We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing!”

Hengshan Hanging Temple (Xuankong si)
Book In Advance
More Info
$195.00*
and up
Datong Full-Day Tour: Hengshan Hanging Temple and Ying Xian Wooden Pagoda
Ranked #2 of 65 things to do in Datong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The monastery was built on the cliffs of Mt. Hengshan, one of the five most sacred mountains in China. The caves and halls are connected by winding corridors and bridges.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

its very amazing see that building hanging in giant rock for long time... but the building already very old and the structure not in best condition to alot of people go inside.. must very be carefull

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Indrawan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    139
    34
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were in awe to see this in real and it's amazing how the temple can defy gravity and withstand the years on the cliff. The view at the top of the temple is absolutely fantastic. It can get a bit tricky going up the temple during the peak period but it's definitely worth the effort. A definite must-go!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank syloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Closed for renovation (for one month?). Now not worth the ticket (30 RMB)”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The temple is amazing and the building breathtaking (ca.1h drive from Datong Airport, 60km). But due to recent heavy rains the access is limited to the first space just after the ticket office. No way to go to the temple or near to it. Yes, the ticket is now reduced (30 RMB currently vs. 124 RMB standard price for foreign visitors) but there are no signs outside for tourists that the access to the temple is closed (the bridge that allows you to follow the path to the temple can't be crossed now). And the pictures you can take now after the entrance are the same you could take from the bridge located just before the ticket office. So now I doubt it's worth to pay for the ticket.
Please try to be informed prior to your visit if the temple has been re-opened. Surely it will be worth the visit once it's completely open, but now Datong has many other attractions to offer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank mcboit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
339 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nervy but breathtaking”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hanging temple was about 2 hours by taxi from Datong, but hiring the taxi to do this was not expensive. When you see this structure pined to the cliff face, you think ,am i going to go up there! When you are up there the view is great across to the dam and of the valley. The temple is a sequence of narrow rooms and corridors, shrines and narrow stairways. Looking down at the wooden poles supporting it all, well. The structure is ornate and for us the reason to go to Datong. We Thought it was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MORREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hurry up if you want to climb it”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

When I first saw it after a long bus ride, I thought this must be one of the craziest architecture I had ever been to and it was also crazy that they let so many people jam pack in a not very big and fragile structure. It was like disaster in waiting. But despite all those thoughts, I didn't hesitate to take a once in a life time chance to climb it.
It was amazing. All the time and trouble spending on the trip to this temple was justified.
I was told that they might forbid the climbing in a few years. So you'd better do it soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arayaBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hengshan Hanging Temple (Xuankong si) also viewed

 

Been to Hengshan Hanging Temple (Xuankong si)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing