We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$35
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Datong Hotel(Datong)
$36
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
287
136
24
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
136
24
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restauranthanging monasteryexcellent hotelold cityyungang grottoesprivate taxiilly coffeei highly recommend this hotelcomfortable bedsbuffet breakfastpublic busno extra chargeroom was spotlessfoot massagebasic englishchina tripcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 452 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Room was quite, extremely clean and service excellent. Staff at the business center were very friendly and helpful - they arranged for me a car with driver in a matter of few minutes. Driver Fan is a lovely person. For those speaking Chinese, the overall experience is great. Guests who can't speak Chinese might find some difficulties but overall the hotel staff can manage well.
The property is located in the middle of the old city, which is right now in a messy status due to entensive building works.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanshan_shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Hello! sir/madam, it's a so beautiful thing to receive praise from you, making good service for you and making friends with you are our pleasure, and we'll learn more English to have a better conversation with you, about the old houses, which will be rebuilt from the government, we believe that it will be a different and good sight, so welcome you to come datong and enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Slightly to our surprise, this hotel was really good value. Big, clean, comfortable rooms. Good breakfast. Excellent service. They can help you sort out taxis/tours etc. Datong is in the process of being completely rebuilt so this hotel was a bit of an oasis. Got great rates on ctrip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Hello,
We are very happy that you choose our hotel.
It's our pleasure to service for you.
We hope you can come datong next time.
Best wishes to you.

Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

For westerners who choose to visit the Datong attractions this is the place to stay.New boutique hotel in Datong center across from many shops and restaurants.The rooms are full equipped and range from 25-30 metres.Bathrooms are modern with complimentary toiletries and walk in shower.The higher rooms are quieter ,yet the views are a bit gloomy.Beds are very hard and i would suggest bringing a camping matress for various chinese hotel beds.Booking thru ctrip.com at $65 for 2 with breakfast is your best deal.

THe day staff speak better english with a manager who speaks fluently.Night crew and dining staff do not speak english as well.Break fast and chinese restaurant are excellent.

The 9 dragon screen,walled city and Pagodas are a short walk from the hotel.Hanging monastery is a 90 minute drive and the Yungang grottoes are a 30 minute drive.The hotel offers a car hire for the day at the rate of 300 yuan.Cits has a group tour which does the Grottoes and temple for 360 yuan including transportation, guide and admission.

Hotel is a 50 yuan cab ride from airport and 20 yuan cab ride from train station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brownfootedboobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Hello! sir/madam, Thank you for you praise to us, and it's so nice for you to have a detail to let other guests know more about the tourist information, and when we know you have a enjoyable time here, we are also happy for you, then it’ll be a wonderful thing to see you again after the rebuilding of the datong city. Best wishes for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a hotel that gives value for money. Nice, clean, big rooms. Excellent service from the staf.
We ordered sightseeing at the hotel. It works perfect, just don't expect the same quality as e.g. in Beijing. We drove with an ordinary taxi all day - it was ok, the driver spoke english and knew a lot.
Datong itself is boring and dusty. They are starting building a new inner city and it will take a couple of years.
We recommend staying in Garden Hotel and would definetly stay there our self if we went back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Hello! Thank you for your appreciation, and we were so glad to meet you at DaTong, and as you said, our city will be more beautiful after the renovation and rebuilding. As the better environment and the process we are making, we invite you come here again .Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Datong isn't the prettiest of places (currently undergoing major reconstruction) so arriving at this beautiful hotel was a great surprise - standard room rates are £100 (1000 RMB) upwards but we got a room for £35 (348 RMB) on ctrip which was a bargain.

Arriving from an overnight train our room was ready at 7 a.m and after a broken few hours sleep on the train the feather duvet and pillows and spotless room were just perfect.

In addition the restaurant serves really good food which,if you choose the right things, is very reasonably priced - note some dishes are priced for three or more people and are reduced in price and size for fewer people.

Overall can't fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Hello! Thank you for your appreciation, and we were so glad to meet you at DaTong, and as you said, our city will be more beautiful after the renovation and rebuilding. As the better environment and the process we are making, we invite you come here again .Our hotel breakfast is special in Datong. We are so gald you like it.
Thank you very much again.
Hope you come datong next time.

Best regards
Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews