We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Visit to Chengdu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn Barsby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn Barsby Hotel
Ranked #834 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Visit to Chengdu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, this is a quite nice hotel, but it's best feature is definitely the location. Since it is placed on Fuqin Road West you are set straight in the middle of the action.
The hotel is clean and pretty comfortable, and the breakfast is really good. Staff was friendly, attentive and kind.
Overall a good hotel and i would prefer to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Me and my brother had booked the hotel for 3 nights from 2 Oct 2011 through Hostelworl and got it confirmed. We would then proceed to Tibet. Our travel agency in Tibet would send the visa to Inn Barsby Hotel, they checked our reservation with Inn Barsby and could not find it even though I received confirmation of booking, our travel agent booked the room for three nights on the same date and also pay the room. When we came to the hotel on 2 oct is no room. The manager claims to have never been paid and do not have time to help us. The thing is that it was the holiday in China and all hotels were fully booked and the manager had probably given our room to someone else. We finally found another hotel late at night. The day after I went back to Inn Barsby to get my visa, I met with the owner of Hotelet who promised to repay the money, it took about a month before my travel agent got back
their money.We were not the only ones to be without a room on the evening 2 oct.
We traveled around Asia and visited many hotels, but this is the worst hotel I have visited

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ROLF EINAR t T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chengdu hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

I decided to go to China some time ago .So i bought a book , I did my research through trip advisor booked my flight and began my journey. My first place was Chengdu , Sichuan province . The main attraction of course was the giant panda research centre . My hotel choice was Inn Barsby Hotel .. Run by an English gentleman and his beautiful Chinese wife . this is not The soffitel,The Hilton nor The Sheraton.! It is however a very clean and well run mid range hotel in a good location . If you need anything Bob and his wife will do their utmost to make your stay a pleasent and an enjoyable one .I cannot deny there is a language problem but nothin that a pen and paper and a game of doodling won't fix
Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BriBoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed for a total of 4 nights. For the first two nights we stayed in a garden room, which although on fourth floor was a balcony with a small garden where one can enjoy what passes for fresh air in downtown Chengdu.

For our other two nights we stayed in normal, but quite spacious rooms. He rack rate was reasonable and handsome discounts were available.

We were happy with the hotel, the rooms were clean and comfortable. As far as the décor is concerned it seemed a little strange to our eyes to see paintings of English hunting scenes and copies of European old masters hanging on the wall of a hotel in China.

The location is on a shopping street and in late afternoon and evenings food stalls set themselves up in the side street. We felt perfectly safe walking round the area both during the day and evening..

The first floor restaurant served excellent Chinese food and breakfast which starts at 7am was excellent. I particularly enjoyed the freshly fried egg which was served at the table.

The travel centre located in the foyer proved reliable at getting train tickets and organising cars to train station and airport.

Our main reason for choosing the hotel was the English owner who was charm personified when he greeted us on the first day. We assumed that someone who could speak English would be available in reception or at least on the end of a phone. Unfortunately this was not always the case and did cause us some headaches.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

dirty, no amenities, construction occurring, dirty shower, no full length mirror, limited closet space, poor heating system

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.3 mi away
BuddhaZen Hotel
BuddhaZen Hotel
#7 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,639 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,639 in Chengdu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
Wenjun Mansion Hotel
#23 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
#6 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#9 of 2,639 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Barsby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Barsby Hotel

Property: Inn Barsby Hotel
Address: No.208 Fuqin West Road, Chengdu 600031, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #834 of 2,639 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Barsby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the west of Chengdu in the Jinniu business district, the hotel is only a ten minute drive from the centre of the city, Tianfu Square and is approximately 25-30 minutes from Shuangliu International Airport. Two hundred meters from the second ring road the hotel is ideally located for trips to the Wolong Panda Reserve, Chengdu Zoo and other well known tourist spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn Barsby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing