We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
454
285
51
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
285
51
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buddha zen wenshu monastery old style pedestrian area hotel is located open courtyard vegetarian restaurant food stalls foot massage small bathroom busy city wontons loved this hotel tea house chinese style sitting area third floor
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 803 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2016

A little way out from the centre of town but easily accessible by the metro, this beautiful little hotel should please the most discerning of travellers. My room was of a good size and well appointed with a large shower albeit in a small bathroom. It is by far and away the most comfortable bed I've slept in, in three tours of the Far East. English is spoken but not by all the staff, those that do go out of their way to help and understand your requests. Breakfast is adequate but is geared very much to the Chinese, with toast, cereal and eggs being the option for westerners. The surrounding area is very interesting, with a variety of arts and craft shops, a Temple and an excellent vegetarian restaurant near bye. To get to the metro, turn right out of the hotel and then left. Go to the end of the street and then right and left again passed the temple to the main road. Turn left and the metro is less than 100 metres at the next junction. To buy a ticket, tap the machine screen, select English, tap where you want to go on the map and insert your money. Simples! The lowest fare is equivalent to about 20 pence.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jimsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016

I visited after a busy business trip and it was just what the doctor had ordered! The rooms are lovely and staff helps you with the luggage as there are no lifts.
The booking was last minute and I got a great price on a deluxe suite. Reception staff was very welcome and the room was inviting and relaxing. Felt like a princess in my four poster bed :)

The atmosphere in the restaurant lets the place down a bit, it feels more like a waiting room and I could not get comfortable there. But there are so many choices to eat nearby, it is not a big deal

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odettexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

In my opinion, this hotel has got everything for travellers. Great location with great food nearby and surrounded by historical buildings. If you like cultural scenes to stay in, this is the area. Big and clean room with proper heating facility. Very professional, helpful and polite staff. The only thing that I can complain about is the WIFI speed which requires improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leos1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2016

We stayed here for one night at the end of December 2015. We arrived really early in the morning from an international flight and staff were able to check us in a few hours later at 9.30am, which was fantastic!
The room itself was big, we stayed in a Superior Suite which had a separate living area. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but the shower and water pressure were good. The heater worked well and the bed was really comfortable. There are no lifts though, and you do have to walk up a few flights to get to your room.
The staff don't speak the best English but they did try really hard! We also hired one of the hotels private cars to go to the Panda research centre which was pretty good value (You can also hire their private cars to take you to the Giant Buddha in Leshan too).
Breakfast was fairly standard, with a mix of western and Chinese cuisine.
The area around the hotel itself is nice, it's surrounded by a large number of market stalls and shops and there's a nunnery and monastery within walking distance, which are worth having a look at.
I would advise printing the address in Mandarin to give to taxi drivers as most don't know where it is.

Room Tip: Superior suites are very large with a separate living space, smallish bathroom
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank laurenlasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Wonderful and beautiful hotel. It is a few minutes walk away from the Wenshu Monastery and it appears that the whole area is being revitalized, much as they did in the Kuanzhai Alleyways area. As it was cold and damp when we were there, we relied heavily on the in-room heaters, which worked well. The room was surprisingly quiet in the evening, even though all the rooms essentially face the streets. My bet is that as the area gets busier, it might get noisier. The breakfast was adequate, and had a reasonable mix of Chinese and Western foods. The wifi worked reasonably well, though one is never sure if it is slow or it is censorship! We did not have time to take advantage of the spa.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zswaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews