We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel
Ranked #183 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Tibetan theme of this hotel made it different from some of the bland corporate style hotels we stayed on during our tour.
There was a nice Tibetan welcome on arrival and we were quickly allocated a room. This was clean, spacious and comfortable and didn't smell of smoke, which made a refreshing change.
The food here was really good. A lot of the food we had on this tour was similar to a standard British Chinese takeaway but the hotel did serve us a few dishes which were typical of the region.
Staff were warm and friendly, particularly those in the bar who went out of their way to provide good service. Try the Tibetan Green Barley Beer - a change from the ubiquitous Tsing Tao!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 107 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Only stayed in this hotel for one night it was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was good plenty of it. the shower was very powerful just what you need when traveling I was on a tour JVJ.The staff were friendly but there English was about as good as my Chinese.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller020953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on our tour. Rooms were clean enough carpets were filthy! The beds were rock hard though the pillows were soft! Breakfasts were ok, the service in the bar at night was a little haphazard especially ordering food. 20 min walk to Jinli street and lots of restaurants on the way.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane53England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We also travelled with Travelsphere and stayed here for 2 nights, The food was plentiful and there was something to suit all tastes. The staff were pleasant and the rooms made up each day, The beds were firm rather than hard and the pillows soft.After reading some reviews I wasnt expecting that.In any case at the end of a tiring day I could have slept on the floor !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supergran66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Well located hotel with supermarket/shopping centre, local stalls etc close by.

Room was good & clean, bed comfortable (usual chinese firm mattress), and had all the usual facilities plus 2 bottles of water provided daily. 1 main problem though was that Aircon in hotel was turned off due to cooler weather (only 24 c which is fine - we live in the tropics), but no airflow - could not open windows due to bugs in summer - other guests had been bitten - but they did provide a fan on request, which was fine. This was also the only hotel we stayed in China that did not have CCTV English news channel - not a major problem, but it is nice to keep up with the world.

The breakfast was very good, good mixture of western and chinese. We also had dinner there, which was very good. Only us & one other family in the restaurant so service was excellent - almost over attentive.

Basically a good hotel & worth the money

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floraforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a nice tibet welcome at this hotel which is located on a busy intersection, but easy to walk to shops, markets etc. If your not a shopper like me, then it is nice to walk out of the hotel turn left and into the residential area, we came across a exercise street, where lots of people were doing their daily exercises old and young together. As we walked we also came across, what I would describe as a fete. Music, a childrens performance, local stalls, it was a great find, we just sat and did some people watching.

Back to the hotel itself - I think we were unlucky with the room, as when we went in I could not understand why the curtains were closed, I did when I opened the . We overlooked the dinning room, where a wedding was taking place, a noisy wedding, so with no natural light and a lot of noise we went out. The air conditioning was poor, in fact one couple had a bucket of ice sent to there room to help with the heat! luckily i like heat! Apart from that the room was fine, and I think if you have a room on the otherwise of the corridor people were quiet happy. We did think the breakfast noise would wake us, it did not.

The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and a good mixture of western and chinese. We also had dinner here, and it was very good, one of the best hotel meals on the trip. The bar area was nice as had been refurbished, small but not crowded.

All in all not too bad, but try and get a room on the exterior wall of the hotel, we never opened the curtains, and if a wedding is going on you knew about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the exterior wall of the hotel to avoid looking out over the dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed on during our trip. The hotel is well located for walking to quality stores and pedestrian areas.
When we arrived we received an amazing Tibetan reception with gifts and poems/songs. The staff are exceptionally helpful, the rooms are beautifully appointed and very clean, although there was no bath.- only a shower.
Food was very good, although the huge mural of the Potala is a bit overpowering in the dining room.
Would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
2.0 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#7 of 2,748 in Chengdu
509 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#13 of 2,748 in Chengdu
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,748 in Chengdu
631 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,748 in Chengdu
524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
Leeden Hotel Chengdu
#34 of 2,748 in Chengdu
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel

Address: No.88 Xiaojiahe North Street, South Fourth Section of First Ring Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 2,748 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range: $55 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing