We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At long last!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hengshan Hanging Temple (Xuankong si)

Hengshan Hanging Temple (Xuankong si)
Book In Advance
More Info
$195.00*
and up
Datong Full-Day Tour: Hengshan Hanging Temple and Ying Xian Wooden Pagoda
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Datong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The monastery was built on the cliffs of Mt. Hengshan, one of the five most sacred mountains in China. The caves and halls are connected by winding corridors and bridges.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At long last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I saw the hanging temple in a tv documentary sometime 30 years or so years ago. It was something that has mystified me since then. I cannot believe it when these same structures were right in front my eyes. Words are not enough to describe the grandiose beauty I saw. Simply out of this world. You have got to see it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    138
    34
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Abusive price, but nice the visit.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

What I consider it is not fair, 134 Y per ticket. That is abusive; they take advantage of the visitors.
It is about 1.30 hours driving from city centre.
Chinese sightseeing spots are very expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lolita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yungang Grottoes & Hanging Monastery Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

On my last trip to China both the Yungang Grottoes and the Hanging Monastery were on my "must visit" list so I did a stopover in Datong. From personal experience sometimes I find the best way to go around attractions in Asia is to book a taxi/driver for the day so you can stop worrying about transportation. This is what I did here. Early in the morning I set out to flag down taxis and started my negotiations. Wasn't long before I found a driver willing to take me to both Yungang Grottoes and Hanging Monastery (they're in opposite directions) as well as around Datong. We agreed on a price of 400 RMB which was reasonable given the distance the car has to cover (I had mapped it out the night before)

Hanging Monastery: I had heard about this monastery built literally on a rock cliff face side of the mountain for awhile now and had seen pictures. When you arrive at the parking lot across the stream/river you can see it majestically across. But it wasn't until you're actually up there do you begin to realize just how incredible it was to have built this.

Obviously the hallways are narrow as are the actual "rooms" where the different statues reside. At certain locations you can actually see the wooden beams go into recesses on the rockface and realize "holy crap, how are they staying put?!" In fact, you realize the entire structure is built simply on wooden structures, there's no metal or concrete floor beneath your feet and you feel queasy in your stomach.

Certainly if you're afraid of heights you shouldn't go up - but it certainly is a treat to look straight down from the narrow wooden rickety hallway to the valley below and see how high you are. The visit is designed to be one-way only so you can't turn around or even linger at a spot too long because there simply isn't room for safe 2-way traffic. Because of this, if you go when it's crowded it sucks a bit and you may need to do "the walk" a few times to get your photographs or take in the sights.

There's nothing around there except this so if you committ to this you might as well get your money's worth. I honestly don't know how safe the structure is and given the number of tourists that come through. However, if these wooden beams that go into the rockface to provide structural support for the entire monastery stood the test of time over 1500 years then it must be OK, right?

Visited Sep 2012

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jsgiguere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“In Datong? This is a must-see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

An amazing temple built into the side of a cliff! If you're scared of heights, this is not the tourist destination for you. It gets pretty high up, and while the view is spectacular, the fact that the railings are only knee-high can be a little disconcerting. Add to that bus-loads of tourists packed into a small space, and it may start to become quite uncomfortable.

Try to visit during off-peak periods to properly enjoy the hanging temple.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome architectural feat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you are in Datong, the hanging temple is well worth the visit. The history is amazing and it is an interesting architectural feat. You can hang your head over the edge a railing and peer straight down the cliff face.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mccloudnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hengshan Hanging Temple (Xuankong si) also viewed

 

Been to Hengshan Hanging Temple (Xuankong si)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing