We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Ranked #27 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'm always sceptical of staying in American hotels as you often feel like just a number, and the rooms are often soulless...I was lucky this time!

The good:
- the beds were beautifully soft (rare by chinese standards)
- big, clean, modern bathroom
- the free breakfast was more than adequate, very fresh and they have a coffee machine
- check in and porter staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful
- they have washing machines and dryers that you can pay to use, a god send after being away travelling for a while!

The bad:
- in the tour booking section the people were incredibly rude if you can't speak chinese. They laughed at me when I said I wasn't going to pay 50RMB for a map of Chengdu. it's not owned by the Holiday Inn. Their tours to the pandas were at least 70% more expensive than any others.
- The WIFI is patchy in the rooms, constantly cutting out.

Overall a fantastic hotel and very good value for money and I'd recommend, just not the tour booking area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andydexterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 529 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really like the hotel. It is located near the downtown area, but you need to take a taxi to visit the sites. However, the hotel porter is very helpful in getting a taxi for the guests and it is not that hard to get one compared to other cities in China. Taxi from the airport to the hotel costs around 70 yuan (so watch out for taxis acting smart and not using the meter).
The room and bathroom are modern and spacious, but the bed is kind of small. Cleaning could be improved, I looked under the bed and I found a lot of garbage left by other guests, also no firdge provided which is a must nowadays. Breakfast was decent, the wifi connection was good. Good English TV channels. The restaurant food was decent. They allowed us to have a late checkout.
Overall, we like the hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very nice bedroom and great bathroom. The laundry room was also extremely useful. Those are the pros. There was no currency exchange (and no ATM pointed out, just "10 minutes' walk to the bank"). It was really very hot and humid in August, but there are no fridges in the rooms! I couldn't believe that. We asked for a fridge, and got what appeared to be a red wine fridge that took two days to cool down - and that's all it did; cool down. I'm surprised people thought the breakfast decent. There was a very scant selection indeed, no egg station, the coffee machine only expelled black coffee and the fruit consisted of water melon and some other type of melon, in spite of the fact that the fruit shop had bananas by the box full, rambutans and peaches. We didn't find the location too convenient to the centre of town, and certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone. A great disappointment after reading most of the reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We couldn't believe that there could be a moderately priced hotel in China where service was included in the price! No where was check in such a friendly, pleasant and rapid affair. The rooms are not big but beautifully decorated. The bathroom boasts a super shower and fantastic toiletries. And check out the breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eveline59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

After having been in Chongqing Chengdu felt a bit like a relief. The hotel was great - nice room with a large king size double bed. The staff was always very helpful and spoke decent English. The hotel's location was great - for the £45 a night incl. breakfast you'll most likely not find anything better. From the Chengdu East train station it took us about 20min by taxi - always take a metered taxi (start fee 6 RMB). Once you're at the hotel you can reach the majority of sites such as main square, shopping are by walk. We went to see one monastery in the surrounding which was about 13RMB (10min ride). You can easily do Leshan (Giant Buddha and Panda's) in a day but will need to wake up early. If you fly out of Chengdu keep in mind that traffic can be bad especially in the mornings. Count at least 45 to 55min and 60RMB incl. the toll and tip for the taxi driver in.

Enjoy Chengdu!

Room Tip: When booking request a nice and quite double bedroom (non-smoking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwendal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Rooms were clean, spacious and well furnished. View was good, internet access in the room was also very good, and the bathroom was great.
We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay again, as it was very good value with free WiFi and breakfast.
The service was also very good, and they helped us out with organizing a trip through a local hostel - and when the weather made the trip impossible to go through with, they helped contact the hostel and rebook etc. Very pleased!
The breakfast is good - there are not many sweets, and the choices are somewhat limited, but unless you really want a 5-star hotel brunch every morning, don't worry it is quite adequate :)
We found the location to be good, but we didn't do too much city exploring so I guess we wouldn't know whether the location is good or bad!
They have self service laundry for a very small fee, that was awesome!
Bed is SOFT and so are the pillows - not a given in China!

Room Tip: Get up high for the views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanne849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was in Chengdu for 2 days in July 2013 and I was very pleased. The location is good. The staff spoke English and were very kind. They had a very good breakfast included in the price (coffee was great!). The room was very quiet....... I would racommend Holiday Inn Express without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Go Higher (we were on the 14th floor) excellent location, great view, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,748 in Chengdu
360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express CHENGDU WEST GATE
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wuhou Chengdu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe
#18 of 2,748 in Chengdu
939 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chengdu Panda Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou

Address: No.72 West Daqiang Street, Qingyang District, Chengdu 610015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#16 Business Hotel in Chengdu
Price Range: $53 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou, an international chain hotel with brand new concept. The hotel is strategically located in the heart of Chengdu, just 5 minutes stroll from Chunxi Road and Tianfu Square, allowing convenient access to CBD, banks, Sports Center, as well as local attractions such as Temple of Marquis Wu, Jinli Street. The hotel is just 15 minutes drive from Chengdu Railway Station, 20 minutes from Century Convention Center, and 30 minutes from Shuangliu International Airport. Whether you are here on a short business trip or to explore sights of Chengdu, it is perfect for both occasions.Holiday Inn Express Gulou Chengdu, this 20 storey central city hotel boasts 281 well-appointed guest rooms,1 Great Room 1 business center and 2 meeting rooms. All rates are inclusive of Express Start Breakfast,Senses Tea,High-speed Internet Access and Simply Fresh Bathroom.The hotel also provides 32' LCD TV, In-room Safe, IDD/DDD, Voice Mail and Hairdryer alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou Hotel Chengdu
Chengdu Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing