We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel opposite the beach.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophia International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sophia International Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,643 Hotels in Qingdao
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel opposite the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. The hotel has a good location. The food in hotel was very good, especially the lunch time buffet.

My room was on the 7th floor and was large and well kept. The only question I would have is the shower arrangement, this was over a freestanding bath with no curtain so water everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    88
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gandhidham, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

During my visit to Qingdao, China, we stayed in Sophia International Hotel. Centrally Located and good view of sea front. Very attentive and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor to get sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tharwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhongshan, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Hotel facilities are nice and very modern. I stayed in a single room which is pretty small. The breakfast buffet had Chinese, Korean and Western cuisine and overall satisfying. The hotel is close to the beach but about 30min far from the city centre of Qingdao.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank china_funshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

Good Hotel
Great View from Rooms
Good Breakfast
Friendly staff, but too poor in speaking Engllish

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Hotel Staff is not familiar with English, infact none of them
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANAMA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

It is true that the hotel is not close to city center but it is the nearest international hotel to Mount Lao Shan. This is a legendary mountain to well known ancient chinese poets. Since taxi fares are pretty cheap in Qingdao you can reach anywhere. The hotel buffet was above average, beer was available in an unlimited basis. The room was above average in terms of China standards, it only had a drawback that our room and the one besides was no completely sealed but had a space in between at the corner near the windows. The folks next to our room complained that we were talking aloud. The overall service was above average. No doubt that to get fun & food you had to go to city center but at walking distance there were restaurants, supermarket, and some commerce. Also we noticed city buses which ran in a straight line and we took them for a ride finding them both cheap (¥2) & interesting. Last but not least, taxi from hotel to airport is just 20 minutes by highway.

  • Liked — Quietness and value for your money.
  • Disliked — Gap in between rooms/window affects privacy.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LARGAVISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2006

Hotel is brand new,less than a year old and seems to be geared towards Koreans as most of the signages are in Chinese and Korean. (Given its proximity to Korea, Qingdao has a huge Korean community.) Rooms are of good size and the bed were firm and sheets were clean. Room comes with free internet which is a big help. Downside is the bathroom (no bathtub) was rather small and space was tight. What I found rather amusing was the special "mini bar" items inside the bathroom.

This is one of those hotels that do not open their centralized airconditioning during April as such you have to open a window. Unfortunately my room was facing the main highway and you hear all the noise from the vehicles passing.

I only stayed a night but overall for the price I paid which included breakfast it's a pretty good deal and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
#7 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Qingdao
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Qingdao
Crowne Plaza Qingdao
#15 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
#17 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.5 mi away
Litian Hotel
Litian Hotel
#80 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia International Hotel

Property: Sophia International Hotel
Address: No.217 East Hong Kong Road, Qingdao 266071, China
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,643 Hotels in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sophia International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Sophia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing