We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointed with the hotel”
Review of Chengdu Shuyuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chengdu Shuyuan
Ranked #871 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location in a kind of market location, everything else also easy to get to from here. The hotel looked fab on the Internet and whilst we were impressed with the complex when we arrived (looked old and authentic and different from your average hotel) we were disappointed when we arrived at our room. Our room was clean but didn't math the style of the rest of the complex which was disappointing and with a little effort could be a cool place to stay.

Most staff were helpful (not all) and we had a problem with no hot water in our room but as soon as we were able to communicate this they had someone on it straight away. Breakfast was ok

This could be a really great place to stay but at the moment is a little disappointing

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LeahReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in the executive room which for the size was great value. Huge bathroom, large bedroom with walk in closet and very nice living room. Lots of nice furniture and tea sets.

Service was very good but level of English was not high (we spoke Chinese). Their visa machine did not like my card so we were walked to the cash machine which was nice of them.

Breakfast was Chinese with a few western additions such as bacon, egg, toast and jam. I found it tasty.

Gym and pool were out of action which was a shame. The club is a huge complex but many of the restaurants seemed to be closed and the enigma bar which should be open late was closed too.

Our room had no windows and I got bitten by the odd mosquito. TV reception was poor and no English channels.

In summary, if looking for somewhere a bit different and comfortable then this is a good choice. If looking for luxury with pool and gym then maybe a more normal 4/5 star hotel would be a better choice.

To get to the club from the airport, Bus 303 to town (last stop) then metro 3 stops north to wunshu monastery. Exit K, straight ahead out the exit and walk up the big road. First right, past the monastery on the left and then the occ is on the left.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Oh boy, mixed feelings - love & hate this place.

BACKGROUND
We are 3 Asian girls, able to speak mandarin, not particularly fussy travellers, in Chengdu mainly to work with bears. We booked the OCC 'executive suite' through booking.com in June for travel in Oct.

Our room was located in hotel main wing, 2 storeys, there was a lift - room was equipped with safe, hairdryer, iron, 2 TVs, bathrobes & slippers.

PROS:
1. We liked it that the OCC was located in the middle of a 'culture street' and was very different from the usual hotel chains
2. OCC is very near to Wenshu Monastery, an attraction
3. OCC was not far from the shopping district, ChunXi Road, with many malls in distributing mode (read: very cheap). Cabbing there would only cost 10-13yuan.
4. OCC was near to 2 banks out on the main road, 5 mins walking distance - The Chengdu Bank & the Commercial Bank. Useful for currency exchange.
5. There is a good Chinese pastry shop, usually with a long queue, on the same stretch of the street as OCC
6. There are award winning Chinese restaurants right opposite OCC
7. Shops usually close around 9pm in that area but there is a 24/7 tea house on the 2nd floor across the street, where we chilled at some nights. We usually sit at the balcony enjoying the chilly air + hot premium tea.
8. Bustling in the day, quiet in the night
9. It's located in an attraction area, so even if taxi drivers don't know OCC, they will bring you to the attraction so you can lead them from there.
10. More restaurants available out on the main road.


Cons:
1. Too many unnecessary light censors. The corridor worked on motion-light censors which will only trigger the light when you're very near so you will be literally walking into darkness when you return to the hotel at night. Many times the censors don't come on at all. We had the last room right at the end (room 219) so yes, it was creepy passing by open doors into stairways & super dark corners.
Some room lights were also on light censors - I wasn't too comfortable taking a shower with the lights at the bath area going on & off randomly. Same for the lights at the room entrance area.

2. The furniture & bed was clean but the carpet was dirty. There were many stains & kneeling on the carpet for 3 seconds to adjust my luggage left my black jeans hairy.

3. 3 of us girls came back to the room one night armed with only shopping bags, to find our room door ajar. It wasn't locked. Probably been open since room service earlier in the day.
Our belongings were inside. We were mad but were only given "sorry our room service probably did not lock it after they were done cleaning".
Don't expect same level of empathy or compensation you probably would've received if this were to happen in a big hotel chain.

4. The reception & service staff spoke very little English. We were able to conversate in Mandarin but at times struggled with understanding their accent.

5. On our first night, I had to wait 3 minutes for warm water to flow in in the shower. Subsequent nights: 1 minute. Water flow was weak and the bathroom smelt damp/ mild sewage.

6. Breakfast was so-so and was only available from 7.30-9.30am. We ate Chinese food all our lives but weren't too thrilled with the selection. Most dishes were vegetables & buns. There was a tray of sausages & bacon but that will most likely be out if you arrive for breakfast any later than 9am. They bother to change their vege menu daily though.
There was a noodle & egg counter, most of the time unattended, but please ask them. My breakfast there consisted of 1 fried egg (from the counter) with bread & butter. We usually have our breakfast super early but one morning when we arrived at 8.30 for breakfast the seats were all occupied - and if that wasn't bad enough, so were the cutlery & cups.
We had our breakfast standing, had juice & milk from a bowl & spread butter on bread with chopsticks.
Make your own instant coffee; Breakfast vouchers are issued on a day to day basis.

7. We only had one keycard issued. We requested for more and they said room only comes with one card.

8. Info for the superstitious: The street OCC is located on has a lot of shops selling incense and many offerings (clothes etc) to be burnt for the deceased.


ADDITIONAL INFO:
1. An additional bed at OCC will cost you 200yuan/ night, inclusive of breakfast. Don't expect too much comfort out of the additional bed but you can request for extra layers to soften the mattress.

2. Service staff in Chengdu don't react very well to tips so don't be taken aback if they push your money back to you. Out of 8 restaurants & service staff we tipped, only 1 accepted the tip. OCC staff did not accept too.

3. The only legal places to change your money are the big banks. There are no money changing shops or hotels that provide that service like many other cities.
Chengdu Bank only changes a few selected currencies (USD of course); Bank of China changes most other currencies but be sure to bring your passport for identification. There will be some illegal money changing peddlars hustling you outside the banks.

4. There is a restaurant "Long chao shou" at a corner across the street on the right when you exit OCC (there's this BBQ satay cart in front of it), that serves sample sized Sichuan dishes. Good if you don't know what to order but want to try em all. It comes with sets - Set A (25yuan), B (30 yuan) & C (40-45yuan).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peruvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I'm not a particularly fussy traveller, but was swayed by this hotel's location, and what looked like a quirky character. Indeed, it looked impressive from the outside, and was well located for Wenshu Monastery, and the Chengdu metro for getting elsewhere. The positives stopped there.

We arrived pretty late, pretty shattered on a bus from E'mei. There was one member of staff at reception, who was completely overworked - answering telephone call after telephone call. He spoke no English whatsoever, which is surprising for what is supposedly a 3/4 starred hotel. After much waiting for him to stop answering telephone calls, we managed in our basic Chinese to converse. We mostly communicated through gestures.

We arrived at our basic room. It smelled - specifically the bathroom, of waste. We had windows onto the street which did not close properly, and overlooked what seemed to be Chendgu's prime night-time teahouse. More problematically, the windows did not keep out the world's nastiest and hungriest mosquitoes. Unacceptably, our bedding was not pristinely clean, and had multiple light brown stains. The Wi-Fi in the room was also pretty poor, and couldn't load simple websites at all quickly, let alone be used for business (which, in our "business" room, we would have thought a prerequisite).

Breakfast was terrible. We arrived to be offered pretty bad Chinese food (trust me, I'll eat anything usually!), including some rather sad previously fried eggs - cold and hard, with congealed oil on the outside - nasty. I ended up plumping for some chuan'r down the road each morning rather than revisit the staid dining room.

I visited the fitness centre briefly. It was acceptable, but the pool was out of action.

Overall, we ended up rather dreading going back to the hotel - while I wouldn't expect to look forward to going back, I've not had quite so bad an experience in a long time. I would rather stay at an unremarkable, but clean, hostel over Old Chengdu Club.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

No no no no. This was a great place to stay. OCC has lost me. The pool and spa area is closed. Breakfast is now Chinese - nothing wrong with that if it is good quality, but it is not. Breakfast area changed from classy tea room to a cafe area out back. Water running from the bathroom roof. The room door is electro-magnetic and needs to be unlocked. Ours did not work. We were stuck for 30 minutes. Phone to front desk intermittent connection. No TV reception for one night. Front desk did not want to know, and I can't blame them. OCC management obviously on a severe cost cutting program that is affecting the running of this hotel, and its a real shame. Beds are still comfortable, and rooms off the street are quiet.
There are better experiences and value elsewhere in Chengdu.

Room Tip: Choose standard room without breakfast and stay in Room 210 only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank presentan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Paying a visit to the Panda Base in Chengdu with my parents, I thought the ancient architecture and courtyard style Hotel would be a good choice to stay. Well, rooms are huge and nicely decorated. However, the 60m2 of my parents did not feature a window.... While mine facing the street had a whole wall of hardly closing ones. Trying to sleep I felt like laying on the pavement with night guards keeping themselves awake by yelling in their walkytalkys every 2-3 minutes... If you want to stay at this Hotel, take a room at the back or one without windows. But make sure that you arrive at ordinary hours since staff tend to hide for a good nights rest in the vast

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldchina_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our one week there was great. It seems like there is a bit of discrepancy between reviews here for the standard room and the deluxe rooms (which are still great value). We stayed in a deluxe room and it was newly refurbished and tastefully furnished in an oriential style. The housekeeping was impeccable. The bathroom modern.

We found out that the hotel and the complex is actually managed by an Australian company, hence perhaps the attention to detail. The staff are efficient if you speak a little Chinese. The restaurant serves great Sichuanese cuisine.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room over a standard room - the difference shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#7 of 2,748 in Chengdu
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,748 in Chengdu
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,748 in Chengdu
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,748 in Chengdu
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#35 of 2,748 in Chengdu
73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,748 in Chengdu
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chengdu Shuyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chengdu Shuyuan

Address: No.28 Wuyuegong Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu > Luoma Market , Qingyang District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #871 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $124 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chengdu Shuyuan 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chengdu Shuyuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing