We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't waste your money. If you are one of those people who are love going to tourist traps then go....”

Shu Feng Ya Yun Sichuan Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.48*
and up
Sichuan Opera in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Daly City, California, United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Please don't waste your money. If you are one of those people who are love going to tourist traps then go....”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an absolute tourist trap. This is like Lao She Tea house in Beijing...this has absolutely no value at all.

A few okay shows for a mind boggling 300 rmb. With 300 Rmb you can have 2 good meals in Cheng Du.

My Wife and I went there because we are writing a book about our travels and wanted to see the quality of the performances and to see if we wanted to include it in our book...

So definite no.. This is the place where you pay a tour company to trick foreigners to spend their money and to keep these places alive.

There are definitely better places to go see this and for a much cheaper price. For example, while not good the Tea house across from panda house in Jin Li Street was much better than this and it cost 150 rmb for the both of us instead of 700 something.

Summary-

If you are looking for a tourist trap for tourists then this is the place to go.

If you like spending your money without thinking this is the place to go.

If you are too lazy to look for the really nook authentic shows this is the place to go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Alienandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    45
    12
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great night”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was a wonderful night of varied entertainment in a traditional Chinese theatre. Excellent old building and the entertainment gave me a real feel for the history of China.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rod Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
277 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Really nice performances”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice place to see the opera. The theater is though very touristic. It's also kind of expensive, prices start from 200 and more RMBs for the cheapest to 400 and something. The tea served during the show is not bad, the cheapest seats were ok to see the show and if you have the possibility to go there before the show starts, you can get to see the make up part of the actors and their getting ready routine. The show itself is made up of different short sketches of different genres to give the public an idea of what the opera is. The host cannot speak English, and her pronounciation is so bad that I could hardly understand what she was trying to say. Anyway, the performer were good and they did really well. No English subtitles available, so the laughing part was left to the Chinese that could understand. The well known part was the face changing with the trick of the fast changing masks, performed at the end of the show, but there were lots of really nice sketches. It was fun and I didn't got the time to be bored. I really liked it.
By the way, the staff there can speak English.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
378 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Creative, fun, so worth coming here! There are a few parts - acrobatics, hand shadowing, face mask changing, and especially the comedy show - that should not be missed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Magic!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a fascinating show, even though I couldn't understand a word! Before the show started you could watch the cast putting on their wonderful elaborate costumes, and have your photo taken with them. You take your seats and are provided with tea and some rice cake things, which were delicious.
The comedy sketch went on a bit long, but everything else was wonderful. There is lots of music, shadow puppets and magic. The face-changing was awesome. You think you have worked out how they are taking them off and then they put one back on!! Brilliant!
We booked our tickets in advance through our hotel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shu Feng Ya Yun Sichuan Opera also viewed

 

Been to Shu Feng Ya Yun Sichuan Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing