We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, too expensive services, but no brothel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Qingdao
Ranked #18 of 1,654 Hotels in Qingdao
Hildesheim, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, too expensive services, but no brothel!”
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Don't know, what the lady from New York experienced here, but she sounds somewhat paranoic. I wasn't in the bar (BTW not operated by Crown Plaza, Nevertheless, I was in the lounge, and also there, the very nice servers where wearing nice kimonos and only wanted to serve a drink and nothing else), but I took the massage service.
Yes, I had some problems with my back from carrying around my computer. Nothing sexual, only medical massage. I ordered the simple massage for 260 RMB / 45 min. The lady always tried to sell me additional Oil-Massage for 360 RMB / 45 min. Hey, you can't use litres of oil worth 100 RMB... The masseuse asked me if I want then 60 min or 90 min, but here massage was so bad and painful, I prefered to stop the torture after 30 min. Not recommendable at all and much too expensive.

For the rest, the hotel is really nice, service is ok, breakfast in the executive lounge very good. Only problem (as every where in China), english knowledge even from hotel staff only basic and sometomes difficult to make you understand or understand what they want from you.

If you are tourist and like souvenirs like shells or so, don't buy at the beach, nice shells start at 100 RMB. Close to the main railway-Station there is a building with a KFC in the groud floor. This is the department store were the average local shops. Go to the top floor, there they have a small corner with some souvenirs, but at local prices. Same nice shell at 15RBM instead of 120RMB.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RalfD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    332
    104
    22
    6
See reviews for
34
27
24
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Am I the only one offended by the on-site brothel??? I know this is China, but come on…this is a Crowne Plaza! One night after dinner, my female coworker & I thought we’d have a nightcap….so we went to the Misty Flower within the Crowne Plaza. Bad idea! This is a brothel, not a regular bar! When we walked in, we were greeted by very “friendly” women & escorted to the “bar”. It was a bar full of women, wearing evening gowns with very high slits that swivel in their bar stools & pose on command. Egh! We literally ran out & recessed to our rooms. Back in my room, I was further shocked to learn that their turn down service also included a list of available, late-night, in-room “massages”. It made me feel dirty just having that card sitting on my bed. Another co-worker (male) had an experience with a persistent “masseuse” who knocked on his door in the middle of the night & tried to get in. Anyway…

Other than the above issue, this hotel is very pleasant. The rooms are spacious, clean & homey. The restaurants are actually good. The gym & pool are ok, though a bit dark. The location is also convenient. The staff is competent.

There are some questionable, designer shops in the lobby, including Prada. I have no idea if anyone shops here & imagine that these labels are here only by way of some shady biz dev deal.

So…yes, I’ll stay here again (& continue to send complaints over to Crown Plaza about the naughty & offensive businesses). I would give them 4 or 5 stars if not for such on-site businesses.

  • Liked — Rooms, resturants
  • Disliked — Offensive, on-site businesses
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roberta_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

This place is excellent - great service, good location, fantastic food and (if you upgrade from a "standard room") a nice selection of premium rooms.

The breakfast selection is superb, the Italian restaurant maybe the best we have had in China and the Asian restaurant at night has an amazing choice of Brazilian BBQ, Chinese and Thai mixture - all faultless.

We had booked a Deluxe King size room but that was unavailable and we were upgraded to a Junior Clun Suite - very nice. We managed a peek into a Standard room and it was rather small and dark.

A small word of warning - there is some construction work on the seaview side (no big issue of noise really) and there is a surcharge to use the swimming pool!!!

This is a great place - recommended.

  • Liked — the restaurants
  • Disliked — charge for swimming pool
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you get an upgrade from standard room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank noonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2006

(Sorry about my english) CP in a perfect location even if Qingdao has three city centers. Very good view. At the moment a lot of construction as the city will have the sailing olympics in 2008 (the olympics can destroy every city). Service at the CP is very good. Nice indoor pool (sometimes filled with children) but usually you are alone. Breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever seen. Included in Club Price. Club suite is very big and with a perfect view from the 28th floor. Bus just in front of hotel and easy to use (2 yuan in the city). Beaches 15 min bus ride, but dont expect anything spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2006

i LOVED this hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the staff courteous and professional. The breakfast buffet was amazing and all for about $130/night. Its surrounded by great shopping, and an awesome seafood restaurant just down the block. I would not stay anywhere else while in Qingdao.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HotelLover731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Had a couple of nights in one of the Executive Suites.
Got a deal at just over 100USD /night.

Service was excellent, room was sensational dining was a pleasure.
Rooms are massive, bathroom was bigger than many standard hotel rooms.

I will definitely go here again.
probably the best hotel I've stayed at.

Cheers

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2005

We had the pleasure of 9 nights at the Crowne Plaza in Qingdao. We chose this hotel based on a tripadvisor review. We stayed on the Club Floor which included a daily breakfast (EXCELLENT!) and laundry service. Our room was LARGE with a separate living room and bedroom.
The hotel is contemporary in design and SPOTLESSLY clean. The staff are polite and professional. The location is close to the large modern shopping centers.
The hotel restaurants were over priced with mediocre quality....But, the breakfast was excellent. There is a terrific Chinese restaurant across from the hotel called Victoria...we ate there several times.
Qingdao is a lovely city with friendly people and home of the 2008 Olympic sailing competitions. The taxi drivers are certifably INSANE! The city has polluted air. Go east, outside of town to explore beautiful seaside villages and pretty beaches.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
#2 of 1,654 in Qingdao
1,766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
#19 of 1,654 in Qingdao
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Qingdao
1.2 mi away
The Westin Qingdao
The Westin Qingdao
#10 of 1,654 in Qingdao
140 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Qingdao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Qingdao

Property: Crowne Plaza Qingdao
Address: No.76 Hongkong Middle Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Qingdao
#18 Luxury Hotel in Qingdao
#19 Best Value Hotel in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Qingdao 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Qingdao is located in the commercial and shopping center of Qingdao, overlooking the sail regatta venue of the 2008 Olympic Game. It is 40 minutes drive from Qingdao International Airport, 15 minutes drive from the Railway Station, and only 5 minutes walking from the beach. Our hotel has 3 restaurants and bars ,388 guestrooms and suites with specially designed accommodation for travelers with disabilities. There are also 16 serviced apartments with one or two bedrooms available to rent, equipped with full kitchen facilities and a spacious dining and living area. Well-known Murano's Italian Restaurant on 2nd floor.The SinnTakewaka Janpanese Restaurant on 4th floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Qingdao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Qingdao Hotel Qingdao
Qingdao Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing