We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, impeccably clean, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Datong
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New, impeccably clean, friendly service”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Big rooms with opening windows; great linen and amenities; incredibly comfortable beds; a modern spacious bathroom, toilet, shower; flatscreen TV.
Excellent service and good breakfast buffet (chinese, japanese, western).

Quite good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    56
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
41
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for one night to see the Yungang Grottoes and it was our best hotel in China. Everything looks so clean and new to begin with. Our room was large, had a big TV with channels in English, fridge and the bathrooms were equally impressive with a huge mirror and bath. Wifi is throughout the hotel.

The restaurant was good. We did the buffet for 98Y and the food was great and there were a lot of choices. We also ate lunch there and it was good too. They have learned the "to go box" since one of the last reviews, because we had to catch the train and they packed it up nice.

The staff were so helpful. They helped book our train tickets in the business center and they delivered them to us the next day. When we needed to use a computer, the manager readily let us use a staff computer since there was no computer room.

Other things they have is a swimming pool, stream rooms, gym and tea lounge.

I would definitely stay at this hotel if I go to Datong again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariakorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Hotel is very nice and clean. This Holiday brand new (luxurious one). The rooms are very very, pretty with verynice bathrooms. Quiet and peaceful. The dinner buffet has very poor choices as well as the one for breakfast is not really worth it as well. The personnel is very nice. A would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We took a trip to Datong to see some of the sites in the surrounding area. The Holiday Inn was a great choice—brand new and the nicest Holiday Inn I had ever seen. It really had all the amenities of a far more expensive hotel—this ended up costing $50/night including all taxes and breakfast (booked on Ctrip).

Check-in was convenient and quick—we asked to book a taxi for the next day to go sightseeing, and the front desk arranged it in a matter of minutes. The room was great—tastefully furnished, spacious, nice toiletries, and a great bathroom, with both a giant tub and a huge shower. The shower had some of the best water pressure I have ever experienced. We weren’t particularly concerned about location, since we were driving out of the city to sightsee, but it seemed like a good area, and we were able to walk to a nice restaurant our second night for dinner.

The breakfast was okay, though some of the Western items tasted a bit off—but with the made-to-order egg stations and some hearty breads for toast, we were satisfied. However, our biggest complaint with the hotel was some service issues—they have a great facility but don’t seem to be clear on how to run it. When we ate dinner at the hotel, we kept being pushed into the buffet rather than ordering a la carte, and this urging went on for quite a while. We also ordered sandwiches to go as we were leaving to catch our train, and they took FOREVER—clearly, the whole concept of take-out food was bewildering to staff (especially since they ended up packing French fries in a plastic shopping bag and giving us one of the restaurant’s glass containers for ketchup!).

Overall, you can’t beat this hotel for updated features and comfort, especially for the price, but some of the service issues could be improved.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The rooms were nice, modern, and clean. The breakfast buffet was extensive, but had few typical Western breakfast items. The staff was very helpful, but you will need to find the few employees who speak English if you are a foreigner in need of some help. Overall, pretty good experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs_london2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

New hotel in a modern style , spacious andf very comfortable rooms, and the shower unlike the majority of the hotels in the world had a fantastic pressure .
Best value hotel in Datong.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulo_cruz_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We paid approximately 85 USD for a double room which was pure luxus! Very large room and bathroom with top modern furnitures. The room was also very bright as the window size was all the wall: early in the mornig, from there, you can look at the cinese people doing sport in the park just in front of the hotel. Location: was a little bit in the nowhere... by foot you can not walk around apart from the park in front of the hotel. City centre and turistic places need to be reached by taxi. Food was not that good for western style people: no international food, just chinese.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Datong hotels
0.9 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 162 in Datong
427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Jindi Plaza Datong
0.0 mi away
Yunzhong Courtyard
Yunzhong Courtyard
#2 of 162 in Datong
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Datong Great Palace Hotel
1.2 mi away
Yungang International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Tiangui International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Datong City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Datong City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Datong City Centre
Address: No.37 Yingbin Street, Cheng District, Datong 037008, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Datong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Datong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Datong City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Datong City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing