We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcome, food excellent, room a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel
Ranked #292 of 2,703 Hotels in Chengdu
West Country
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice welcome, food excellent, room a disappointment”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a nice tibet welcome at this hotel which is located on a busy intersection, but easy to walk to shops, markets etc. If your not a shopper like me, then it is nice to walk out of the hotel turn left and into the residential area, we came across a exercise street, where lots of people were doing their daily exercises old and young together. As we walked we also came across, what I would describe as a fete. Music, a childrens performance, local stalls, it was a great find, we just sat and did some people watching.

Back to the hotel itself - I think we were unlucky with the room, as when we went in I could not understand why the curtains were closed, I did when I opened the . We overlooked the dinning room, where a wedding was taking place, a noisy wedding, so with no natural light and a lot of noise we went out. The air conditioning was poor, in fact one couple had a bucket of ice sent to there room to help with the heat! luckily i like heat! Apart from that the room was fine, and I think if you have a room on the otherwise of the corridor people were quiet happy. We did think the breakfast noise would wake us, it did not.

The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and a good mixture of western and chinese. We also had dinner here, and it was very good, one of the best hotel meals on the trip. The bar area was nice as had been refurbished, small but not crowded.

All in all not too bad, but try and get a room on the exterior wall of the hotel, we never opened the curtains, and if a wedding is going on you knew about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the exterior wall of the hotel to avoid looking out over the dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
3
23
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed on during our trip. The hotel is well located for walking to quality stores and pedestrian areas.
When we arrived we received an amazing Tibetan reception with gifts and poems/songs. The staff are exceptionally helpful, the rooms are beautifully appointed and very clean, although there was no bath.- only a shower.
Food was very good, although the huge mural of the Potala is a bit overpowering in the dining room.
Would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vavuniya
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights;Rooms small but all facilities of a good 4 star is available except for any TV channel from a non chinese source.A great inadequecy.High class breakfact to suit western palate but breakfast room a hot house due to lack of ventilation.Bed ideal for a long snooze.Room internet responds to touch.

Staff very responsive to attend to request made via telephone in English.They were attended speedily a feature alien in china.

Room Tip: Test whether air con works to satisfaction on entering room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruvinivavuniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Dinner here was the best on Tour.. very varied and good variety.Buffet breakfast with western and chinese dishes. Rooms comfortable, tastefully furnsihed. On headboard are various switches one of which indicates on a panel outside the door... do not disturb good idea to check its not on by accident otherwise the room will not be cleaned !!. beds hard but same as other hotels seems to be the norm.Safety deposit boxes next to Reception free of charge, mini bars in rooms. Very good, clean standard throughout , can even borrow an unbrella if its rainig ! Hotel was opposite small supermarket and Pharmacy, out of Hotel right down the road a large supermarket open till approx 10pm.Look forward to staying there again !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bluenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of a Travelsphere tour, highlights of China. Average tourist type hotel and fine for a couple of nights stay as part of the trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Johnboyholidaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I only stayed in Chengdu for 2 nights to visit the Panda Breeding Center, but was quite impressed by the rooms at this hotel. The hotel is centrally located, the rooms were spacious and offered fine amenities, my favorite being the rainforest shower. They also offer robes, in-room safes, room service and climate control. The beds were hard but the comforter was cozy. The breakfast buffet offered a lot of items both for either a Western style or Chinese style breakfast and it dining area was lovely.

My only complaint is that the staff did not really speak English, and this is supposed to be a "tourist class" hotel. Luckily I had a private guide to help me translate, otherwise there may have been some problems with communication.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ling1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

It rates itself 4-star but is definitely a 3. With this understood then this is a small, comfortable hotel with a Tibetan flavour, which I like. There is only one restaurant on the second floor, but it is spacious, serves good food at a reasonable price (by hotel standard) and has a 2-storey, 3-D mockup of the Potala Palace. It is impressive to look at and to take pictures in front of. Unless, of course, you have seen the real thing. And I have. The hotel is frequented by visitors from Tibet and this gives it a good flavour.

The negatives are: no pool; gym is too small and ill-equipped to be of use; so-so location. The staff were friendly but I suspect their English language skill is limited or none. I was OK because I speak the language.

Everything inside the room worked and I had a non-smoking room that did not smell of cigarette, which is often not the case with 3-star hotels in China. And I had heat on a cold day, something that was missing in my 5-star hotel (Howard Johnson) stay in Chongqing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
1.8 mi away
Minshan Hotel
Minshan Hotel
#45 of 2,703 in Chengdu
269 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
Tianfu Sunshine Hotel
#38 of 2,703 in Chengdu
357 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,703 in Chengdu
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fraser Suites Chengdu
Fraser Suites Chengdu
#6 of 2,703 in Chengdu
486 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#4 of 2,703 in Chengdu
524 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ascott Raffles City Chengdu
Ascott Raffles City Chengdu
#13 of 2,703 in Chengdu
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel

Property: Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel
Address: No.88 Xiaojiahe North Street, South Fourth Section of First Ring Road, Wuhou District, Chengdu 610041, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 2,703 Hotels in Chengdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minshan Lhasa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing