We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Looks old, but is really new....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BuddhaZen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BuddhaZen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 2,259 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Looks old, but is really new....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights on the strength of good Trip-Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The Hotel is new but laid out in the older style with open courtyard rooms which would be really pleasant in warm weather. I was there in winter, and the whole place was a bit nippy. The room however was warm and comfortable, very quiet and bathroom not too small. Room service was a little too excellent - I was being tutored in mandarin and my books would be neatly stacked up every day...! Bed was a little hard, but far better than most other Chinese Hotels. Reception didn't mind my tutor coming up the to the room - this a big issue with some Hotels in China. Windows have timber screens which allow windows to kept open in warm weather, but still be secure.

Room Tip: It's easy to get lost in Chengdu, so buy a compass as well as bring a map from home. The local t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpack-getn-heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    230
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
128
217
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I agree with most of the reviews here and would choose to stay here again. The hotel is centrally located in a characterful area, near a temple and loads of shops, restaurants etc. It seems to be a reconditioned area - looks old but truly it isn't type of thing. Hotel rooms are big and fine. Bed was very hard would be my only criticism. The rooms go round a central courtyard, and noise did come up from it if people are up late. The reception had some offer on that if we signed up to their VIP scheme we got an immediate discount on our stay and food - so we did that. It doesn't have all the facilities you'd get in a big hotel but the price was fair I felt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fikoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights as the final week in our 3-week trip to China. I booked it on the basis of reviews I saw on this site, and was really looking forward to staying here and relaxing for our last week. Was I in for a surprise!

We stayed in a junior suite, and the room was beautiful with a very comfortable king-sized bed. We thought the price was great value, especially when we saw the room. Unfortunately, our first impressions were misleading.

There was a small fridge, tea making facilities, and a TV in the room. The TV and wifi signals were both awful, rendering a number of the channels unwatchable, and the internet frustrating to use.

The bathroom was tiny, smaller even than the hostel's we had recently stayed in, though it was nicely appointed. The hotel design is really beautiful, set in a traditional building around a double courtyard. I'm sure this is great in Summer, though it is a little hard to appreciate during a November cold snap!

Breakfast was included, and I certainly wouldn't have paid for it. It's served in a room that is too small to fit the guests in, so people either had to wait for a table or move to the freezing cold courtyard outside.

Our problems started before we even checked in. The hotel is set in a small sidestreet near Wenshu Monestary; this street is not to be found on any maps of the city, including the maps of the district to be found at the roadside. There's no mention of how to find the hotel on their website, and there are no signs on the main road indicating where the hotel is. Our taxi dropped us by the monastery, so we called the hotel to ask for directions, and they couldn't/wouldn't tell us how to get to them even though we (eventually) found out we were less than 100m from the door.

We checked in and paid for six nights in advance, only to be called in the room on the second day and told that we had to check out! I went to reception to discuss the problem with them and they immediately told me that I had booked for six nights, and everything was fine, as if they had not just stressed us out with an unnecessary call. No reason was given for the call which they had made only five minutes before, and no apology was forthcoming. To top it all, on the last day of our stay, we thought we might like to have a spa treatment. My wife called the spa to ask which of the available treatments she could have because she was pregnant, and they started laughing at her. When we complained about this treatment in reception, we were greeted with nervous smiles, and noone seemed to actually want to assist us.

This is the kind of place you might really enjoy staying if you only have to stay one night, as the hotel is genuinely beautiful, and fine as long as you don't actually have to use any of the facilities for any period of time. For a longer stay in Chengdu, I would recommend you go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay for longer than a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andykanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night at Buddha Zen and were sad we could not stay for longer.

The hotel was lovely - set in a traditional court yard style, we really felt like we'd stepped into an ancient calming sanctuary away from the busy city. It was a very refreshing change from the modern accomodation we'd had previously. Our room was a little small compared to our other hotels, but clean, comfortable and full of character. Staff were friendly and could speak good english.

Breakfast was lacking in variety, but nice none the less. The breakfast room is incredibly small, so you may struggle to find somewhere to sit during busy times, and may need to share with others (which wasn't a problem for us).

Buddha Zen is located within 5 mins walk of the Monastery subway stop and so very easy to get around. Within the small complex around the hotel there are many little shops and restaurants, so I'm sure you could find somewhere to eat closer to home.

The hotel is within a small complex and taxis are unable to stop directly in front of the hotel, although you only have to carry/drag your luggage a very short distance to get to the hotel. I would recommend printing out the address details in chinese to show to your taxi driver, as they may have difficulties finding the place.

If we ever find ourselves back in the area, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonGregson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed in BuddhaZen hotel for one night only, but was enough time to appreciate the quality of the staff, and the beauty of the hotel and the surroundings.
. Hotel has a very convenient location in old town Chengdu
The staff spoke in one of the best English i heard on china.
A bit noise at night, try to get a room which windows goes to the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezekiel_morales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed twice in here, once booked through agoda , the other through elong. hotel is located inside a traditional cultural complex wen shu fang which surrounding is like the mini version of Jinli street. arround the hotel there are many souvenir and art craft shops and traditional snack shops and eateries. hotel itself is very beautiful, uniquely design in traditional chinese architecture and garden.
cars are not allowed to stop in front of the hotel hence we have to drag our lugage and walk. but it is a short walk so not a problem for us and stepping into the loby feels soothing and comfort. we checked in at around midnight, it was fast and our room was clean comfortable with strong hot shower and also fresh juicy sweet apples provided in the room.
breakfast was ok, not many variation, but for us the food was good.
the hotel got a traditional spa in wooden circular bath tub like in the movie which cost only RMB 88, a pity that we didnt have enough time to try.
definitely recommended and will return

p.s.
there is no lift in the hotel, all stairs.
print hotel name , address, and contact number in chinese as provided in the website to show to your taxi driver

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Zen Buddah hotel was one of the most most relaxing and characterful hotels we stayed in whilst in China. The staff were welcoming, spoke reasonable English and were great at taking my suitcase up the two flights of stairs to a lovely room which was spacious and clean. The style of the whole hotel is very traditional but it doesn't lack any facilities. Our room had a balcony where you could sit and watch the busy narrow streets below. We didn't have any problem with noise. The courtyard has a large Buddah statue and insence burning and a small fish pond, all of which go to make for a relaxed serene atmosphere.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was plentiful and fresh and you could request omelettes, scrambled eggs etc.
The location is very interesting with lots of street vendors selling all kinds of foods at very reasonable prices. As well as the usual cheap tat, there were also many artists selling interesting craft work. It's mainly a pedestrianised area so easy to stroll around.
I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alidiskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.7 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,259 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#21 of 2,259 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#4 of 2,259 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,259 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuddhaZen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuddhaZen Hotel

Property: BuddhaZen Hotel
Address: B6 6 Wenshuyuan Street, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#4 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BuddhaZen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your BuddhaZen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddhazen Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing