We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu
Ranked #25 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“5 Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Closest thing you will find to a 5 Star property in the Chengdu area. This hotel is located some 40 minuets to the NW of the city center, in a area that is very new.

The staff is excellent and all of them I encountered, with the exception of a lobby bartender, spoke decent English.

The rooms are posh and comfortable. The bed is on par with The Westin's Heavenly Bed. You can control all of the rooms lighting controls from the bed, everything is well labeled in English and Mandarin. The drapery works perfectly as a black out drape, great for jetlag. Bathroom is well appointed with high quality towels and robes. In room safe. Free WIFI worked great. At least 12 English TV channels on cable TV. The Air Conditioning works excellent, a plus for the hot China summers.

Because you are quite far away from food and shopping it's a plus that the restaurants on site are excellent. Beautiful Zen Garden behind the hotel.

Highly recommended for those looking for luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalP0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu! We are looking forward to serve you once again.
In the Japanese restaurant you can enjoy the delicious food.we will also provide the excellent service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    42
    20
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
5
8
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

When our travel agent told us they changed our hotel to the Wyndham Grand Plaza, my first reaction was 'Why on earth would they put us out in the middle of nowhere?!'.

However, there are some advantages to being in the middle of nowhere - it's peaceful, it's clean, it's less polluted, hard to find in many of China's cities.

The Wyndham Grand Plaza is luxurious, I can't find any fault with their rooms, it was beyond what I expected. The furnishings were plush and cosy and all amenities were provided. The views weren't the best but if you're in the middle of nowhere, you shouldn't expect much. The lobby is very pretty, we really liked the 'bird-cage' style lounge areas.

There is a small town about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Within that town, there is a street lined with restaurants, mostly serving hotpot. At the end of the street is a market which sells fresh produce, e.g. meat, veggies and fruits. As the town is relatively new, there are still many developments in progress. I guess, once all of it is completed, the place would be a lot more lively.

One night we ate at the LV Cafe (all day dining restaurant). They had a special buffet menu which included crabs. It was good value for money if you are coming from a Western country but probably pricey for internal (China) standards.

They change limited currencies, e.g. USD, Japanese Yen but not the Aussie dollar.

A taxi from the hotel to the airport is approximately RMB150. To the city it is approx RMB130.

If I ever returned to Chengdu, I would still chose location over luxury so I would try another hotel in central Chengdu.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumquattraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennyjin, Manager at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu as your prefered choice and your kind feedback. I hope you have a good time in this beautiful Pixian town and you must had tried all goodies of Chengdu. I am sad to inform you that you have miss out our Matsuya Japanese restaurant as it is voted the best speciality restaurant in town. You must check it out during your next visit.
We are also reviewing our currency exchange but there is strict controlled over the number of countries of currencies avaliable here.
Last but not lest, thank you for staying you us and we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have stayed here many many times on business travel. The hotel has massive issues with check-in each time. I routinely get keys that dont work, and a staff that avoids answering questions: they need a lot of training to become satisfactory at custoemr service. The concierge is always a charm, and very helpful. the managers are also very good, but it is unfortunate to ahve to escalate so often on routine trips. recently, the food offerings had a make-over, which was welcome for a western palate. the pool recently opened; it is probably 25 meters: a rare find for a lap swimmer! the grounds are beautiful. the rooms well decorated. the only drawback is the dront desk staff and the lack of english or service capability.

Room Tip: i like the rooms ending in 06: the layout is nicer than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evilexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennyjin, Manager at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu as your prefer hotel and your kind feedback. Your likes for the 06 room type is exceptional unique because there is only 1 each floor and they are all designers selection.
We have reviewed our key card system and have rectified this issue. However, if you will to encounter this issues again, there is a phone on each floor, just pick it up and inform our "Count on me" associates and we will be there to assist you.
We have enhance on our guest service training and english training. We hope that during your next visit, our associate will be able to at lest understand your needs and assist you.
Last but not lest, we look forward to see you soon in Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here many times in 2010/2011. The facility is very nice and rooms great since this is a new hotel. But it is far from town - about an hour drive to the center of Chengdu. If you are not Chinese you may have trouble with the staff understanding your questions. They want to give good service but sometimes do not understand what you are requesting. Also, there is nothing around the hotel yet - there will be in time but not currently so you either stay/eat in the hotel or take a cab into town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowmanpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

I attended a conference at this hotel, pre opened. The staff did an amazing job and solved any experience problems with enthusiasm.
Hotel is 100% new so rooms are comfortable, decoration in perfect shape.
Some facilities (pool etc not yet ready)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry L, Manager at Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu as your prefered choice and your kind feedback. We are always dedicated to delivering extraordinary experience to all our honored guests and making this property the second home for you while you are far away from home either for business or for pleasure. It is such a great pleasure to share with all of you that all facilities are fully open now----our fantastic indoor swimming pool and fitness centre located at 1st floor, beautiful backyard, 3 well decorated restaurants, SPA, 17 spacious meeting rooms, Executive lounge, etc. A great public park, only 4 minutes walk in front of hotel, is also ready, so just enjoying little jogging or warm sunshine on that vast green land.
We are sincerely looking forward to seeing you soon in Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Agile Plaza Chengdu
19.5 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#4 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
14.6 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
Kempinski Hotel Chengdu
#28 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
14.9 mi away
No photo provided
15.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu

Property: Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu
Address: No.1088 Wangcong Middle Road, Hi-tech West Zone, Chengdu 611730, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Relaxed. Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu is a brand new 5 star hotel located in the west High Tech Development Zone of Chengdu. Neighbors to many well known companies like Motorola, Intel, Lenovo, Texas Instruments, Dell, GE and etc. Easy access to Chengdu International Airport and Down Town.Perfect choice and convenient for business and leisure. An ideal destination for Meetings, Conferences, Incentive events, Tours , Weddings or Simply Relaxation. The hotel has a perfect location in west Chengdu for all kind of meetings, events and gatherings with 14 function rooms and 2 multipurpose ballrooms. The grand ballroom can easily accommodate up to 900 persons for meeting. The Business Centre provides state-of-the-art equipment, including private workstations with Internet access for your complete privacy.Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace features 420 well designed deluxe guestrooms and suites. Executive Floors and a spacious Executive Lounge are dedicated to provide the most personalized service to all guests. The Spa, Fitness Center and Largest Indoor Swimming Pool offer a range of services and facilities for your leisure and pleasure.3 restaurants and 3 bars each with distinctive style, All Day Dining café which can provide 308 seats serves various authentic international cuisine; the Lobby Lounge, creates a perfect atmosphere for business and social gatherings; Katsuya Japanese Restaurant serves traditional Japanese cuisine, with an action Teppanyaki atmosphere in the main dining area complimented by a Saki and Sushi counter; the Tea Garden is a specially designed venue with 14 Mahjong rooms, serves an excellent selection of Chinese Tea and pastries. Last but not least, The Chinese Restaurant serving exquisite Sichuanese and Cantonese cuisine in 32 modern and stylish private dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Palace Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing