We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay there again for sure! It worths to book there for value!”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels in Datong
Certificate of Excellence
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I will stay there again for sure! It worths to book there for value!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

+: Price/value is excellent, situation is perfect to visit the city, nice staff
-: nothing really important! Maybe more fluent english would be better! And softer bed
=: Will stay there again for sure if I go again to Datong

fact to know: I stayed only 1 night in a room without external window for 280 CNY found on Ctrip (I wanted a cheap room as I stayed only 1 night, so it was my willingness to book a room without window). Finally, there was an internal window with a view on the restaurant and bar (where pianist was playing). As I was on 5 or 6th floor, it was even better view than expected when I booked it!

The hotel is well situated in the city centre, not far from the temples, future commercial area (under construction), and rebuild of "ancient city wall" almost finished. All are in walking distance of 10-15 minutes. There is also a nice pedestrian area not far where you can find shops and restaurants or just to relax after a long visit day trip.

There is a cash machine in the lobby accepting most international cards which is helpful in Datong as most bank do not accept international cards excepting credit card (Visa, mastercard). (to let you understand, I have a debit card with no commission for cash withdrawal compared to credit card which I also have but which take high commission for cash withdrawal)

and the only negative point is the bed which is like everywhere in China: a bit too hard! But all chinese hotel I stayed in are like this (excepting international brand like Novotel, Crown Plaza, etc...). So nothing to complain about!

Definitiely,it was a good stay and staff was helpful even if they are not very fluent (difficulties on basic tourisitc request), but they can help you for most of your questions.

Tip: Datong can be visited in 1 day and a half (surround and city). It is a nice and very dynamic city of China. When I went there, the city center (around the temples) where totally under construction for improving. Some area where already finished and it was fabulous! It should be a wonderful city when most of improvements (reparation of temples, construction of commercial area in centre, etc...) will be finished. AND this area is just behind of the hotel, so it will make it more worthy to stay in Garden Hotel.

Tip: buy some litchees (fruit) if it is the season somewhere in the city at a fruit shop. They are delicious!!!!

Finally, I really liked the "feelings" of Datong. A nice chinese city not too far from Beijing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehlstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Hello,
First,thank you so much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are very happy provide comfortable room for you.
It's our pleasure to help you and it's our responsibilities too.
We hope you could recommend your friends and family to our hotel.
Thank you very much again.

Best regards
Garden hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    128
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
147
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The reason I book the hotel was because of value for money and great reviews on couple of websites. The hotel might seem average but the room was really well furnished and cozy too. The hotel staffs help me to book a cab for a day as I've requested to go to places to take photos and the price for booking is fair enough. Breakfast was great for me as I'm a coffee lover and they do provide good coffee and meals too. If I'm heading Datong again, I'll be back to stay at this hotel again. =)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxnoel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Hello! Thank you for your appreciation, and we were so glad to meet you at DaTong, and as you said, our city will be more beautiful after the renovation and rebuilding. As the better environment and the process we are making, we invite you come here again .Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Despite some initial problems with the Hotel staff claiming our booking had not been paid for by our tour company, it was a very good hotel experience.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with a well set up bathroom (seperate Bath and Shower which was nice.
Breakfast even included coffee made by an eager if somewhat overwhelmed barista, who made a decent coffee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Hello,
Thank you very much giving us such a high evaluation for our hotel.
We are gald that you spent good time in the hotel.
It's our pleasure to service you .
Our hotel breakfast is special in Datong.
We are so gald you like it.
Thank you very much again.
Hope you come datong next time.

Best regards
Garden hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the positive reviews at trip advisor, we came with high expectations and were very pleasantly surprised with the standard and service. Though the building looked a bit old from the outside, it's a little oasis once you stepped in. The room is well furnished and cosy. The services provided by the team are very good. We booked our taxi for the grottos n the hanging temple trip through the business centre, good rates n reliable taxi. Dinner at hotel restaurant was delcious, and we went again on our second night. For small group, it's good value as they allow half portion orders. Breakfast buffet spread was really good, with illy coffee. Overall, a very pleasant stay, it's a gem in Datong.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SPAFAN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Hello,
Thank you very much making a comment on our hotel by your time.
We are so happy you like our hotel.
It's our pleasure to provide considerate service for you.
Thank you so much again.
Welcome you come our hotel next time.

Best regards
Garden hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We got this room at a big discount on ctrip so it was amazing value. Staff were excellent and spoke good enough English. We booked train tickets through the business centre and had no problem with that. Fresh fruit, chocolate and the paper every evening was a nice touch.

We ate at the onsite Chinese restaurant both nights which was good value if you didn't choose the extravagant dishes and well cooked. The decor is great as well. The breakfast buffet is incredible.

The location is okay, near a couple of interesting sites but the street is busy and full of cars so not really pleasant for wandering.

Our rooms windows looked out on the inner internal courtyard which I was worried would be noisy, but we had great sleeps in the room which were dark and quiet.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Hello! sir/madam, it's a so beautiful thing to receive praise from you, making good service for you and making friends with you are our pleasure, and we'll learn more English to have a better conversation with you, about the old houses, which will be rebuilt from the government, we believe that it will be a different and good sight, so welcome you to come datong and enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

A wonderful hotel, offering all expecteded amenities and comforts. Staff were exceedingly helpful and courteous. The Brazilian restaurant on the lower is highly recommended. The driver provided by the hotel took us to the Hanging Monastry and the Yungang Grottoes on respective days - great service at a very reasonable price.

We could ot fault the hotel or its service. We would absolutely recommend it as the place to stay.

Datong itself is a mixture of a demolition and a building site with the older hutongs being torn down and being replaced by fake old replicas. It is likely to be some years before the reconstruction work is completed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishinthegarden51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Hello! Thank you for your appreciation, and we were so glad to meet you at DaTong, and as you said, our city will be more beautiful after the renovation and rebuilding. As the better environment and the process we are making, we invite you come here again .Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were surprised by just how comfortable and well looked after we were at the Garden Hotel . We were picked up by the driver at nearly midnight from the airport and greeted by helpful and friendly staff .
As all the other reviewers have said - breakfast is a treat ,the hotel is in an excellent spot ,the staff were so lovely and helped us with all travel plans.
Their driver took us to the Hanging Monastery and the Yungang Grottoes- both places soo interesting and definitely worth the special trip to Datong to see them .
Thank you Garden Hotel !
Cheers,
Fran

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel163, 前厅部经理 at Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2016
Hello,
Thank you very much giving us such a high evaluation for our hotel.
We are gald that you spent good time in the hotel.
It's our pleasure to service you .
Our hotel breakfast is special in Datong.
We are so gald you like it.
Thank you very much again.
Hope you come datong next time.

Best regards
Garden hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Datong hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong
1.3 mi away
Datong Great Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yungang Meigao Hotel
Yungang Meigao Hotel
#5 of 164 in Datong
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yunzhong Courtyard
Yunzhong Courtyard
#2 of 164 in Datong
10 reviews
1.0 mi away
Datong Hotel
Datong Hotel
#24 of 164 in Datong
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Property: Garden Hotel
Address: No.59 Danan Street, Datong 037008, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels in Datong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Datong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing