We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Lied To Us About Facilities and Was Very Rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Ranked #7 of 2,754 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were staying at another 5 start property when we viewed Fraser Suites Chengdu. The sales manager told us the facilities like the gym, etc were available 24 hours a day. We were initially treated well; but we soon realized that the sales team and the front desk (operations) team are different; and experienced relatively poor front desk service. The key card holder, for example, says "24 hour gym access" as the sales manager also told us; but our key card does not open the gym after 10 PM or so. When I brought this to the attention of the front desk staff, she rudely said "24 hours access in only for long stay guests, you are short stay". Since we pay more per night than long stay guests, this was really shocking and rude; since we were told otherwise when looking at the room with the sales staff. In addition, the sauna was broken, the steam room did not work, and when we brought this to the attention of the staff, they seemed not to care at all. Frankly speaking, breakfast was cold, terrible with a very poor menu selection, at least based on other properties we stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firestardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear firestardude,

Thank you for your comments here on tripadvisor. We do appreciate your feedback as this will only enable us to do better. As we have calrifyed with you personally on your departure, we did inform you that the facilities were not available 24 hours a day. You have also acknowledge this upon your departure and said that it was a misunderstanding. However, we have taken your comments into consideration and are happy to inform you that the gym and pool are now available 24/7. We have also checked the steam and sauna and found both in good working condition. We have now placed instructions on how to operate these facilities to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy them. As for breakfast, we agree that we cannot compare with hotels on the spread and variety, being a long term residence, but many of our guests are happy wiht the offerings we have. However, we are continuing to add variety and quality through constant feedback for our guests. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope that we could be given a second chance to make a first impression.

Warmest regards,

Danny Lingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 510 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

We are a family of 4, 2 kiddos under 3, staying here for 7 weeks while on business. the hotel manager Eric and his staff are going out of their way to make us feel "at home", welcome, and comfortable. THe team is incredibly well trained in service level and friendliness. we have the doorman greeting us, and helping us carry goods up the the apartment without even asking. The restaurant service, Monica and Nicole, are very responsive and attentive. The rooms are brand new, great condition. Only weak link is the internet access is a bit fritzy. wonderful pool for adults (laps) and kids pool is separate. indoor and outdoor playground with excelletn security access. Overall, we could not have picked a better place to feel at home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evilexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear evilexis,

My team and I are delighted to read your comments and are happy that we have given you a positive experience here at Fraser Suites, Chengdu. We would like to inform you that we have improved the internet access now. Wireless interface is available throughout the property. Once again, thank your for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you "home" soon.

Sincerely,
Danny Lingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Travelled in a party of three adults and two children under three and booked interconnecting one bedroom apartment and a studio. Both rooms were very large with every convenience included and as the hotel only opened four months ago, almost everything was spotless. Sadly the windows were filthy and when I say filthy I mean never been cleaned, so the view could not be enjoyed at all. Elsewhere in the hotel public areas were constantly being cleaned, which is nice in China where things can get dirty pretty quick.
The swimming pool, indoor and outdoor kids play areas were all well fitted out and spotlessly clean. Management, if you read this - put a BBQ in the outdoor area.
The buffet breakfast was pretty good, the omelette man certainly knew what he was doing. Otherwise nothing stood out as being any better than your standard 4 star asian hotel. One point, our friend's 2 year old accidentally dropped a plate and the hotel management charged them 30RMB... which is just ridiculous.
Finally, the staff seemed very keen to help and well-trained in the manual tasks of their jobs, but didn't have the ability to offer suggestions of what to do in Chengdu or organise tours etc.
Overall this hotel was very good but there were just one or two things that need to be ironed out to make will make it great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicknCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear NicknCaro,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy to have given you a memorable experinece here in Fraser Suites, Chengdu. We appreciate your feedback on our shortcomings as this will only enable us to better ourselves and to give you the level of service and comfort that you have come to expect. We are happy to inform you that we do have a BBQ grill now and use it ocassionally for our Residence Parties in the outdoor area. We have also trained our staff on the offerings around Chengdu and are able to make suggestions and arrangements for our guests to visit surrounding attractions in Chengdu. We apologise about the charge for the broken plate and have ensured that our staff are now trained to understand that accidents do happen, especially with children and that such incidences should not be charged. Once again, we are glad that you have given us valuable feedback to improve our product and services. My team and I look forward to your next visit soon.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This is a great option for families travelling with kids. We booked a 2 bedroom suite which had a nice living room, a kitchen area with all amenities including laundry and drying machines. The swimming pool is great as well as the sauna and steaming room. Each time we went, we had the facilities all by ourselves ! Location is great too, with a very modern luxury shopping mall nearby. We liked the japanese restaurant on the 3rd floor as well as the gelato and chocolate bar on 2nd floor. The Cint Spa on 1st floor was also an excellent find. The hotel opened recently so everything is brand new. Only small issue was the elevator which did not seem to function well. Breakfast included in price is Ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchconnection88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear frenchcon,

My staff and I are happy to read your comments and we are glad we have given you a great experience here at Fraser Suites, Chengdu. You certainly have tried some of the popular outlets by the mall, like the Japanese restaurant and gelato, chocolate bar and the Cint Spa. These are also very popular with most of our guests. Thank you for your comments on the elevator. We have since rectified the issue. Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we do look forward to your next visit soon, should your travels bring you to this part of the world.

Sincerely,

Danny Lingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Icyna, General Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Encarni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icyna, Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Hastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icyna, Manager at Fraser Suites Chengdu, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,754 in Chengdu
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,754 in Chengdu
945 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,754 in Chengdu
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
JW Marriott Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,754 in Chengdu
243 reviews
1 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,754 in Chengdu
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#9 of 2,754 in Chengdu
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Chengdu

Address: No.111 Zhihui Street, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 2,754 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $90 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Suites Chengdu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located between the Central Business District and Tian Fu Square, Fraser Suites Chengdu couldn’t be better placed for executives and family members. This mixed office, retail and serviced residence development includes a high-end shopping mall and offices too – everything a business or leisure traveler could need, right on their doorstep.Hospitality and guest services at Frasers Suites Chengdu are second to none, with a 24-hour concierge and personalized daily housekeeping. Step outside this striking property, created by award-winning international architects, and you are only moments from world-class department stores and key commercial buildings. From the transport hub located close to Fraser Suites Chengdu, it’s easy to explore Sichuan Province and surrounding regions.An iconic landmark building with two floors dedicated to health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu features 360 Gold-Standard residences that combine comfort, style and technology with full facilities in a standout location.With a range of room sizes and configurations, each exquisitely appointed apartment offers panoramic views, an ergonomic workspace, and sophisticated, yet understated interiors by acclaimed Hong Kong designer Steven Leung.Key business and shopping destinations are only moments from the property. And as ever, the Fraser Difference: renowned personalized service and facilities to complement your every lifestyle need, will further enhance your stay.With great emphasis on health and wellness, Fraser Suites Chengdu provides a comprehensive range of facilities within the property. Complementing the indoor pool, fully equipped gym, hot and cold tubs, as well as steam and sauna rooms, there’s a dining café, billiard room, children’s playroom, The Retreat, and a Business Centre with function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing