We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful place”

Beijiushui River Laoshan
Ranked #16 of 291 things to do in Qingdao
Attraction details
Qingdao
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

montain and water stones and trees, good place for relax

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annabel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    65
    20
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs that grant you terrific views and nice mountain landscapes”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The park is a very nice experience. As a Europen you might wonder about al the stairs that cover the walking path, but that is just normal in China. No famous mountain to climb without stairs laid out for you.
The river in the canyon is available to enter on foot, what is a very fine refreshment in summer. Terrific mountain views incl. waterfall panorama will pay you back for all the climbing that you have done.
Nice tip: Water and cold refreshments are available for small money on the whole path. So no need to carry them :)
It is especially nice to sit down in one of the ugly looking places and have a cup of laushan mountain tea.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kurtenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Imaginery gods of Mount Laoshan”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our tour guide Lee Chin was relating wonderful reviews of Mount Laoshan, the old temple, the old cypress trees and the scenic sights. As we arrived at the ticket counter our eyes wondered afar and see nothing fantastic. But as soon as the environment friendly bus took us along the route up to Mount Laoshan, we can understand why it is so famous for its scenic sights.

I read somewhere that there are three tourist routes for Mount Laoshan. I don't know which one this is but we soon arrive at the age-old temples. We were met by a temple guide. He explained with all enthusiasm the way how we should clasp our hands to pray to the gods of heaven, male with the right hand and females with the left covering the right.

Soon we were led to the ancient cypress tree and the evergreen one just outside the entrance to one to the temples.

As if by prior arrangement, we were led to a hall, full of people and servers giving us sachets of amulet. We were asked what our zodiac signs are and told to pray to one of the gods protecting us in this year of the dragon. Then we were asked to pay for six of the sachets, one for CNY 30. When asked, we wanted to have only one, but relented upon the persuasion of the server - CNY 180. We don't know what we will do with these sachets!

Next we were told to enter another hall where we could light a merit lamp for the gods. A total of six were displayed for us to accept - CNY 100 each, that is a total of CNY 600!
As we usually light a merit lamp, we asked for one and after a few minutes of bargaining, we bought one. It was lighted and left on an earthern pot with unlighted merit lamps floating on waters.

We were forewarned but the warning was very subtle. We were told that when Emperor Qin Shi Huang was alive and seeking the pills of longevity, he visited Qingdao many times. Each time he came, he lived here and so we could see that there were many temples and also folklores surrounding this island, eg, the eight immortals crossing the water! The Emperor was misled to believe that there was pill of longeviity! So it is not surprising that we were also `fleeced'!

For those who were more alert, they rejected the sale of the sachets and the merit lamps!

I asked the guide what tourist route was this, but it appears that this is the only one as the others were closed.

It was winter time and almost all the trees looked barren and dry. But the calmness, minus the two prayer halls I mentioned was there. And the mountainous landscape bordered by the sea was a wonderful scene for photos! As we reached the viewing point of one of the temple, we looked out to see the misty island, said to be a living paradise as the people are rich and happy.......

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Edyharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdaosh�
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waterfalls, majestic mountain and stairs”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This park is especially beautiful after a rain. As you wind your way to the mountain entrance you pass a small Chinese village with restaurants and motels. The mountain has stairs all the way up and there are stalls peddling laoshan green tea, and other snacks. Make sure to get pricing on the tea before you sit down and enjoy, yes sometimes they like to stick it to the visitors. As far as natural beauty this is as good as it gets in Qingdao.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank laohulili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go to Laoshan”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The drive up the coast is well worth it for the scenery alone. The Taoist temples and gardens are a great place for walking and contemplation with a great sense of history

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Pounamu-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beijiushui River Laoshan also viewed

 

Been to Beijiushui River Laoshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing