, so did the TV channel guide, appliances user manuals, etc. This we found useful for both Chinese and international travelers. The kitchenette was well equipped with the usual washer cum dryer, cooker, refrigerator, oven, etc. Location is perfect, in the city centre and surrounded by a good selection of amenities, such as Carrefour, Gome, Watsons and shopping malls. One tiny issue we had was with the stained towel we got, which was very quickly attended to by the Housekeeping team. Efficient and responsive.

Breakfast was not up to expectations; bacon and hash brown were too dry, selection was limited and most items were too salty. Takeaway coffee cups were a nice touch and especially useful for business travelers.

We will definitely consider staying at the Fraser Suites again during our next trip to Chengdu!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jongjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear jongjong,

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us at Fraser Suites Chengdu. I apologize for the issue regarding the towels and for breakfast not meeting your expectations. I truly appreciate your comments as it will enable us improve ourselves and provide you with the services you have come to expect.

Thank you so much for appreciating Edison. I have complimented him on his thoughtful service and he was pleasantly surprised.

Jongjong, once again, thank you so much for highlighting areas we can improve on and we look forward to your return visit soon and hope to give you a memorable stay experience.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

There are very few hotels in Chengdu that will be comfortable to the traveler desiring Western amenities, such as spoken English, Western food, service-minded staff, clean swimming pool, clean children's play room, and enforcement of the no-smoking policy. Fraser is one of these few hotels. It is truly 5-star, to boot.

It is superior to the other 5-star hotels in Chengdu with regard to value. The room rate is similar to the other 5-stars, but it offers a free breakfast that is extensive, and apartments that have kitchens and are more spacious.

The service is superior to Shangri La, another Chengdu 5-star which I have stayed extensively. The Guest Relations Officers are especially service-minded. One of them provided two maps in as many days, each populated with stickers she applied, showing locations of schools and play gyms for my daughter. She also provided accompanying papers that she processed, describing the schools. I did not explicitly request such. She did this on her own, prompted only by my queries. That's superior service that you will not find at Shangri La, or any other hotel in Chengdu.

The hotel is adjacent to perhaps the most upscale retail mall in Chengdu, the Yanlord. It is walking distance from two Starbucks.

I recommend Fraser Suites as a 5-star hotel that will not disappoint the Western traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Joe V,

We cannot thank you enough for such a wonderful review on your recent stay at Fraser Suites Chengdu. My people and I are just so thrilled to have given you a positive stay experience.

I am so very proud of my Guest Relations Officers. They are totally motivated and take initiatives beyond what is expected and moreover, they will go out of their way to ensure your stay in nothing but fabulous. Thank you for appreciating them and I know they are just so happy that you had a wonderful experience here.

Joe V, thanks again for this great review and we hope to see you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Lovely big rooms (I got an upgrade to a premier suite) with all mod cons. Great gym with plenty of equipment and a quiet room next door to stretch. Great breakfast on the 7th floor. If you are going to Chengdu look no further.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Sagsma,

We are thrilled to have given you a great experience here at Fraser Suites Chengdu. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return visit soon.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stay exclusively at Hilton properties and am currently writing from a suite in the Beijing Conrad. My wife was really set on visiting the Panda Base in Chengdu, so we flew into CTU from LAX arriving at the Fraser Suites around midnight in preparing for our driver to pick us up at 0730. Point being, we needed a solid night of sleep in the worst way. I was completely satisfied by the accommodations, friendly staff and overall experience. The room was quiet, had light meal preparation facilities/utensils and was clearly prepared/stocked by a staff that thought everything through.

Because we were in Chengdu for barely 12 hours, I can't comment on most of the facilities, but did get up early enough for a stop by the seventh floor for breakfast which was perfect. There was a bounty of selections: meats, cheeses, local favorites, egg/omelet bar and fruit to hit the high notes.

The bottom line is based on my short stay, I would look no further if I am back in Chengdu...huge no brainer that I will 100% stay at this property.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to book a one bedroom suite...well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalSchmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear SoCalSchmedley,

Thanks for your vote of confidence and your kind review regarding Fraser Suites Chengdu. It's such a pity your trip was so short. We sincerely hope your next visit will be longer and that way you can experience our Retreat room equipped with full body massage chairs, various menu options of Singaporean, Indian, Vietnamese, Indonesian and Western fair. Moreover, we have an excellent outdoor Terrace Bar and a well equipped gym and a wonderful indoor heated swimming pool.

SocalSchmedley, we look forward to your return visit soon with much anticipation, so you many also experience our wonderful, warm and caring people, who will surely give you a great stay experience. One that you will never forget.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
Generel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If your looking for a great hotel, central location, and professional staff I guess this hotel is pretty much what your looking for. My experience is based on a stay of 6 months at the Fraser Chengdu and I am from the Netherlands.

The facilities and rooms are already mentioned in other reviews, and I cannot agree more that they are of excellent standard. Another thing I enjoyed was the sport facilities, good yoga room, fitness facilities and clean swimming pool. Nothing to complain, and I am a picky person. Also there is a shopping centre across the street. And a western import supermarket, just 2 stops with the subway at raffles city (~10 minutes). The room service food is good but the menu could use some more frequent updating in offering, but not a serious deal breaker. If you there for a short term stay its no problem, for long term stay it is actually not a problem either, as there are good restaurants nearby.

Another thing I enjoyed was that on the 6th floor there is a nice bar, where frequent activities are organized by Fraser. That helped me to quickly meet the other residents.

Key differentiator for me was the friendly and professional staff. Whenever you need help from packing a bike for shipment, a doctor, finding good restaurants or tips where to buy the best rice wine, just ask for Mia, Shawn or Erik. They helped me to get quickly up to speed with finding my way and feeling home in Chengdu.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a good view over Chengdu City The rooms and the gym have an ai...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeroen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Jeroen S,

Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us. We are so happy to have given you a positive stay experience. I couldn't agree with you more with regards to our people. They are professional and highly motived and know Chengdu well and nothing is too much or too difficult for them. Thank you for acknowledging their services and I am sure they will be thrilled to receive your complimemnts.

We will be introducing a weekly promotion menu in our Dining Room which will feature a different set of menu from the main menu. This way, guests such as yourself can experience a variety of choices during a long period of stay. Moreover, as you have rightly pointed out, there are many good restaurants nearby as well.

Jeroen S, once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to your return visit should your travels take you to this part of the world again.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,714 in Chengdu
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,714 in Chengdu
564 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,714 in Chengdu
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,714 in Chengdu
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,714 in Chengdu
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,714 in Chengdu
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Chengdu

Address: No.111 Zhihui Street, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 2,714 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $89 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Suites Chengdu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located between the Central Business District and Tian Fu Square, Fraser Suites Chengdu couldn’t be better placed for executives and family members. This mixed office, retail and serviced residence development includes a high-end shopping mall and offices too – everything a business or leisure traveler could need, right on their doorstep.Hospitality and guest services at Frasers Suites Chengdu are second to none, with a 24-hour concierge and personalized daily housekeeping. Step outside this striking property, created by award-winning international architects, and you are only moments from world-class department stores and key commercial buildings. From the transport hub located close to Fraser Suites Chengdu, it’s easy to explore Sichuan Province and surrounding regions.An iconic landmark building with two floors dedicated to health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu features 360 Gold-Standard residences that combine comfort, style and technology with full facilities in a standout location.With a range of room sizes and configurations, each exquisitely appointed apartment offers panoramic views, an ergonomic workspace, and sophisticated, yet understated interiors by acclaimed Hong Kong designer Steven Leung.Key business and shopping destinations are only moments from the property. And as ever, the Fraser Difference: renowned personalized service and facilities to complement your every lifestyle need, will further enhance your stay.With great emphasis on health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu provides a comprehensive range of facilities within the property. Complementing the indoor pool, fully equipped gym, hot and cold tubs, as well as steam and sauna rooms, there’s a dining café, billiard room, children’s playroom, The Retreat, and a Business Centre with function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing