We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing complex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Ranked #2 of 1,654 Hotels in Qingdao
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
311 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Amazing complex”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Amazing hotel complex with restaurants of different kinds (Italian, Chinese, Barbecue). Staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast buffet. Excellent choice for any pleasure or business trips in Qingdao.
As usual in China, there is a lot of construction going around. There is a large building in construction and Chinese workers start early / end late. Not much noise in the rooms but the traffic is a bit confuse in entrance and exit of building.

Room Tip: Please check with staff to avoid rooms facing the construction site neighbour to the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuscanyZANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    668
    104
    18
    6
See reviews for
129
76
42
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I visited this hotel for just a night but found the room to be clean and comfortable. The breakfast is wholesome, staff very efficient and courteous (I was greeted with flowers upon arrival!). The L'Occitane ladies' specific toilette was a pleasant surprise as was the other essentials a lady might require. Next time I hope to spend more time at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have now visited this hotel property for the past 2 years, approximately 9 times. It seems that everytime I revisit, the hotel staff continues to offer a consistent service and hospitality. The key is that I know what to expect when I am there. The amenities that the hotel offers fills my every need from excellent and diverse food to excellent exercise facilities, including a beautiful pool. Everything is available at the hotel, including a very professional staff in their Business Center to meet my every business needs, including fully furnished business amenities in their meeting rooms. All the rooms are spacious and are designed in a manner that does not make you feel cramped. Because of the shortness of my trips, I feel that I must get things done in a timely manner. The hotel offers me the luxury of doing this with the services on the hotel property.

I would highly recommend this hotel for your next visit to Qingdao.

Room Tip: All the guest rooms are spacious and the "City wing" offers a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tirebuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hv been one last night after a long trip in China before taking the flight out to Kix. Lobby is impressive and check in (at a couple of different locations) was quick and friendly.
Rooms are gorgeous (not sure of room type, please check on the website when booking) as somebody else arranged. Wide, view on the skyline from a high floor, large bathrooms and nice toiletries, good internet connection. Club rooms guest can have breakfast at to floor lounge and free drinks in the evening (nice for chatting quietly with friends).
The hotel has not a minus we often find in China: super concept and bad making when coming to details. Bathroom as a double door opening on the room (usefull when you travel with a nice girlfriend...) but when closed is assuring a quite good privacy.
Breakfast buffet in the morning was just too wide ... I believe suitable for any taste.
Qindao is a nice city in China (relatively...) and the hotel was a nice surprise. Cant remember the price but probably around 200 usd that was quite worth for the overall quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel lives up to the brand’s legendary reputation in Asia for flawless intuitive service. The level of training is difficult to describe without experiencing it first hand. A traveler need not want or ask for anything as the staff seem to “just know” what I needed. By simply making eye contact you are met by a warm smile from everyone.
Café Yum is the all day dining restaurant and serves a huge buffet for 3 meals daily there was an a la carte option but it looked somewhat awkward and did not entice me to stray from the well stocked buffet.
The hotel has 2 separate towers. The city wing is the original hotel with the newer valley wing being added recently. I stayed in the city wing on a previous trip and while it is clean and the bed was extremely comfortable and it has all the Shangri-la amenities, it just feels slightly out of date. A special promotion at check-in for an additional RMB 400 to upgrade my room to the new Valley Wing was well worth it! Sleek modern and comfortable rooms are accompanied by exclusive front desk and private lounge staff that anticipate your needs. Snacks, happy hour beverages and breakfast were also all included in the lounge with this package. There were beautifully appointed meeting rooms in the lounge as well that I plan to take advantage of on a future trip.
The lobby lounge had a pianist and an attractive female solo vocalist that played in the evening. I took advantage of a Chilean wine promotion which cost RMB 198 for free pour and my glass was constantly topped up.
A business dinner in their Chinese restaurant Shang Palace was probably the highlight food experience. The level of English spoken by the attentive servers was excellent and the signature dishes that were recommended to us were delicious. I strongly recommend the sparerib that is carved and de-boned tableside.
There are TA reviews indicating construction noise affecting their stay. While there is construction outside the hotel, as is all over Qingdao, I did not notice any sound in the evening at all in the evening. I look forward to my return visit.

Room Tip: Valley Wing rooms are well worth the additional cost. Higher floors with room numbers greater then 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maverick2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Valley wing with its 20th floor lounge was fantastic. Not the usual tables and chairs, but truly a lounge experience with well trained and attentive staff, private seating areas for business, and wonderful views of the city. Breakfast was wonderful. I had a corner suite with large living room for private meetings, lovely fruit and water set up. Spilled something on my shirt and laundry service stepped up to have it cleaned before I checked out for a morning flight. Wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Shangri-la Valley Wing is of very high quality with an added bonus of access to the Executive Lounge and Health Club. The ladies in the Valley Wing Executive Lounge are very friendly and proffessional.

Room Tip: Choose the Valley Wing for extra special service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Qingdao
8.7 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westin Qingdao
The Westin Qingdao
#11 of 1,654 in Qingdao
143 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
#6 of 1,654 in Qingdao
256 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hilton Qingdao Golden Beach
Hilton Qingdao Golden Beach
#7 of 1,654 in Qingdao
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Address: No.9 Xianggang Middle Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Qingdao
#2 Spa Hotel in Qingdao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Qingdao
#18 Best Value Hotel in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Qingdao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing