We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”
Review of BuddhaZen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BuddhaZen Hotel
Ranked #17 of 2,754 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Buddha Zen is a beautiful boutique hotel.
As soon as we saw the hotel from the exterior on arrival we knew we’d a good choice.

LOCATION: The hotel is in the middle of the ‘old-new’ area (as our guide called it), a part of town where the buildings are all built in an older style, even though some of them are fairly new.
The location is a bit out of the way if you’re looking for restaurants etc to walk to, however Taxis are everywhere and very affordable, so its not hard to get to other places.
As we made our way back to the hotel each day we enjoyed seeing the locals at their favourite bakeries and fruit stalls.
There are street stalls dotted along the streets for tourists to purchase souvenirs.


TYPE OF ROOM: We were in room 309, which is the top floor. Our room had plenty of space, and a balcony to sit and watch the passers by.
The room was very nicely furnished with beautiful Chinese style furniture.
The air con was a little noisy at times.
We did find that when people came and went from their rooms near us we could always hear the doors close/bang.


BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathroom was quite modern with a double sized shower, and beautiful Chinese style ceramic bowl for a hand basin.
One odd thing was there was no PowerPoint in the bathroom itself, or near it.
The water pressure was ok.

CLEANLINESS: After reading other reviews that the hotel wasn’t clean I was concerned, but our room was very clean and tidy.

CLOSET SPACE: There was plenty of closet space and general space for storing bags/cases.

TV/INTERNET: There was a TV in the room with a large selection of channels. The Wi-Fi worked well, even though we were on the 3rd floor.

SERVICE: Staff at reception were lovely, very helpful and efficient. Nothing was ever a problem and they went out of their way to assist.
Breakfast staff were quiet as they went about their work, but still pleasant.
Breakfast itself was buffet style, with a smallish selection of Western and Chinese food.

OVERALL: Buddha Zen is a unique hotel, although the location is a bit out of the way. We would certainly return to Buddha Zen if we visit Chengdu again.

The only reason I'm not rating Buddha Zen 5 is because of the lack of powerpoints in the bathroom, and the noise from doors in other rooms closing/banging, perhaps some sort of soundproofing around the door frames is required.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 767 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel itself is very picturesque, the courtyard is excellent and great to sit and have drinks. Breakfast is ok, although as it is a small hotel the choice is quite limited. I found the biggest issue with the hotel is the location is very poor for restaurants. Virtually none in the surrounding area have english menus or look habitable. However the fodd at the hotel itself is very godd and worth a try. Service is mixed as they were able to book several trips for us at reasonable prices but messed up our reservation and were not helpful when trying to get a taxi to the airport (leaving us to try to explain to the driver where to go by making silly gestures). All in all ok, but not quite as good as everyone seems to be making out.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms come with a fridge and balcony and are definitely worth the little extra they charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed for two nights in June in a suite (Room 302).

Of the hotels we stayed in during our month-long trip to China, this was our least favorite. (The other hotels were: URBN in Shanghai, Sofitel in Xi'an, Opposite House and Peninsula in Beijing, and Hotel Icon in Hong Kong).

The reason we did not care for the BuddhaZen Hotel is that the bathroom was unclean. I can forgive a poor location and a host of other shortcomings but I can't stand a dirty room.

Dislikes:
Not clean (large clumps of hair in the shower drain and corner of bathroom plus scuff marks all along walls on stairs)
Fake wood floors
Out of the way location
Dirty massage room
Bad smell in bathroom drain
Prearranged driver from the airport drove over 100 mph
Tired sofa in suite room

Likes:
Pretty courtyard
Some of the furniture was very attractive
Overall style
Beautiful and delicious apples in room
Friendly front desk
Air conditioning worked well and could be controlled in the room
Spacious
Comfortable bed, pillows, and linens

Room Tip: Standard rooms look nicer... We paid more for a suite because I wanted to have a balcony. It turned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pricklypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in Buddha Zen Hotel for less than a week after our trip back from Jiuzhaigou Valley-九寨沟. Some how we just couldn't get around to summit our review about many hotels we'd stayed in China, especially this one.

This is a very lovely place if you are looking for a unique experience. The hotel is decorated with Chinese traditional style, it offers several types of accommodation. Hotel is located inside an old town, near by there is a famous thousands-year old Wenshuyuan Buddhist Temple (for 5.00 RMB entrance fee, you get to walk the entire ground and get a glace of the tradition). Hotel is not too far to the Jinlin ancient street. I like the idea you'll find Starbucks Coffee inside Jinlin area.
The hotel has a good size courtyard, SPA / massage parlor is a nice retreat, if must. The furniture and accessories are crafted in Chinese traditional way. Simple, elegant and redolent of the past, rooms and suites also feature traditional dark wooden furniture and /wooden/bamboo floor, creating a mysterious sense of peeking through the veil of time to the romance of another era.
The traditional Chinese wood-framed-bed topped with gleaming white linens, looks very comfortable and inviting, it awakes the senses of "romantic". We love our suite!

Unfortunately, English speaking stuff is limited, then again, is there a need to find any perfect English speaking stuff in any nice hotel? (LOL I am laughing when think back in various non English speak hotels in China as I type this.) I am sure you'll find your long lost "patience" in Buddha Zen Hotel, simply by looking at those lovely smile on their faces.
We never ate in this hotel, therefore, I can't comment on the food.

There are lot happening near and around the hotel which you don't have time to be bored. Little shops, casual and fancy restaurants all around you. If you wish to venture further, some blocks away you'll be at the big shopping mall in town around the corner.

Happy stay to you all!

Room Tip: Pick the top floor facing the alley street for best view of the old town and less noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Buddhazen was better than we expected. After reading so much about it, the reality hit us when we arrived. We like everytrhing about this place. Location, staff, breakfast (a la carte menu was excellent) cleaniness, spaciousness, quiet, etc..

The only slight hiccup we had was that I rang earlier to say that our flight was delayed, and that we still want the room. When we arrived, we were told that someone called to cancel our booking (I think they misinterpreted my request). Anyway, this mistake turned into a blessing. We were upgraded to a suite!

The staff were always helpful, despite their limited English. Highly recommended. You need to book early if you want to stay here. It was full every day. We were there for 4 nights.

Room Tip: The two rooms we booked was great. I did not see other rooms, so I can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantiksekali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a great little hotel, in one of Chengdu's new "Old" neighbourhoods, and really close to the Wenshu Temple. The rooms are not huge, but big enough for us to fit an extra bed in, but are beautifully decorated, and ours had a large balcony overlooking the old lanes below. The neighbourhood around the hotel looks quite old, and is a lot less touristy than some of the other "old" neighbourhoods in the City. Plenty of great places to eat around the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed as a family of 6 in this great hotel. Everything was perfect. The rooms had all the comfort necessary to recover from a hectic sightseeing schedule in a city which is very hot in August. Had also a great dinner. Staff is very friendly and attends to all reasonable requests without any problems. But wat makes it really special is the historic character of the hotel. Very unique! One feels like staying in a historic chinese guesthouse. Very different from the massive modern hotels which are currently built all over China.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Family L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,754 in Chengdu
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tibet Hotel
Tibet Hotel
#20 of 2,754 in Chengdu
633 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,754 in Chengdu
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,754 in Chengdu
946 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#23 of 2,754 in Chengdu
345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#9 of 2,754 in Chengdu
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuddhaZen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuddhaZen Hotel

Address: B6-6, Wenshufang Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
#12 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $50 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BuddhaZen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BuddhaZen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddhazen Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing