We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chinese Style Hotel with best coffee in town”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 179 Hotels in Datong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Garden hotel is a nice, clean hotel with reasonably sized rooms. The beds are on the hard side for European and American standard but the coffee in the morning is almost as good as in Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weasel_in_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Hello,
We are so glad to know you choose our hotel,and it’s our pleasure to giving the best service to you,our hotel breakfast is special in Datong.
Thank you very much again.
Hope you could come our hotel again.
Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

This hotel was one of the highlights on our recent trip to China. Our room was large and luxurious with amenities of a 5-star hotel. It offered separate bathtub and shower facilities with a glass window (with shades) between the bedroom and bathroom. The staff brought us welcome fruit, and nightly turndown service. Their laundry service was more affordable than most hotels and the results were very good. Many of the hotel staff members spoke excellent English. The public areas were beautiful and immaculate with a large, well-decorated atrium in the middle of the building. They had two restaurants, both of which were very good. The Chinese restaurant had a wide variety of food varying from exotic to local specialities. Breakfast was a buffet with both Oriental and Western selections. Finally, the guide who recommended this hotel is also excellent, with very good English skills. If you are looking for a private guide while in the Shanxi area of China, check out Jonathan Zhang's website at www.pingyaotravelguide.com.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016

Hello,
First,thank you so much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are very happy provide comfortable room for you and we are very glad that you like our hotel.
It's our pleasure to help you and it's our responsibilities too.
We hope you could recommend your friends and family to our hotel.
Thank you very much again.

Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

If you are a foreigner traveling to datong, I highly recommend the Garden Hotel. They have English speaking staff that can help you book your departure by train or bus, arrange for a car to visit the local sites, and recommend local restaurants. All of the positive reviews are right-on. It is expensive by local standards, but well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Hello,
First,thank you so much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are very happy provide comfortable room for you.
It's our pleasure to help you and it's our responsibilities too.
We hope you could recommend your friends and family to our hotel.
Thank you very much again.

Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Large and clean room. Excellent service, very willing to help. Good value for the reasonable price. AC a bit weak.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Hello, dear, thank you for you so high praise to our hotel, and it's our pleasure to serve you, we'll make some modifications base on your advice, we hope that you'll be satisfy when you come here next time, best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We have nothing but raves for this hotel. The service is marvelous from the moment you arrive. Cherry, the concierge, is there to assist with whatever one needs. The room that we had on the sixth floor, 615, was comfortable and immaculate. The bed was comfortable and they will provide several types of pillows. The room is provided with a large flat TV and there are numerous western stations. There aren't good restaurants nearby, but that is no problem as the hotel has two restaurants. We had two dinners and one lunch in the Chinese restaurant and were quite pleased. For $10 we stuffed ourselves and the food was delicious. The service was phenominal and the waitresses greeted us like old friends. There is also a Brazilian restaurant that has entertainment and charges about $35 for the buffet. Cherry, the concierge made taxi arrangments for us to the Yungang Caves ($16) and the airport ($8) which we felt was fair. The caves are worth the trip to Datong. As for the city, it is quite polluted, but not the hazy type we have experienced in other China cities. The city streets surely need repaving and it is obvious that Datong is spending their budget on the highway to the new airport. As for sites in the city, there is a wonderful temple three blocks south of the hotel. The Shanhua temple is well worth a visit as is the park in front of it. The park is active with card and mahjong players, music and skate boarders. The people are friendly and we took many photos of the activities. The Huayan temple was being renovated behind an 8 foot fence, which was disappointing. What could be seen above the fence looked spectacular. Don't bother with the poor excuse for the drum tower

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelNili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

ello! sir/madam, receiving your high praise from total aspects on our hotel, we all feel so happy, we will make more train to progress our ability of service and offer more delicious food to welcome you, maybe it'll be a surprise for you when you are here again, Best wishes for you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We loved this hotel. The rooms and the beds were excellent and everything was spotless. I wouldn't say the location is very good for seeing anything in Datong proper. We couldn't find a restauarant other than KFC nearby. However, we went to the Yungang Grottoes and the Hanging Monastery, so location didn't matter much. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was very expensive for a buffet. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdtravels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Hello,We are so glad to know you choose our hotel,and it’s our pleasure to giving the best service to you,our hotel breakfast is special in Datong.
Thank you very much again.
Hope you could come our hotel again.
Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed at the Garden Hotel in Datong for 3 nights while looking at the Yungang Caves, the Wooden Pagoda and the Hanging Temples.

We chose it based on the previous positive reviews and were not disappointed. Lovely room with comfortable bed and crisp white linen. Bathroom had shower and tub and all the amenities you could think of. Even a small box of washing detergent was provided in case you needed to wash out something. No great view and carpet and washing basin a bit stainy, but incrediably friendly stuff. Nothing, but nothing seemed to be too much for them! Every request was handled with a smile. English could have been better, but we always managed somehow to communicate. While we stayed there, there were only a handful of Western tourists and the rest were Chinese guests
.
Beware if you book your room via Expedia! Against their usual policy they had not debited the total amount upon confirmation of our reservation, although stated so in their e-mail confirmation. This led to some confusion at our check-in when we were asked to pay RMB 1000 deposit and the rest when we checked out. It took some online checking of our credit card account first to verify that indeed it had not been taken off and we had to settle the total amount directly with the hotel. Free internet in the room!

Breakfast was a large choice of Chinese and American/Continental food and the best coffee we had so far in China.

If you look for a clean and friendly hotel without the typical anonymous business hotel atmosphere, this is definitely a place to stay.

Reception organized a taxi driver for us to take us to the caves etc. The young man spoke a few words of English which was a great help. While driving to the Hanging Temples, I died a thousand deaths. The road is very busy with lots of coal trucks and cars drive very recklessly, overtaking in narrow bends and on straight lines. There are also no seat belts in the cars and we passed a long dark tunnel without any light, ventilation, emergency exits etc. Nothing for the security conscious European passenger!
Should you be on your way to the Hanging Temples, ask your driver to stop by the people who live in the caves on the left. There is an old man who gladly lets you visit his “home” and enjoys having his photo taken. RMB 10 as a thank you will help him to keep on surviving.

Should you be looking for a really good restaurant, we can recommend SAN LIU JIU CU LIANG (written in latin letters on the house wall), 369 Xin Sheng East Street. It is a brisk 25 – 30 minutes walk away from the hotel. This is if you are prepared to venture in without neither speaking nor understanding a word of Chinese! We were immediately surrounded by a bunch of friendly young waitresses, none of them speaking any English. To help complicate matters, the menu is entirely in Chinese without any photographs! They only way to determine what you want to eat is to walk around and look what other people are eating and then point to whatever your heart desires and to be prepared to be starred at. The food is absolutely delicious and small complimentary plates with specialities kept on coming….The hotel had recommended this restaurant. Don’t confuse it with the other one they like to recommend and which is just a short walk down the main road near the expensive department store. We ate there twice, the menus have photos and are in English, but the food was not nearly as good and we found the staff unhelpful and not very friendly.

We enjoyed our 2 days in Datong. Yes, it is very polluted and the air is not very good, but it is a lively town. Before we arrived we had been to Beijing for 5 days and were glad to get out of this faceless concret jungle and into a bit more original China!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirondelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2016

Hello,
First,thank you so much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are very happy provide comfortable room for you and we are very glad that you like our hotel.
It's our pleasure to help you and it's our responsibilities too.
We hope you could recommend your friends and family to our hotel.
Thank you very much again.

Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Datong hotels
0 mi away
Yungang Meigao Hotel
Yungang Meigao Hotel
#13 of 179 in Datong
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yunzhong Courtyard
Yunzhong Courtyard
#2 of 179 in Datong
17 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Datong Great Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Yungang International Hotel
0 mi away
Datong Hotel
Datong Hotel
#22 of 179 in Datong
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: No.59 Danan Street, Datong 037008, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 179 Hotels in Datong
Price Range: $46 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Datong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing