We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Traffic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traffic Inn
Ranked #8 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed for two weeks while attending cooking school in Chengdu. It is well located and very clean. The staff are very friendly, speak and understand English very well. The map they have and their knowledge is very useful. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 191 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is very central, the staff very helpfull (they bought us the tickets for jiuzhaigou in advance and helped us to plan the trip). It is perfect for a backpacker in China. We slept in the dorms and we liked it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreia_rcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Value for backpacker. Excellence on location (near Xinnanmen bus station and Metro), room clean and staff friendly. I stay the hotel 4 nights but not sequence. Staff upgrade room from basic twin room to standard twin room. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank NattaphonTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Whilst my agent had booked me into (the bland)Traffic Hotel (which is directly opposite) I spent my time (& money) at the Inn - great staff who spoke excellent English & dispensed sensible advice.

If (& when) I come back to Chengdu, I will stay at the Traffic Inn

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marknew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We decided to stay here as we need to take the bus from Xinnanmen bus station to Jiuzhaigou in the morning.

Verdict : Very happy with the condition and service. We had a pleasant stay. Excellent and worth every yuan..:)

The room was basic but clean. Even the sharing bathrom was surprisingly clean. (The room with ensuite bathroom were all fully booked).

The location is very strategic - 5 mins walk to the bus station. Few eatery places and convenience strores nearby. Near main road - easy to get taxi. 30mins walking distance to tourist spots.

Staff - efficient, helpful and reliable. Helped us to buy the bus tickets at very last minute notice and arranged for airport pickup and panda tour.

Great communication among them - no confusion over our itinerary, request, add-ons.

Free map with English and Chinese wordings - a very useful accessory indeed.

And the wifi works!

However, it can be noisy when doors are opened, or when other traveller passes by to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelynn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

While the rooms were fairly standard for a hostel the helpfulness of the staff and cheery atmosphere made the place a really great place to stay. We went on their reasonably priced trip to the panda sanctuary which was well run and very enjoyable, but there are many other trips run out of the hostel. Very importantly there is free air conditioning in each room. They sell good food which comes in enormous portions. We had more fun at this hostel than any other in our 28 day trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PD0gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here - standard twin room ensuite (3) and 6-to-a-room dormitory (1). Great value for money. Rooms and even the shared bathrooms were clean. The staff speaks English well and are very friendly, helpful and informative. They are available anytime as Traffic Inn Hostel has a 24-hour reception. We used their assistance for airport transfer twice [80RMB] for a late night pick-up and a very early morning drop-off and found it to be reliable. We had our luggage stored at the hostel whilst we visited Jiuzhaigou.

Good central location as Xinnanmen Passenger Station is just around the corner and it is walking distance to Huaxiba stop of Chengdu Metro (easy to navigate; fast and efficient; great for avoiding traffic congestion; bags are scanned on every entry; dual language (Chinese and English) on ticket machines). Lots of food options nearby including chuan chuan xiang (sort of fast-food version of hot pot whereby the food items to be cooked are sold on per bamboo skewer basis) on Nantai Lu and snacks, noodles and fruits at the old market.

Highly recommended - Traffic Inn Hostel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunarJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.6 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,730 in Chengdu
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,730 in Chengdu
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
#40 of 2,730 in Chengdu
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#8 of 2,730 in Chengdu
335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Traffic Hotel
Traffic Hotel
#3 of 566 in Chengdu
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traffic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traffic Inn

Address: No.26 Desheng Road, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610041, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range: $24 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Traffic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traffic Inn moved to a more central, cozier place after running the old one for six years. In this new location, we’d like to provide the best facilities with invariable superior services. All the Traffic Inners hold the motto “be candid group, be helpful guide, be local friends”, and we’d like welcoming all the travelers and backpackers to chillax in our new “home”. You hold the votes for us because we have several highlights:Highlight 1: TransportationWenshu Monastery: within 10 minutes walking. Wenshu Monastery is one of the most famous Buddhist temple in Chengdu, with more than one thousand years’ history. Around this historical spot, a Buddhist cultural pedestrian would be great attraction for most travelers.Tianfu Square is 2 metro stops awayRenmin Park is 3 bus stops awayChunxi Road is 4 bus stops awayGreen Ram Temple is 5 bus stops awayNorth Train Station is 2 metro stops awayEast Train Station is 9 metro stops awayXinnanmen Bus Station is 5 bus stops away, plus we provide free minivan every morning (7:00-7:30) to take you to Xinnanmen Bus StationHighlight 2: Local ServicesBig supermarket within 5 minutes walking (420 meter)Many banks and ATM within 5 minutes walking (260 meter)Famous 24 hours chain stores within 3 minutes walking (180 meter)Traditional prime food court within 10 minutes walking (850 meter)Traditional raw food market within 5 minutes walking (460 meter)Highlight 3: Facilities of Our HostelTraffic Inn is absolutely not a place only provide bed. We hope you feel free, comfortable, and homelike with us, we are eager to let you know us and other travelers from different countries, and we’d like to let all of our “family” members to become close friends.We have large amount of public space, including the roof terrace, relaxed music collection and atmosphere, quite sleeping room, western and eastern food options. Each of our rooms including dorm is with private shower, toilet and air-con. Free lockers provided in dorm and valuable stuff could be put in the lockers at the reception.Highlight 4: Recent FreebiesArriving free drink couponBuy two nights get one night free, will be ended on 31st Dec. 2014Free breakfast from 7:00 to 9:00, will be ended on 31st Dec. 2014Happy hour of free beers (from 20:00-21:00) on Monday, Thursday, FridayFree minivan to Xinnanmen Bus Station every morning (from 7:00-7:30)Buy drinks get free food every Saturday (from 18:00-20:00)Grilling night on a regular scheduleHighlight 5: Our ServicesFree travel info. of Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou, Tibet, etc.Free booking of hostels in other provincesFree WIFIFree HD movies (more than 600 movies for your choice)Free lockersFree pool tableFree table tennis (Ping Pong)Free luggage depositFree Chengdu mapFree libraryFree hair dryerFree clean linenFree electronic blanket provided in winterFree breakfastFree SKYPE international callFree 24-hours hot showerFree hot/cold drinking waterBike rental serviceScooter rental serviceLaundry serviceSichuanese Mahjong courseChinese cuisine courseHighlight 6: Trip OrganizeWE WILL HELP YOU TO JOIN OR FORM AN ITINERARY TO CUT DOWN YOUR TOUR PACKAGE PRICE TO TIBET!7 days Nepal via EBC8 days EBC & return 7 days Nepal overland 4 days Lhasa 698 CNY5 days Namtso 6 days Shigatse ★ Panda tour (98 CNY/person, Private Car)There are more than 20 pandas in Chengdu Panda Breeding Center. Those pandas don’t live in the cages, but are stocked in the mountains like their natural habitat. This price includes round trip transportation and entrance ticket.★ Yangtze River Cruise3 days and 4 days boat itinerary respectively. Definitely the lowest best deal you can find in town.★ Grand BuddhaWalk around this colossal statue from head to toe. Admire in full scale from boat view.★ Jiuzhaigou Valley & Huanglong park4 days by bus, or 3 days by plane. There are few shopping trips but you can't beat the price.★ Songpan Horse TrekIce Mountain woes horse riders with the purest of snows and clearest blue sky.★ Hailuogou GlacierThe youngest glacier in Asia, impressive as it is. Take a hot spring bath in all-nature-surroundings.★ Sichuan OperaSpit long-lasting fire, change face to green, red, and blue in a blink of eyes. Our Regulation:We only provide service to hostel-mania travelers.We only provide service to those eager to meet friends.We only provide service to those with eco-awarenessWe only provide service to those keen on best experience in ChengduP.S.: our check-in time is after 12:00 and check-out time is before 14:00, and our reception is open 24 hours all year round.We won’t emphasize our history in spite that we’ve been running for six years. We won’t emphasize our service in spite that we’ve been igniting our passion all year round. We won’t emphasize our location in spite that our new hostel locates in a marvelous block with gingko trees around. We won’t emphasize our cleanliness in spite that we treat each guest room as our home. We won’t emphasize our activities in spite that every event is full of our elaborate planning and devotion.We just want you to have true chillax in our hostel and have great fun in Chengdu.So we hope to see you soon and with you have a good journey in China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Traffic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing