We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Riverview Chengdu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somerset Riverview Chengdu
Ranked #20 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with husband and 18mo old daughter mid march 2014. Have stayed in a ton of hotels in China and lived here for 6 years. This is THE BEST hotel in China. Sooooo clean, breakfast great. Full kitchen for cooking. They even have a kids play area, pool, ping pong, gym. Really the best hotel I have stayed at. Highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    63
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
35
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hello TripAdvisor peeps! Long time lurker...first time poster. I really leaned on TripAdvisor for my recent trip to China so thank you all for directing me to the Somerset Riverview! It was a truly wonderful place to land (after a very scary Sichuan Airlines flight...) and we had a serene time there. The Somerset is huge, you really are getting a lot of space, an entire apartment's worth and everything is extremely clean and comfy. The staff was really nice and accommodating but please be aware that since these are serviced apartments, their forte is not in organizing tours or anything like that. However, the staff was top notch in things like fixing the in room wifi and getting us a taxi for the airport.

The breakfast in the morning was impressive, there's an egg bar, noodle bar, fresh fruit, pastries, fresh squeezed juices, a good variety of western and eastern breakfast foods. If you're not in the mood for what's there, the restaurant downstairs (Maan Coffee Shop) was buzzing at all hours of the day. (It's open until 1am.)

Be aware that the hotel is a little hard for taxis to find and not super walkable to the more exciting parts of town (Chunxi Road, Tianfu Square, etc). But we found Chengdu easy to navigate and enjoyed our little oasis away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Why I selected this hotel
1. Near to city center
2. Next to the main road, and subway station/bus stop.
3. Excellent in room facility
- For cooking your own food (Electric cooker, Microwave oven, Induction stove, Refrigerator)
- Nice and soft bed.
- Excellent view (facing Tianfu Square).
4. Staff who can speak English.
5. Excellent western breakfast.
6. Good swimming pool and gym.
7. Nice and relaxing evening walks along the river.
Being a vegetarian from south India, I have very less choice than to cook myself. There are two Indian restaurants near Raffles City (Tandoor, and Namaste India), but eating their daily is not an option I have.
Carrefour is nearby (~400 mts) from where you can buy food items, vegetables etc.

Regards,
Vijai

Room Tip: Rooms facing Tianfu Square have excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VijaiNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crissy Y, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear VijaiNS,

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Riverview Chengdu.

We are glad to hear you and your family were enjoy the stay with us, your kind words will be shared with our team.

Thank you so much for Chooesing Somerset of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our Ascott International serviced residences.

Yours sincerely!

Crissy Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Somerset offers good deals for its lovely furnished rooms. Wood floors, big room and bathroom and small kitchen albeit the appliances were a little difficult to figure out. The location is great with metro station near by and many fancy shopping stores a short walk from hotel. Efficient staff. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brightlygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crissy Y, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear brightlygold,

We are very glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay in Somerset Riverview Chengdu. Your kind compliments will be shared with the entire team. Receiving such feedback from guests like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

Thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices, and welcome back to Somerset Riverview Chengdu again.

On behalf of the entire team, we are eagerly looking forward to welcome you back again in Chengdu.For any assistant in future please do not hesitate to contact me at crissy.yu@the-ascott.com.

Best Regards!

Crissy Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I chose to stay here based on comparing the prices of other international 5-star hotels and the reviews and indeed, it was a change from the hotel stay. Knowing the Somerset group, I was already confident and based on the reviews, I made the right choice.
The studio was more than adequate and I was not expecting any bathroom amenities because it is supposed to be a serviced apartment for long- staying guests but they do provide. The room was spacious and clean and I did not have to bump into hundreds of hotel guests like in a hotel so it was very peaceful. The Maan Cafe next door is good enough for a coffee and some snacks/pastries which is very convenient. The 7-Elevan next door too!
We tried lunch in their ADD restaurant and was disappointed they did not have the Indian curry so we tried the chicken curry which was not bad. The prices are super reasonable between RMB 25-60 for lunch and they don't rip you off like hotels so it is extremely good value for money. The Chef even approached us and enquired to our satisfaction for the meal.
We walked all the way in front of the river which was really pleasant and we found a Thai Restaurant called "Fiesta Thai" 10 mins to the right of the hotel but it was not as good as expected although they have a rooftop garden dining atmosphere. As the management stated, the location of the Somerset is indeed central and Lan Kwai Fong is only 10 minutes taxi ride from the hotel (although you can actually walk there in 25 mins). The subway station is a convenient 10 mins walk from the hotel which is good. We managed to tell the taxi driver the place by looking at the location map provided by the hotel website and it was not difficult at all by stopping at the junction.
Upon check out, the Front Desk staff even offered to call a taxi for us which was good service.
All in all, it is a nice change from the hotel maddening crowd and I would definitely stay there again when I next go to Chengdu from Chongqing. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crissy Y, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Mr. JimmyinChina

Thank you for chooseing Somerset Riverview Chengdu!

We are glad to hear compliments from you and your kind words will be shared with our team. Receiving such feedback from guests like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our Ascott International serviced residences.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

After spending 6 nights in 5 star hotels it made a nice change to book into these very nice serviced apartments in Chengdu with great views over looking the river. Our 18th floor apartment was very spacious and well appointed with lounge (large widescreen tv lounge & bedroom) complete with desk area, bedroom and wet room toilet & shower. Bed very comfortable, and everything clean and well maintained. Added bonus was the self-service laundry facilities complete with tumble drier. Conveniently located just a short walk from a subway station and less than 30 mins from the airport by taxi would recommend this as a convenient base if like us you're visiting the Giant Panda
Research and breeding centre.

Room Tip: Our room 1 had views in both directions due to shape of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crissy Y, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Emu-Pat

Thank you for choosing Somerset Riverview Chengdu as your choice of accommodation in Chengdu
.
We are glad to hear that you have a nice stay in our property, your compliments will be shared with our team. Receiving such positive feedback from guests like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our Ascott International serviced residences.

Yours sincerely

Crissy Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is value for money and in good location near the metro. The rooms are very nice and staff are good.
Breakfast is OK but limited range unless you like Chinese for breakfast, they do have cereal and toast and cook eggs to order.
Has a Maan coffee shop next door which is OK and does a range of food, and a 7 11 shop which is 24 hour selling water , beer , wine extra .
Its cheap and easy to take the metro to Raffles shopping centre which is high end shopping and some good restaurants including Din Tai feng .
Good western bar called the Lazy Pug near Togzilin station in the Master building ground floor next to Regal Master Hotel.
The staff will also organise taxis to Panda's etc.
Note - when getting a taxi its some time easier to get dropped off on Renmin Road , some drivers get confused with the address, easy solution is to ring hotel when you catch the taxi , especially from the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on river side are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crissy Y, General Manager at Somerset Riverview Chengdu, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Gleen G G

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Riverview Chengdu.

We acknowledge your concerns regarding the quality of food served at breakfast spread and regret that we were unable to meet your expectations. Your feedback will be shared
with the vendor and we will work very closely with them to improve the breakfast spread for the dining enjoyment of all our residents.

For the taxi, i am sorry to bring you inconvenient, please don,t mind to contact us if you have any problem.

Please rest assured that we are committed to provide excellent services and products to all our guests.

Meanwhile, if you have any further questions or wish to feedback directly to us, please email us at this address. We will be most glad to assist you.

Once Again, thanks for choose Somerset Riverview Chengdu and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.5 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#8 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#16 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#22 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,639 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Riverview Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Riverview Chengdu

Property: Somerset Riverview Chengdu
Address: No.1 3rd Section of Renmin South Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Riverview Chengdu 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the banks of the Jinjiang River, Somerset Riverview Chengdu enjoys a prime address in the city of Chengdu. Nature features heavily around Somerset Riverview Chengdu. Whilst meandering water ways with romantic arched bridges make for a pretty cultural picture, local tea houses and bars alike takes on a fantastical modern allure. The 200 serviced residences is furnished with a modern and comfortable living and dining area, broadband Internet access, satellite television access and a fully-equipped kitchen. We offer you a wide range of apartment sizes from studio to three-bedroom apartments tailored to your lifestyle. Our 24-hour on-site security personnel and video intercom system provide you and your family a secure living environment. Somerset Riverview Chengdu is ideal for executive and their families looking for a balanced and enriching lifestyle. Our rooftop garden is the perfect relaxed space for lazy summer barbecue. Unique facilities include fully-equipped gymnasium, sauna rooms and children playground offering extensive leisure and sports choices for you and your family to relax and refresh. Our recreational residents’ programmes like city explorations and networking gatherings enable you to meet people and network within your community. Our helpful and caring staff is always striving to exceed your expectation, showcasing the core value of Somerset’s signature Heartware service, which is our commitment to tailor each residence to your individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Somerset Riverview Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing