We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel but far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
Ranked #55 of 2,668 Hotels in Chengdu
china
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good hotel but far from town”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I had a nice night here last week. Everything worked well - internet, breakfast, check-in, check-out, taxi availability.
The room was comfy and the bed/pillows were superb.
The only downside is the hotel's distance from downtown Chengdu. It sits between the airport and the city. Unless your business is at the convention center, this is an inconvenient location. I had to go to and fro a couple of times in the one day and it is 20 minutes and 40 kuai each way. There is, however, plenty of shopping, dining options adjacent to the hotel - it seem to be a mall of sorts.
Overall, a nice hotel that I would recommend to convention/expo visitors.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    174
    62
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
11
12
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We booked this hotel for our last night in China presuming it would be fairly close to the Chengdu airport, so perhaps it was an omen that the taxi turned out to be ¥10-15 more to get here than to downtown. New in 2006, this property looks at first like an impressive business-class hotel. The first sign things might not be quite to that standard was the badly stretched carpets in the bedroom floor common areas, so loose as to be potentially dangerous underfoot.
Arriving fairly late, and this hotel being completely isolated in a convention complex, we decided to eat at the main floor restaurant, where we ordered two western dishes. These, it turned out, were very poorly conceived. My hamburger meat was completely devoid of spice, the overall flavour of the dish dominated (and not at all to its benefit) by, of all things, a fried egg. My wife's pasta was an unadorned pile of rotini with a bland tomato sauce seasoned only with crushed chili - i.e. no garlic, pepper, vegetables, olives, or anything else that might make pasta sauce interesting. Moreover, these two dishes arrived at our table over 15 minutes apart, and that only after a complaint to the restaurant duty manager. Our dinner experience suggests that this hotel does not have the quality of kitchen management that one would expect in a casual restaurant in North America.
A bad restaurant we could brush off in a decent hotel, but in this property the bedrooms are, from a sonic point of view, paper thin, both with respect to internal and external noise. This meant we had to listen with intimate fidelity and resonant tone to the construction sheet metal work going on next door, which ended only at midnight.
Much more preventably, however, we also had neighbours who were partying very loudly, with singing, dancing, and (if you can believe it) bass drums deployed in their room. When we reported this, at 10:30 PM, we were first told we should move rooms. I said we expected them to control their guests, and although a hotel staffer stopped by and then left, nothing was done about the partiers. When we protested the next morning, we were again told we should have moved rooms.
This being China, it is quite possible that it's more important to please a given room full of drunken partiers than a couple of tourists from Canada. At any rate our last night in China was largely sleepless and unpleasant, and our check-out staff appeared to have no idea why the hotel might be expeced to take some responsibility for this.
You might have better luck, but our impression is that this is a hotel that presents itself as businesss class but is managed more in the style of a very low-end establishment. To say it was not worth the money we paid would be a great understatement.
Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick_1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Though Chengdu Metro has opened for a month,it is much more convenient for you to get to the downtown,the entrance of metro is far from hotel。I arrived the hotel at middle of night,what I first felt was a quiet place for good sleep.My room was a standard room at non-smoking floor.It is not a big room,and unfortunately,no sight-seeing either。But the bed is soft ,and the room service and breakfast were good,I like it! Beside the hotel,there is a Convention Center and a outlets.Generally feel pretty good,especially for business trip。

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidia_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I am currently staying at this hotel and will be for the next 10 days. I am on the East Block of this 2-block property, and is part of the Century City which also includes the Intercontinental Hotel next door.

One thing to note: the beds in my room are NOT HARD! They are actually international-standard beds and this is already a winner. Rooms are quite compact; the distance between the edge of your bed to the TV/working table, luggage rack and refreshments stand only around 3 ft wide. The bathroom has a bathtub, but if you're over 5'7" it's really not that comfortable.

The breakfast is acceptable with a selection of Chinese and Western breakfast (Pancakes, Waffles, Sausages, Bacon, Eggs, Toast, Croissants, Muffins and cereals.) favourites.

Service at the front desk when I checked in was very strange: the lone front desk staff saw me standing there, and she was on the phone for at least 6 minutes speaking to a guest looking for a reservation made, and I was just standing there. She did not acknowledge me nor tell me quickly I'd needed to wait for her to finish. In many cases they would say "I will be with you in a moment" or something to that effect. But after she got off the phone she checked me in. Harshly speaking, there is a bit of lacking in service (a recurring problem in internationally-branded hotels all across China, especially outside of Beijing/Shanghai/Guangzhou) but the general, basic courtesy leaves much to be desired and as an international brand hotel that receives business guests, this is very important.

Hotel Front door security and attendants are helpful but depends on shift as I would have different experiences in different shifts.

Rooms service is adequate as the menu is simple but caters to what you need if you're really hungry and need food in room. (Beef Burger, Hot Dog, Club Sandwich as well as Fried Rice, noodles in soup and so on...)

TV service has a few international channels (CNN, HBO, TV5 Monde, Channel News Asia Singapore, Bloomberg) and is very much welcomed.

I would recommend this property if you are looking for something reasonable price-wise in this developing technology/construction/new CBD area for business. If you are going into the City for business/pleasure I would recommend you pay the extra money and stay in-city as you have more established choices of hotels (Kempinski, Sheraton, Shangri-La and Regal International) in Chengdu city proper. Also, most of the tourist attractions are north of town - this property is way south of town just off the 3rd ring road.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardBedVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Check in was very slow (15 minutes) because they didn't find our reservation (done through Expedia).
Location is not good, but this was not a surprise. It is close to one of the outer ring roads. It is about 20 minutes from the airport and about 1 hour from the pandas reserve.

The room is pretty small, and so is the shower. We expected to have a bathtub in a 4 stars modern hotel.

The lobby is very impressive, but it does not imply anything about the rooms...

The price was 100$ per night. I believe that I there are better alternatives for this price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UVA2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for two nights on our trip around China. The hotels location is outside of the city centre around 15 minutes in a taxi. The hotel is at the exhibition centre and there is no a lot around it although having been to the city centre there is not a lot there either. We had a standard double room booked and having checked in and got to the room we had been given a twin bedroom (two single beds). We contacted the front desk and spoke to three different people, after trying to explain in english the problem we were told that this was a standard double room!! We could not be bothered to try anymore so just put up with the room given to us. The room was fairly small in size and there was hardly any wardrobe space for clothes. There was not one drawer in the whole room!!!! The carpet looked quite dirty and had quite a few stains on it! The bathroom was again tiny and did not look particularly clean.
The staff at the hotel were fairly helpful but the language difference was a problem at times.
We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the restaurants here. The leaflets in the hotel seemed to imply that they were partners/linked in some way with the Intercontinental Hotel next door. We did eat at the Intercontinental Hotel next door at the Italian restaurant and this was outstanding, It was reasonably priced as well. To be honest if we ever returned to Chnagdu I think we would stay at the Intercintinental Hotel instead.
We got a taxi to the hotel from the airport and this cost us around £5 (46 Yuan). Back to the airport it cost us £6 (60 Yuan) due to the toll booth.
We got a taxi from the hotel to Giant Panda Breeding Centre which cost us around £8 (80 Yuan) and got the 902 sightseeing bus(if you can call it that) back to the city centre cost 20p each (2 Yuan). We then got a taxi back from the city centre to the hotel which cost around £4 (40 Yuan). To be honest may be worth getting a taxi back from the Panda Centre as we did not find much to do in the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2010

The hotel is located in the outskirts of the city, but is one of the best hotels in Chengdu.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreevardhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City-East Tower
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
0.6 mi away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#5 of 2,668 in Chengdu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Century City Hotel Chengdu
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Chengdu Global Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower

Property: Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower
Address: 208 West Tower, Century City Boulevard, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 775
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Century City Chengdu is located in the Century City complex in southern Chengdu, which features the New Chengdu International Exhibition & Convention Center and Causeway Bay Shopping Mall.The Hotel has 190 modern and quiet guest rooms including 16 suites and 40 Executive Club rooms with business friendly features. There are 3 various outlets for dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Chengdu Century City- West Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn West Century City Hotel Chengdu
Holiday Inn Chengdu
Chengdu Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing