We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and nice vibe”
Review of Jinli Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jinli Hostel
Ranked #25 of 551 Chengdu B&B and Inns
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location and nice vibe”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The name here is misleading - it's a hotel with not large but decent rooms and shower.
It's clean, easy to find at the most touristy street of the newly built JInli Ancient Street.
The breakfast is brought to your rooms in small baskets and has very little value, but don't worry - Starbucks is right next door.
There is no english spoken so don't rely on them. Late at night some rooms are affected to the street noise when the chinese tour groups are having fun.

It's good value for money though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel, it is not a hostel. The bedroom was not as clean as it should have been. The bathroom was a disgrace. The tiles in the shower were very badly marked and what looked like adhesive was running between them. The shower itself took up to 10 minutes to clear of water.
The hotel itself is located in a very nice pedestrian street. We did not try the breakfast but used Starbucks next door. No evening meals served, but plenty of restaurants around the area some with English menus. Try the Hot Pot speciality which is very spicy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryCDonegal_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, it is ideally located on the popular ancient walking street of Jin Li (but it's not noisy). The street itself is full of life, many food stalls, restaurants and sights along the way. You don't have to leave the street unless you want to as everything that you need is right on your doorstep.

The hotel itself was lovely, we stayed in a beautiful room in the courtyard area and it was really quiet and peaceful. You enter the courtyard through a big authentic gate and then you have a shady area with tables and chairs if you wish to relax away from the street.

The room had air con, a tv, hot water shower etc with complimentary slippers and toiletries. It was really cosy, clean and comfortable. I would say this is a fantastic choice for Chengdu!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I LOVED this hotel!

It's not the best serviced, or cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in, however it's Character and Charm more than makes up for it!

It is a courtyard style hotel, split over 2 sides of a pedestrian street. The aesthetic of the place matches the old world feeling of the Jinli market strrets outside.

Right next door to a temple and smack bang in the middle of a market area selling souvineers and food.

Don't expect more than what it is, a basic charming hotel in a great location - and you will fall in love with it as well.

Also the cleaning ladies are fearless! Ours killed a spider in our room without the bat of an eyelid!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights during my China trip. The room was nice, big and clean with all the mod cons. The hotel had a little courtyard outside the rooms which was really nice, but not as green as some other courtyards I had seen in some hotels but very nice still.

The best thing about the hotel is that it is right on the Ancient Jin Li Walking street which is a lovely pedestrian street with food stalls, bars, entertainment (puppet shows) etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We just came back from China and although Chengdu is really a great city, our stay at the Jinli Hotel (it's not a hostel!) was just one big disappointment. On the outside it looks like a nice authentic courtyard hotel, but in the rooms itself you'll just find cheap, fake wooden furniture, which seems to be rather old and/or broken. This would not have been a problem for us, but the fact that we had to change rooms 2 (TWO!) times, as the rooms were so extremely damp and moldy definitely was! The first room had a lot of mold - esp. in the bathroom- and when we mentioned this at the reception, the receptionist offered us another room, which we happily accepted. However, this room was also very damp, but we thought some fresh air might solve the problem. Wishful thinking! After spending the day in Chengdu and looking forward to a good night's sleep, we found out that the situation had not improved and that even the sheets were moldy and damp. Trying to get some sleep was almost impossible, as inhaling the air simply caused a burning feeling in your throat! I went back to the reception desk, but the girl didn't speak a word of English. The next morning we spoke to one of her colleagues on the phone and we immediately got another room... which was a bit moldy as well, but by far not as bad as the other rooms. Although the hotel is located in a nice area (Jinli old street -nice but very touristy- , Tibetan quarter) I am sure one can easily find better places to stay in Chengdu.

Room Tip: I guess you simply need to be lucky in order to get a decent room straight away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Just got back from this place, which we booked through a B and B site. It gives you a bed and there is breakfast, but it is a hotel. Three main features to comment on:

Bed: hard, like so hard you have to sleep on back or side, no stomach sleeping possible. We stayed in other places in China with very firm but comfortable beds. Furnishings in room are lovely but dusty. The venue and staging of hotel are its best features.

Bath: nice design (like the square shower head), but moldy--needed a good scrub with a brush and bleach. Plenty of hot water and excellent pressure.

Breakfast: very same thing every day: half a cob of corn, half a sweet potato, a boled egg and a container of room temp UHT milk.

Location is good for nearby features, but a 39 minute walk to bus station for any day trips (Traffic Hotel is better location for bus). Convenient to airport (don't have to cross town.)

We are VERY low-maintenance travelers and were looking for a special treat on this trip. I would not stay here a second time and will be researching other options for my mother's trip there in 2011. I expected better value for the money considering the other hotels we experienced on the trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMary1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
Taicheng Hotel
#236 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#25 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Wuhouci
Jinli Home Hotel
Jinli Home Hotel
#19 of 551 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yijia Inn Chengdu Wuhouci
#359 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Pod Inn Chengdu Wuhou Jinli
#8 of 551 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Holly's Hostel
#11 of 322 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinli Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinli Hostel

Property: Jinli Hostel
Address: No.231 Wuhouci Main Street, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 551 B&Bs / Inns in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jinli Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing