We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fantastic rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chengdu Shuyuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chengdu Shuyuan
Ranked #720 of 2,602 Hotels in Chengdu
sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“fantastic rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very nice hotel,front desk staff need to smile a bit more,but you soon smile when you see your rooms,wonderfully set out,from the lovely decor to the three TV's, one in the bathroom even.would have like to use the spa but there was no water in it and would have loved to sit at the bar but never found it,even so we still had a very good time here,was like you walked in the gates and relaxation came over you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinzan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel and its position in town is great. First the downside, in China smoking is not frowned on indoors/outdoors anywhere - so although our room was truly fantastic is smelt of smoke, but with the windows open (always book a room and request windows, as some rooms dont have any!?) it soon disappeared. A minimum of english is spoken in the hotel but the staff are so friendly and helpful, you will work it out. The food, we only ate there on an evening once, is very nice and the breakfasts are fun, ask for bacon for your eggs and it will appear, otherwise try the other stuff and they do have coffee in the tea house, just ask. We didnt use the pool, but my husband did check it out, he thought we should update out tetnus injections before using it and it was freezing, even though it was indoors - so we didnt bother. Outside the hotel, across the street there is a whole walking area with shops of all types, another hotel Zen Buddah Hotel (we ate there most days for lunch, the food was amazing and so cheap), infact we had great fun and went there most days. Then Wenshu Monistery is good but rundown and its is to the right of the hotel, 2 mins walk. We got the hotel to get a car for us to visit the Pandas at the reserve, 30 mins depending on traffic, we arrived at 8am and got to see the pandas without loads of people for at least 90 mins which was fantastic, as they are really awake at that time and babies are only born from sept to feb - by far the best time to visit as they are on display in their nurseries, so cute. You can hug one (not a very small one) for about £130 cash on the day, but you will get about 2 to 3 mins to take a picture and that's it, you can also be a panda keeper for the day but that's expensive but probably worth it, but you have to stay the day 8-5pm. The reserve is a fantastic place, the red panda's run wild in their reserve, just dont touch them, but they are fun and there is a coffee shop worth going to, remember earlier is better if you want a great experience. Jinli Street is also worth the experience but go when its dark, all taxi drivers know it so dont worry and it closes at 10pm as does most places in Chengdu but the shops and food places are fab, there is also a Starbucks there if you are missing your caffine hit. Get your hotel to write in chinese the address and name so you can just show it to a returning taxi. We had a blast its a fantastic city.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window, you dont always get one allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I didn't stay here and can't judge it except on one front. It has a fully kitted out Western-style bar where you can get a Western-style drink whether you're staying there or not. Incidentally, I was staying at the Buddha Zen Hotel, which is about 100 metres away, and which doesn't seem to offer alcohol other than beer. But if after a busy working or touristy day and you're staying in this 'old part' of town near the monastery, and, like me you feel you deserve a drink before dinner, here's the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The location of this property absolutely cannot be beat. Next door to the Wenshu Monastery, less than a five minute walk to the subway station. On a rebuilt/renovated street, with a mix of very good restaurant options, tourist souvenirs and high-end/museum-quality handicrafts. Out the back gate of the property, you are in bustling residential neighborhood--not touristy at all with wonderful street vendors, hot pot, kebabs/skewer restaurants, local tea houses, anything you could possibly want. The property itself is beautiful, with a few idiosyncrasies. It seems that most of the deluxe rooms do not have windows--great for sleep as it is very dark and quiet, but as several reviewers have mentioned it can also be stuffy to hot. We had two rooms and in one of the rooms neither the safe nor the refrigerator worked. While the maintenance staff couldn't fix these minor problems, in general, the service was excellent. We got brought delicious snacks late each afternoon, and buckets of ice (rare in China) every night before bed. One front desk staff member was incredibly helpful in helping us figure out buying train tickets to Qingchengshan and negotiating for a car to go to the panda reserve. Breakfast was excellent and the staff there were also wonderful--helping to get a high chair, remembering who wanted coffee, quickly getting second cups and so on. The pool was a great addition for those traveling with families--it seemed not to be frequently used as we had to ask them to turn lights on for us, and the hot tubs were not heated, but the pool was clean, there were plenty of towels and so on. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yifeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

The buildings are really beautiful. I walked around the grounds and I felt like I had stepped back in time. I arrived late at night (past midnight) because of my late flight. I was a little worried because the street was desolate and the front gate was closed. When I opened the gates, a guard came rushing up and pointed the way to the front desk. There are no obvious signs to the hotel, and in fact, I would make sure to print out directions in Chinese to give to the taxi driver or prearrange for transportation from the airport. The rooms are beautiful...I felt like a Chinese princess in my framed bed. The ambiance is great, but the lighting is poor and there are no windows in the room. The English level at the hotel is poor but I got by just fine....taxi drivers in China don't speak English so make sure you have a local write down your destination name and address in Chinese. I didn't have any trouble getting around, and cabs are inexpensive. The spa is really nice but prices are very high, especially for China.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Perfect in every way: big and luxurious rooms with unusual details such as TV in the bath; correct breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Located in the historic reconstructed old-style city center, with plenty of shops and food or tea stalls.
What's more, very good quality - price.
Only one small complaint: We ate 2 nights at the hotel restaurant all alone, with serious problems of communication with the restaurant staff because they barely speak English.
Perfect gym and spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri_tamon_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed for four nights with two other moms and four children. Great "old" new hotel. Seems to be for members usage mainly since only 20 rooms and suites. Beautiful facilities but rooms were so hot despite turning heat off. AC didn't seem to work at all and front desk was of no help. Our suite was in the inner part of the building so had no windows!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjbmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.3 mi away
Demen Renli Hotel (Kuanzhai Alley)
0.3 mi away
Chengdu Grand Club Hotel
Chengdu Grand Club Hotel
#71 of 2,602 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#23 of 2,602 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
0.6 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#14 of 2,602 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chengdu Shuyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chengdu Shuyuan

Property: Chengdu Shuyuan
Address: No.28 Wuyuegong Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu > Luoma Market , Qingyang District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #720 of 2,602 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chengdu Shuyuan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chengdu Shuyuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing