We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really deeply impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Ranked #5 of 2,686 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Really deeply impressed”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel just checked every box, and then went above and beyond with phenomenal service as well. This really set this hotel apart. It is tough to find sincerely friendly and helpful customer service in China, and they really nailed it. Several of the staff members we had chatted with throughout our stay felt like friends by the end, they were just that nice.

The location is awesome, right near Tianfu Square, the center of town. We walked to several of the historic shopping districts, People's Park, and the Wenhou Temple area. I liked the 6th floor terrace to hang out and enjoy views. The pool area was also nice, with a light-up star ceiling design. Coed hot tub in the main pool area would be a nice addition, though sadly that is rare in Asia.

The room was great. We only stayed three nights, but there are plenty of features like extra closets/bathroom cabinets, kitchen area, laundry facilities' etc. that would make a longer stay pleasant also. I loved the bathroom design so much I would like to copy it in my future home. It combined tons of storage and counter space with sleek modern design. The bed was really comfortable, and the floor to ceiling windows offered excellent views. Everything worked great, like wifi, in room safe, tv in main room and also bathroom, etc.

Breakfast buffet was solid, with many Western and Chinese options. Some of the hot food got cold, but in general we enjoyed our meals there and found the choices to be more than plentiful.

Staff were great at arranging cars, recommending food options and excursions, and just generally welcoming us. We loved this hotel and would highly recommend it for all those visiting Chengdu. It also felt like it should be way more expensive than the $137/night we paid online.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear katiekins570,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay at Fraser Suites Chengdu. We are thilled to have given you a great experience. Nearly every guest that stayed here have commented that when they arrived, they were strangers, but when they left, they felt like friends and family.

Our location is just so convenient and near many attractions. We are just so glad that you enjoyed the all our facilities as well as our suites. Our staff, well, what can I say...they are just amazing. I am so proud of them.

katiekins570, thanks again for this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely
Danny Lingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    75
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
159
104
24
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful apartment. Very comfortable, clean, spacious, modern, well designed and appointed including both washing machine and tumble dryer. Reception staff very helpful (but book local taxis and not their own cars as huge price difference). Breakfast plentiful, good variety of dishes and delicious. It was a special birthday while we were there and a surprise cake was provided. Good amenities – swimming pool and gym. Central city location near to high end shops and 40 minutes by local taxi to the Panda reservation ( waiting time there can be negotiated with driver). Would definitely recommend Fraser Suites as the place to stay.

Room Tip: as high as possible for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear packyderm,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Fraser Suites Chengdu. We are so happy that you had a great experience here. We wished you could have stayed longer too. Thanks for your recommendation packyderm. We look forward to your return visit soon.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Fraser Suites Chengdu for the better part of a week earlier this month. We had a two bedroom suite on the 25th floor looking out at the Suntop building with its amazing light show. The suite was superb - large rooms, nice furnishings, the works including the floor to ceiling windows and electric curtain openers. It was truly like having your own condo at a luxury address. The breakfast is extremely well done - lots of choices and then some, Western and Asian cuisine of good quality. But the real kicker is the staff. From the moment you walk in the staff are smiling, engaging, very proficient in spoken English and absolutely eager to please and able to please. They are so respectful they often stand up as you approach and will walk you to the elevator and press the button for you as you go in and out. There is nothing phony or forced about this what-can-we-do-for-you approach, it is rare and refreshing--even more natural and easy than we've experienced at the Ritz Carleton. Of course, this hotel is not for everyone's budget, but for those that can make it work its a big-time winner. Hats off to everyone on the Chengdu Fraser Suites team! Extra kudos to Lynette, Maggie, Julie and Sean.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites vary in size and floor plan despite the same price, so ask for a larger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear GaryAW,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your rececent stay with us. The Suntop building is just amazing with its led light show right accross the whole facade of the building.

Our staff are our pride and joy. They never cease to amaze even myself. Always going out of their way to deliver wonderful guests' experiences. I am so happy you had a chance to experience them as they are.. wonderful people. Will convey your message to Lynette, Maggie, Julie and Sean. Thanks once again GaryAW.

We do hope you have the pleasure of your company once again real soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Lingham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights but wishing for more!
Great service apartment with full 5 stars hotel service!
The staff (esp. Sean & Julie) are amazing and they go great length to make me feel at home and at ease.

Room is great too. TV inside a mirror is a nice touch except for the remote control that need a little tweaking to get the right angle for it to work.

Excellent place for long stay with family. For business traveller, it come with room service and proper dining room/lounge for lunch & dinner.

Nice pool, relaxation room n gym room - all 24hrs access for in house guests/residents.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Simon S,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to have made your stay a wonderful experience. Julie and Sean are just wonderful people as well as excellent staff.

We too wish you can stay longer but there is always another time and we look forward to having you with us once again. Thanks again Simon S.

Sincerely
Danny Lingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked Fraser Suites based on reviews on TripAdvisor and the need for a family room which is hard to find. We loved this hotel – clean lines, modern design, great service, unbelievably comfortable beds, wonderful swimming pool. Yes. It was truly great, and the nicest of our stays in China.
We particularly enjoyed going for a swim, then after strolling out to the roof top bar in our toweling robes for a drink. And it was happy hour, and the staff were really friendly and completely accommodating. So the drink turned into a couple…but a wonderful evening.
This was a first experience with Fraser Suites, and I will look for others on my travels. Great value for what you get, and the in room washing machine meant that we could travel light, and wash clothes as required.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. The views at night are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainLumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear CaptainLumpy,

Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay. We are so happy to have given you a wonderful experience here at Fraser Suites Chengdu. We just soft opened our open deck, The Terrace, on the 6th floor by the pool. We are glad you enjoyed a wonderful evening there. Our brand, Fraser, throughout the world offer similar high quality apartments and services and I am very sure you and your family will have a memorable experience in any one of them as well.

CaptainLumpy, thanks again for this wonderful review and we hope to have you back with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is really a top end hotel with excellent facilities but the customer facing services are quite bad.
We had a two bedroom suite with very luxurious facilities and furniture. It is brand new, I'm wondering how well it will be maintain in the future because the quality seems to be only a few inches deep.
The hotel location is great because you can walk to all the main downtown attractions, which by the way are really nice (Jinli street, Wenshu temple, People park, etc...).
The people serving the breakfast are clueless. The quality of the food is not what you will expect from a 5 star hotel. If you compare similar hotel in Asia and in the Middle East, this is not an acceptable quality of service. But if you come from Europe, it will be probably nice!
The airport pickup is extremely expensive, 400 Yuan, but on the other hand most if not all taxi drivers do not speak English.
Overall positive experience but be ready for watery coffee, bad tea and not so fresh pastries for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Gillou G,

We sincerely thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Your remarks on our breakfast and services of our restaurant staff was discussed in our operation meeting and steps have been taken to rectify the service aspects of our trainees. We are constantly being compared to hotels but in actually fact, we are a Serviced Apartment. Our rooms are larger and are equiped with facilities you will not find in any hotel room; such as a kitchnette complete with cutlery and crockery, washing/dryer machine, large refridgerators, rice cookers, blenders, coffee machine etc, . As such, our breakfast offerings are also catered to this fact as most of our residents are long stay tenants. However, we have been constantly listening to our short stay guests as well and have been flexible in trying to accomodate to their requirements within the constraints that we have. We sincerely appriciate your comments and will continue to strive to ensure we provide the services you have come to expect.

Thank you once again Gillou G, and we hope to have a second chance to make a first impression.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'd got quite a good deal for the family suite 2-bedroom from booking.com with quite reasonable price. The hotel is pretty new and clean. The best thing I love is the gym and swimming pool facilities are 24-hours accessible. That makes it so convenient for guests. Only down point is, the swimming pool was not heated (jacuzzi was) when I was there in March (chilling weather outside)
Besides, the hotel is located in a city district area where shopping is just another thing-to-do. Opposite the hotel is the theatre ( went there to watch the Sichuan Face changing show: not fantastic but end of the show will have a brief idea of sichuan chinese cultures).

Room Tip: Family with older adults can consider the 2-bedrooms suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EwanC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear EwanC30,

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay with us at Fraser Suites Chengdu. We are happy to have given you and your family a memorable stay with us. We were indeed surprised that you found the pool water cold. It is a heated pool. We immediately checked and verified that the pool water is maintained at 28-29 degrees C. We will continue to monitor the water temperature to ensure that all our guests have a great pool experience. Thank you for this feedback EwanC30.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to serve you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,686 in Chengdu
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,686 in Chengdu
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,686 in Chengdu
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,686 in Chengdu
1,867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#17 of 2,686 in Chengdu
910 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#8 of 2,686 in Chengdu
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Chengdu

Property: Fraser Suites Chengdu
Address: No.111 Zhihui Street, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 2,686 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Suites Chengdu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located between the Central Business District and Tian Fu Square, Fraser Suites Chengdu couldn’t be better placed for executives and family members. This mixed office, retail and serviced residence development includes a high-end shopping mall and offices too – everything a business or leisure traveler could need, right on their doorstep.Hospitality and guest services at Frasers Suites Chengdu are second to none, with a 24-hour concierge and personalized daily housekeeping. Step outside this striking property, created by award-winning international architects, and you are only moments from world-class department stores and key commercial buildings. From the transport hub located close to Fraser Suites Chengdu, it’s easy to explore Sichuan Province and surrounding regions.An iconic landmark building with two floors dedicated to health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu features 360 Gold-Standard residences that combine comfort, style and technology with full facilities in a standout location.With a range of room sizes and configurations, each exquisitely appointed apartment offers panoramic views, an ergonomic workspace, and sophisticated, yet understated interiors by acclaimed Hong Kong designer Steven Leung.Key business and shopping destinations are only moments from the property. And as ever, the Fraser Difference: renowned personalized service and facilities to complement your every lifestyle need, will further enhance your stay.With great emphasis on health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu provides a comprehensive range of facilities within the property. Complementing the indoor pool, fully equipped gym, hot and cold tubs, as well as steam and sauna rooms, there’s a dining café, billiard room, children’s playroom, The Retreat, and a Business Centre with function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fraser Suites Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing