We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tourist hotel in superb location”
Review of BuddhaZen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BuddhaZen Hotel
Ranked #17 of 2,754 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at the BuddhaZen for 3 nights in November 2011. We arrived at Chengdu airport late on the first night so decided to take advantage of their airport pick-up, which at 180RMB was expensive, but worth it to ensure we got there.

First impressions
==============

This is a beautiful hotel done in (I think) traditional Chinese style. By all accounts the hotel and the area round it it are fairly new additions to Chengdu, as opposed to real old town areas, but I didn't really care abut that.

We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking one of the side streets. The room was beautifully done out and had the usually facilities you'd expect from a hotel.

One of the only negative points of this stay was that the room was pretty noisy from a building site over the road. I realise this is in no way the hotels fault, but something to be aware of if you are a light sleeper - the first giant crashes started at about 6 a.m.

Location
=======

The hotel is located near to Wenshu temple, which is well worth a visit and the area round the hotel is very attractive with various stalls, food places etc. When you leave the old town and go into Chengdu proper then it is a typical, busy Chinese city with few sites. We came for specific things (Pandas, and Leshan giant Buddha), so that was not a problem for us.

Staff
====

The staff were unfailingly polite and friendly, but English was not widely spoken and I ended up having to resort to a pictionary type game when trying to explain my safe wasn't working properly. It all got sorted in the end and provided amusement for both me and the staff member though.

Food
=====

We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and it was of a good standard with a variety of English dishes and some Chinese ones such as noodles, dim sum etc. We also are in the restaurant one night and it was good - not sure if I am a big fan of Sichuan cooking in general, but again not the hotels fault.

Overall
======

In summary, I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chengdu.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordie_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 767 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stopped in this hotel after visiting pandas in the Chengdu research centre and we were very pleased with this hotel.

The rooms were very good with large bathrooms and very comfortable beds with a selection of English language TV channels. The hotel itself looks beautiful and they have gone to some effort to make it look like a period building.

The staff are very helpful and friendly to us during our visit, going as far as walking us a local restaurant we could eat at however their English is a bit more ropey than staff at the equivalent Beijing hotel.

The hotel is located in a some sort of cultural quarter with period looking buildings. There are plenty of independent looking shops sell good quality items and a few restaurants which look like they cater for locals. There is also a Buddhist monastery near by which is well worth a visit. The hotel is about an hour from the Pandas and the airport.

One good pointer if you are stopping here is to print off a map. Cars aren't allowed down the road in front of the hotel so our taxi driver had to drop us off a few streets away and our Chinese and his English weren't good enough to understand what he was saying about how to get the hotel.

If you are looking a for perfectly silent night, you may need to request a room away from the front of the hotel. We had a room overlooking the market, which was great however we could hear noise of people arriving at the market from around 7ish. It wasn't enough to wake us it might bother some people.

There were no electronic sockets which fitted English plugs in the room but there were US plugs so you can use a normal travel adapter. There is free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Buddhazen is located in the midst of a marketplace surrounding historic Wenshu monastery. A quaint little place, its charming traditional styling fills you with romantic notions of ancient China. The window and balcony of our room offers a view onto the marketplace below, and is a wonderful place to sit and watch the world go by. Thankfully, trading in the market starts late and ends early, so we were not troubled by any noise. On the weekend we were there, we heard faint clacking sounds of mahjong tiles, wafting in from the clubs outside the market as players played late into the night. That said, we'd probably have blocked the sounds out if we had shut the windows. The market is filled with traditional eats, traditional crafts, souvenir stalls and many tea shops and tea rooms. Am I charmed? Absolutely. This is not a big city Sheraton or Shangri-la luxury experience. But perfect if you want a whiff, a fly on the wall experience into the lives of the locals without compromising on modern comforts. A wonderful stay, backed by decent breakfasts (a notch better than most other standard hotel breakfast buffets!), comfortable rooms with modern amenities and polite staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Really, this is one of the few stars in China's hotel industry. Very tastefully decorated, with nice, subdued colors. Nice courtyard, with an equally nice bird (I agree, it is a bit depressed looking....), a statue, and a lady musician evenings.
The staff at the front desk are pros, very well trained, and it shows. The breakfast crew? Well, one must forgive.... The Western part of the meal exists mainly on paper, but hardly in reality. Ask, and you shall receive. Just make sure you're not exceeding your time slot, otherwise they will rob your bitterly conquered food off your plate! The thing is, everything is so nice and perfect in this hotel, one would never be upset in there.
BTW, the surroundings are quite nice as well, the stores, tea houses and restaurants.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few RMB and reserve a suite. They are well worth their money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were so disappointed with our treatment by this Hotel. We had booked 8 hotels throughout China for our month long tour, all of which were low rise. We did not want to stay in skyscrapers and had spent much thought into chosing the hotels we wanted to stay in. We arrived at Chengdu airport to be collected by a very nice chap who, as we set off in the car handed his phone to my husband. He was informed by the lady on the phone from the hotel that our room was no longer available as a guest had decided to stay for one more night. The driver was taking us to another hotel where we could stay for one night and then go to BuddaZen for our second night. My husband informed the hotel that this was not possible and was not going to happen as we were out early the following morning and we had booked a trip to help at the Panda Sanctuary and would not be returning until late in the day and we would not want to move hotels again. When we got to the other hotel the staff there were very helpful but we were put in a room on the 25th floor! This was not very good customer service BuddaZen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaniePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in October and had a great time. Real 5 star service, with lots of branded free toiletries/slippers/even a sewing kit and candle.

Great atmosphere in the hotel, with a little fish pond, traditional furniture, even some (slightly depressed looking) captive birds. The faux-old style wood looks wonderful, and the rooms are beautiful.

Breakfast was good, and included in the room price. Had dinner here one night which was lovely (the 'small' portions are still quite big!).

As some people have mentioned, noise does drift up from the street into the rooms (we were on the first floor (or 2nd floor by Chinese numbering), but the streets are deserted by 8 or 9pm, and were not noisy in the morning, so this didn't inconvenience us at all.

The hotel organised a car to the airport for us, which all went fine.

While we were in Chengdu we went to Qingchen shan, which is very easy to get to by train, and I would recommend.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the noise from the street, I imagine the top floor rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obscured101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We came to this hotel early by one night, and the front desk clerk was so helpful in finding us another hotel nearby when there was none available. When we did stay there for the following night, the room had everything we needed, the breakfast was great, and the location cannot be better. The hotel was kept immaculate inside and out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,754 in Chengdu
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tibet Hotel
Tibet Hotel
#20 of 2,754 in Chengdu
633 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,754 in Chengdu
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,754 in Chengdu
945 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#23 of 2,754 in Chengdu
345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#9 of 2,754 in Chengdu
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuddhaZen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuddhaZen Hotel

Address: B6-6, Wenshufang Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610017, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
#12 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $50 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BuddhaZen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BuddhaZen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddhazen Hotel Chengdu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing