We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience + staff + facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Ranked #10 of 2,790 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Despite being in the middle of a bustling commercial area, Fraser Suites is a beautiful, calm oasis. It is a service apartment with the amenities of a 5+ star hotel. The rooms all have modern designed kitchens (with in-room laundry facilities), modern living and dining rooms - beautiful appointed with Peter Thomas Roth bath supplies in the bathroom.

Once you step in, you'll experience a calm serenity - there are not a lot of people in the lobby, there are hotel staff that will quickly check you in, and there is a lovely smell (a floral).

The hotel has amazing facilities including a beautiful indoor pool (photos don't do it justice), an amazing terrace with 180 degrees of the skyline, a lovely outdoor bar/sitting area, a nicely maintained/top-of-the-line gym, a relaxation room with 8 or so massage chairs, and a lovely breakfast buffet/Western restaurant.

The staff is efficient and super friendly/helpful. We wanted to go out at midnight to eat and the concierge could not be more helpful and awesome with his recommendation - we were sent to a truly raucous, local spicy street-style restaurant Lao Ma Hua Ti.

There is a Carrefour right across the street as well as a Starbucks to get an overpriced caffeine fix.

I've stayed at the ShangriLa (three years ago) - which is a nice full-service hotel (room service and the like). But I prefer the Fraser now - it's nicer (newer - Fraser opened in 2012) and frankly, in a better more walkable/central location. Would much rather stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ophiesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear ophiesay,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that we have managed to give you a great experience here at Fraser Suites Chengdu. Your comments and appreciation is valuable to us and motivates us further as we continue to strive towards providing excellent service and a great stay experience for all our guests.

We look forward to your next visit with us should your travels bring you to this part of the world.

Ophiesay, once again, a big THANK YOU.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 523 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were planning a trip to Chengdu to visit my son and originally planned to stay at the Shangri-la, but after reading the reviews on Trip Adviser and seeing how much more it would cost for Shangri-la we decided to go with Fraser Suites. Fraser Suites has raised the bar on hotels for me. This was the best hotel experience we have ever had anywhere. I wish this hotel could be in every city I ever visit.

First of all the apartment made everything more comfortable since we would be staying 10 nights. Usually after 3 nights in a hotel I'm ready to leave, but this felt so comfortable I never wanted the trip to end. The layout with the 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, washer/dryer was perfect. We were on the 32nd floor so well above the city traffic. I really appreciated the separate thermostats in each room. The large windows made the place bright and cheery during the day and gave us an awesome view of the city lights at night. The essentials for me in a hotel are clean, warm and quiet. I don't think we ever heard a sound from another apt. for the whole 10 days- and I hear everything in hotels. We did hear the traffic below but we were up so high it was pretty dulled so of no consequence. I rarely if ever sleep well in hotels because of noise and poorly working HVAC, but Fraser Suites had none of those issues and I slept well every night of our trip.

Breakfast had a fairly good selection. Although we had the kitchen in the apt. it was easier to eat at the morning buffet since it is included with the room. If you can't speak Mandarin you can tell the omelet chef "over easy" and he'll understand or start asking for something in English and they will go get Alex who speaks English quite well.

The real treat with this property is the concierge and front desk staff. They will go to any lengths to be of service. They even offered for one of the staff to go to her home in Dujiangyan to pick up a craft item I had regretted not buying there. Sean is from the states and served as a great translator and guide. Ivy is teaching herself English and became a fast friend. Julie and Heady were always ready to do anything for us whatever it took. They don't know the meaning of impossible when it comes to guest service. If Sean wasn't available and we needed to talk to him they would call him at home and hand us their cell phone. The same went for trying to talk to Julie when she was off work. And if you need to go anywhere they will write the name in Chinese on a card with Fraser Suites address printed on it. All you had to do was show it to the taxi driver and the card would get you to your destination and back.

So the only problem now is I will never be able to stay at any other property without wistfully comparing it to Fraser Suites Chengdu- and I know no place will ever meet those expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Holly R,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to have given you a memorable experience here at Fraser Suites Chengdu. I am so very proud of all my staff and they never cease to amaze even me. I am so happy you had the opportunity to experience their dedication and commitment in providing more than great service.

Holly R, thank you once again for your compliments and we eagerly look forward to your return visit soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had booked a two room apartment and arrived late in the night to find that only room service was available! But no issue! The friendly staff helped us with a "Tuna Sandwich with no Tuna" to allow for a vegetarian meal!

Next day we had an early start to visit the Leshan Giant Buddha and Sean Wilde (of the Guests Relations Team) promptly arranged for a reliable / cost-effective day-cab and, like a magician, pulled out two sheets with city-tour options for the next day.

His enthusiastic guidance allowed us to visit all the wonderful places (apart from the Giant Pandas) for a truly delightful stay at Chengdu!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKNoida57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear SKNoida57,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us at Fraser Suites Chengdu. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and will pass on your compliments to Sean as well. Our guest relations team is dedicated to assist all our guests with any requests and travel assistance. We are happy that Sean has made your trip in Chengdu a memorable one.

Thanks again for your wonderful comments.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked here because of the reviews, and yes it is excellent, especially for families. Great value for money for a huge apartment with 2 bedrooms, living room, small kitchen area and 2 bathrooms. Great service (except check out which was a bit manic!) and very friendly staff. Breakfast is reasonable with a good choice and omelette station. We booked the hotel car for airport pick up and drop off and for the day we went to the panda base. Very efficient. Were there waiting for us. Safe drivers, comfortable ride in Buick Business with plenty of space for 4 plus luggage. Swimming pool area is very nice and clean. Good indoor play area for kids. Really impressed that we were offered late check out at 5pm at no extra charge as our flight was later in the day. Good location, with plenty of shops and restaurants close by. Would definitely stay here again if in Chengdu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Han-Fam2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Han-Fam2012,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay experience with us. Sometimes traveling with families can be very hectic. Our Fraser properties around that world are designed to take the stress out of family travels ensuring a fun, comfortable and enjoyable experience. We do apologize for the "manic" checkout and will continue to improve upon this.

Once again, a big thank you dear Han-fam2012.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After winding down from a 10-day trip to China spanning (4) areas, we were glad to come to Fraser Suites to stay for two nights before we flew back to the US. The building was easy to find (although the taxi driver acted like it was four blocks south... but we didn't feel like arguing).

Check in was a delight. The people seemed to readily speak english as there are a lot of western travelers from what we saw, but they also spoke Mandarin with us. We were upgraded to a high floor after some chatter with the desk people while we were waiting for everything, and we were ever grateful after a subpar stay at the Intercontinental in Jiuzhaigou (you can read my review on that later...). Even though we booked on hotels.com, we had no issues as with other hotels "missing" the reservation. Everything was perfect and in-order as would be expected from a property such as this.

The room was extremely modern (TV, blu ray player, about 5 or 6 english channels, wired and wireless internet, washer/dryer, and even a TV in the bathroom to watch while we showered!). Air conditioning actually worked and there was hot water 24/7. We basically felt at home.

We ordered a pizza from Mike's pizza and, unlike most hotels, the staff escorted (everything is key card locked down) the delivery person right to our door! (major kudos for me not having to go get it myself!). After relaxing and eating we spoke with the desk staff and concierge about arrangements for panda visit in the morning and they were extremely helpful, giving us first hand information about how to succeed at seeing and holding a panda. Although the hotel car was already reserved, they were happy to let us know a cab would be ready at 650am the next morning.

This is one of the best properties I have ever stayed in around the world and would immediately return here without even looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spitcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear spitcool,

Wow, 10 days and 4 areas. Must've been an adventure. Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are just so glad that we have given you a memorable stay on your last stop in your exploration of China. My team and I are honored to be accorded "one of the best properties you have ever stayed in around the world", This means a lot to us.

We do so look forward to your return visit soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We lived with Fraser in Seoul for an entire year, and were carefree and satisfied the whole time. So when we travelled to Chengdu to apply for new passports for our daughters, the choice was obvious, we did not even look at anyone else. The girls saw the play room and were (again) thrilled to be with Fraser's. The treatment of children is the same at any Fraser location - they are part of a real family. We did, of course, take in some of the sights of old Chengdu. The wife needed some time for sauna and there is also a very quiet massage chair room down the hall from the children's play room. A further bonus for us was this - when the passports were ready, it was Fraser who picked them up for us and couriered them to Yunnan where we are now staying. We just received them today (thanks Fraser!). The right word for zero stress or worry about the outcomes is ... "priceless"!

Room Tip: We had a corner apartment with plenty of space for two young daughters to run around. The suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Robert D,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy to have you and your wonderful family with us. We simply love children and that is what the Fraser Brand stands for as well. Great to know you got your passports back and all is well.

Thanks again Robert D for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We look forward to your next arrival with your family soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Lingham
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel just checked every box, and then went above and beyond with phenomenal service as well. This really set this hotel apart. It is tough to find sincerely friendly and helpful customer service in China, and they really nailed it. Several of the staff members we had chatted with throughout our stay felt like friends by the end, they were just that nice.

The location is awesome, right near Tianfu Square, the center of town. We walked to several of the historic shopping districts, People's Park, and the Wenhou Temple area. I liked the 6th floor terrace to hang out and enjoy views. The pool area was also nice, with a light-up star ceiling design. Coed hot tub in the main pool area would be a nice addition, though sadly that is rare in Asia.

The room was great. We only stayed three nights, but there are plenty of features like extra closets/bathroom cabinets, kitchen area, laundry facilities' etc. that would make a longer stay pleasant also. I loved the bathroom design so much I would like to copy it in my future home. It combined tons of storage and counter space with sleek modern design. The bed was really comfortable, and the floor to ceiling windows offered excellent views. Everything worked great, like wifi, in room safe, tv in main room and also bathroom, etc.

Breakfast buffet was solid, with many Western and Chinese options. Some of the hot food got cold, but in general we enjoyed our meals there and found the choices to be more than plentiful.

Staff were great at arranging cars, recommending food options and excursions, and just generally welcoming us. We loved this hotel and would highly recommend it for all those visiting Chengdu. It also felt like it should be way more expensive than the $137/night we paid online.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear katiekins570,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay at Fraser Suites Chengdu. We are thilled to have given you a great experience. Nearly every guest that stayed here have commented that when they arrived, they were strangers, but when they left, they felt like friends and family.

Our location is just so convenient and near many attractions. We are just so glad that you enjoyed the all our facilities as well as our suites. Our staff, well, what can I say...they are just amazing. I am so proud of them.

katiekins570, thanks again for this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely
Danny Lingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#14 of 2,790 in Chengdu
401 reviews
1 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#2 of 2,790 in Chengdu
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#22 of 2,790 in Chengdu
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#1 of 2,790 in Chengdu
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#7 of 2,790 in Chengdu
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#13 of 2,790 in Chengdu
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Chengdu

Address: No.111 Zhihui Street, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 2,790 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $91 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Suites Chengdu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located between the Central Business District and Tian Fu Square, Fraser Suites Chengdu couldn’t be better placed for executives and family members. This mixed office, retail and serviced residence development includes a high-end shopping mall and offices too – everything a business or leisure traveler could need, right on their doorstep.Hospitality and guest services at Frasers Suites Chengdu are second to none, with a 24-hour concierge and personalized daily housekeeping. Step outside this striking property, created by award-winning international architects, and you are only moments from world-class department stores and key commercial buildings. From the transport hub located close to Fraser Suites Chengdu, it’s easy to explore Sichuan Province and surrounding regions.An iconic landmark building with two floors dedicated to health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu features 360 Gold-Standard residences that combine comfort, style and technology with full facilities in a standout location.With a range of room sizes and configurations, each exquisitely appointed apartment offers panoramic views, an ergonomic workspace, and sophisticated, yet understated interiors by acclaimed Hong Kong designer Steven Leung.Key business and shopping destinations are only moments from the property. And as ever, the Fraser Difference: renowned personalized service and facilities to complement your every lifestyle need, will further enhance your stay.With great emphasis on health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu provides a comprehensive range of facilities within the property. Complementing the indoor pool, fully equipped gym, hot and cold tubs, as well as steam and sauna rooms, there’s a dining café, billiard room, children’s playroom, The Retreat, and a Business Centre with function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fraser Suites Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing