We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tex Mex and home cooking still going strong”

BiDe Western Restaurant (KeHua)
Ranked #62 of 3,139 Restaurants in Chengdu
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good Tex Mex and home cooking still going strong”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Been going to Peter's in Kehua Beilu for a few years. Service, food and drinks still good. Cosy setting great on a cold Chengdu night. Large portions of really good western food when you need a fix of comfort food American style. Chicken fried steak, fajitas, burritos and burgers all good. Good portions and pretty reasonable prices too.
My children especially,love this place! (And mum loves the cocktails too!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsiaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, Sichuan, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great 'American' style food but at a cost.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

There are several locations for Peter's Tex-Mex and we have heard that the service and quality can vary a little among them but we went to the location by European street and the service, food, and atmosphere was top notch. The food menu seems to be endless and if your appetite is large a couple can easily order 250RMB worth of food. We have made this a special occasion restaurant because of the price and because we know the food will completely satisfy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So much food”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you're looking to get your western fix (i.e. cheese), go to Peter's. Sure, it's cheesy and not 'hip', but it's really cheap for the amount and quality of food you get. I like any of the Mexican stuff and they make a great mango mojito, but for me it's all about breakfast. Biscuits and Gravy. The only downside. So much Jesus music. In all of their locations. All the time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcjulie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Tex-Mex in China...who'da thunk it!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I had the chicken enchiladas with a side of guacamole a Guinness foriegn extra. The cost was reasonable for a large portion of enchiladas, rice, refried black beans, salsa. The guac was extra. Total cost....121 yuan. (~$19.00 US)

Overall it was very good tex-mex and I will be coming back.

They do have an extensive menu and mariachi music was playing in the backgeound. A little bit of Tejas in southern China!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Lacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's Mexican food...”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I love Mexican food, and consider fish tacos, margaritas and such to be the best food in the world. So, granted, here in China you gotta roll with the punches, and I'm pretty happy there's Mexican food at all! Pete's does a pretty good job of getting the standard dishes right, but needs to work on consistency, especially with the drinks which sometimes are strong, sometimes not. Also, it's just tradition to put chips and salsa on the table for free and Pete's should definitely keep up this tradition. I would also suggest they branch off and introduce some new dishes using corn tortillas, like fish tacos.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohn495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BiDe Western Restaurant (KeHua) also viewed

 
Chengdu, Sichuan
 

Been to BiDe Western Restaurant (KeHua)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing