We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of Traffic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traffic Inn
Ranked #8 of 339 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed in Traffic Inn for 6 nights in Chengdu 170Y per night and the room is very nice with large screen TV. The location of the Inn is very convenience right next to the long-distance bus station
and easy for local buses and subway.
I will stay here again when I visit Chengdu in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Traffic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We booked the 6-bed dorm on Hostelbookers for RMB40/bed/night. The room we got was cosy and the furniture appears new. There are 3 double-decker beds, each with its own reading light and electric power point. The sheets are clean and towels are provided (although the towels smell as though they were kept damp for prolonged periods). Kettle and cups are provided, so are disposable slippers and toothbrush. The view from the window was another building's wall, so it was best to keep the curtains drawn.

Each bed is assigned a locker, and each person is given a locker key and a room access card. The air-conditioner in the room is self-adjustable, rather than a centralised one. The common toilets and showers are well maintained and regularly cleaned. There is also a hair-dryer mounted to the wall at the common sink area. If you need to handwash clothes, there is a sink-basin as well! (Laundry service is already provided in this place).

Wi-fi is available in this place, although not all rooms receive good reception. The wi-fi reception is strongest in the common areas e.g. ground floor lobby and the first floor lounge.

The lobby area is spacious, with places to sit indoors and outdoors. Food is available from 0700 to 2100, but they are rather pricey; would suggest that you walk around the neighbourhood to find cheaper and tastier eats. The lobby noticeboards are a wealth of information on where next to continue your adventure. We also booked the Opera + Panda package with them for RMB198/person, as we wanted convenience rather than to scour around for a similar package. The reception staff are able to speak English, although Mandarin is still their preferred language. We booked airport transfer too, for RMB80/van (sits 5 people).

Location-wise, the Xinnanmen bus station is a 2-minute walk away with buses heading to Emei Mountain and Jiuzhaigou, amongst other destinations. Bus 82 (which goes to Wuhou Shrine and Jinsha Archaelogical Museum) stops near this property. Do get a map of Chengdu from the reception before heading out as it helped us a lot in sightseeing the area by foot/ public transportation.

All in all, this place is a great example of what an international youth hostel should be. It is better than some of the hostels we have stayed in Europe and the US, and we cannot think of other places to stay should we come back to Chengdu in the future.

Room Tip: Book early (online/email/phonecall) as this place is very very popular.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biancajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

the free dumpling class is great!! located in the city center but very quite place along the river,we joined their panda tour which is really worth to go ,and we saw many pandas outside!!!
rooms are clean and price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had returned from Chengdu after a 2 night stay in Traffic Inn on 19 & 23 Jun 2012. My friends & I stayed in their 4-bed dorm room that was clean & cosy. Though the toilets & showers are shared facilities, they are clean & well maintain. Their staff are also very friendly & helpful. Their location next to the long distance bus terminal (with services to Jiuzhaigou, etc) is definitely a PLUS point.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puzzled75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

we stay in this hostel for three days,joined their panda tour and went to leshan,emei shan by ourself,bus station just 2 mins walk, and the staff here can speak perfect english and gave us a lot of useful information!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomkissinger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Cleaners knock on door to clean room (supposedly private ensuite) at 8am. If you don't answer within a few seconds they just use their key and walk straight in. Then if you don't want to get out of bed to let them clean immediately they don't come back so the room doesn't get cleaned. This spoiled an otherwise OK hostel and for this reason would not go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

A great little hostel with young, fun, friendly staff

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.6 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,711 in Chengdu
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#3 of 2,711 in Chengdu
561 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#11 of 2,711 in Chengdu
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#6 of 2,711 in Chengdu
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
#39 of 2,711 in Chengdu
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traffic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traffic Inn

Address: No.26 Desheng Road, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610041, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 339 Specialty Lodging in Chengdu
Price Range: $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Traffic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traffic Inn moved to a more central, cozier place after running the old one for six years. In this new location, we’d like to provide the best facilities with invariable superior services. All the Traffic Inners hold the motto “be candid group, be helpful guide, be local friends”, and we’d like welcoming all the travelers and backpackers to chillax in our new “home”. You hold the votes for us because we have several highlights:Highlight 1: TransportationWenshu Monastery: within 10 minutes walking. Wenshu Monastery is one of the most famous Buddhist temple in Chengdu, with more than one thousand years’ history. Around this historical spot, a Buddhist cultural pedestrian would be great attraction for most travelers.Tianfu Square is 2 metro stops awayRenmin Park is 3 bus stops awayChunxi Road is 4 bus stops awayGreen Ram Temple is 5 bus stops awayNorth Train Station is 2 metro stops awayEast Train Station is 9 metro stops awayXinnanmen Bus Station is 5 bus stops away, plus we provide free minivan every morning (7:00-7:30) to take you to Xinnanmen Bus StationHighlight 2: Local ServicesBig supermarket within 5 minutes walking (420 meter)Many banks and ATM within 5 minutes walking (260 meter)Famous 24 hours chain stores within 3 minutes walking (180 meter)Traditional prime food court within 10 minutes walking (850 meter)Traditional raw food market within 5 minutes walking (460 meter)Highlight 3: Facilities of Our HostelTraffic Inn is absolutely not a place only provide bed. We hope you feel free, comfortable, and homelike with us, we are eager to let you know us and other travelers from different countries, and we’d like to let all of our “family” members to become close friends.We have large amount of public space, including the roof terrace, relaxed music collection and atmosphere, quite sleeping room, western and eastern food options. Each of our rooms including dorm is with private shower, toilet and air-con. Free lockers provided in dorm and valuable stuff could be put in the lockers at the reception.Highlight 4: Recent FreebiesArriving free drink couponBuy two nights get one night free, will be ended on 31st Dec. 2014Free breakfast from 7:00 to 9:00, will be ended on 31st Dec. 2014Happy hour of free beers (from 20:00-21:00) on Monday, Thursday, FridayFree minivan to Xinnanmen Bus Station every morning (from 7:00-7:30)Buy drinks get free food every Saturday (from 18:00-20:00)Grilling night on a regular scheduleHighlight 5: Our ServicesFree travel info. of Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou, Tibet, etc.Free booking of hostels in other provincesFree WIFIFree HD movies (more than 600 movies for your choice)Free lockersFree pool tableFree table tennis (Ping Pong)Free luggage depositFree Chengdu mapFree libraryFree hair dryerFree clean linenFree electronic blanket provided in winterFree breakfastFree SKYPE international callFree 24-hours hot showerFree hot/cold drinking waterBike rental serviceScooter rental serviceLaundry serviceSichuanese Mahjong courseChinese cuisine courseHighlight 6: Trip OrganizeWE WILL HELP YOU TO JOIN OR FORM AN ITINERARY TO CUT DOWN YOUR TOUR PACKAGE PRICE TO TIBET!7 days Nepal via EBC8 days EBC & return 7 days Nepal overland 4 days Lhasa 698 CNY5 days Namtso 6 days Shigatse ★ Panda tour (98 CNY/person, Private Car)There are more than 20 pandas in Chengdu Panda Breeding Center. Those pandas don’t live in the cages, but are stocked in the mountains like their natural habitat. This price includes round trip transportation and entrance ticket.★ Yangtze River Cruise3 days and 4 days boat itinerary respectively. Definitely the lowest best deal you can find in town.★ Grand BuddhaWalk around this colossal statue from head to toe. Admire in full scale from boat view.★ Jiuzhaigou Valley & Huanglong park4 days by bus, or 3 days by plane. There are few shopping trips but you can't beat the price.★ Songpan Horse TrekIce Mountain woes horse riders with the purest of snows and clearest blue sky.★ Hailuogou GlacierThe youngest glacier in Asia, impressive as it is. Take a hot spring bath in all-nature-surroundings.★ Sichuan OperaSpit long-lasting fire, change face to green, red, and blue in a blink of eyes. Our Regulation:We only provide service to hostel-mania travelers.We only provide service to those eager to meet friends.We only provide service to those with eco-awarenessWe only provide service to those keen on best experience in ChengduP.S.: our check-in time is after 12:00 and check-out time is before 14:00, and our reception is open 24 hours all year round.We won’t emphasize our history in spite that we’ve been running for six years. We won’t emphasize our service in spite that we’ve been igniting our passion all year round. We won’t emphasize our location in spite that our new hostel locates in a marvelous block with gingko trees around. We won’t emphasize our cleanliness in spite that we treat each guest room as our home. We won’t emphasize our activities in spite that every event is full of our elaborate planning and devotion.We just want you to have true chillax in our hostel and have great fun in Chengdu.So we hope to see you soon and with you have a good journey in China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Traffic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing