We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique stay in China, friendly service and envirnoment make the trip unusual”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #29 of 1,688 Hotels in Qingdao
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was the low season when we travelled to Qingdao. We chose to stay at this hotel with the information provided by previous lodgers at this website. With their advice, we could find such an unique hotel and had so special travel experience, especially in China. We should say "thank you" to them. It was actually the former Guest House, office and residence of former German Governor of Qingdao. It is a famous museum and tourist spot nowadays. As described by one of the travellers in this website, it is a "gem" in Qingdao.

The staff in this hotel are very friendly, polite and helpful. Though we are the only customers in the first three days of our stay, they served us no worse than anywhere we experienced in other five star hotels. The food provided by her Chinese restaurant where we had breakfast every morning were very delicious. Though not buffet type to be served, we were given more than enough choice and quantities we needed. No wonder we could kept finding customers driving to their restaurant every day and night, just for their lunch and dinner. Yet their prices are no cheaper when compared to those restaurants at the famous tourist spots, Yuenxiaolu. Lucky that our room rates included our daily breakfast.

This is a small boutique hotel which will not be suitable for travellers who are searching convenient five-star commercial hotel in the city centre. But we can reach anywhere by taking cabs which usually costed around RMB 9.00-18.00 and RMB135.00 to and from airport.

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. However, we should warn travellers not to book "private tour" from the front desk of the hotel. We had really bad experience with the tour guide and driver during our first day travel. We paid our private car and guide who were unwilling to take us anywhere, but just the three places they decided for us. After nearly argued with them, they relunctantly took us to 2 more places and left us at 3:00pm which supposed to be a full day trip (9:00am - 6:00pm). I believe that the hotel should change their travel partner, otherwise it will only spoil their reputation.

Here is an another tip for travellers in this season. Travellers will need to prepare a "not very warm welcome" by the local people in the winter seasons. Everyone we met told us that the weather is cold and December is usually the low seasons for tourism. It is partly true but I believe that the attitude of local are the main reason for low season. We had been in LA and Las Vegas in the same X'mas season and weather. But we had had a really gorgeous and great trips. What a waste for this beautiful city of Qingdao!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llleung1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for The Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

I go to Qingdao for business trip about 3-4 times per year, and stayed already in all upper class hotels in town. In April 2010 I chose the Castle Hotel the first time and I have to say this place is awesome. The hotel is located in the old town (in my point of view the best and most interesting part of Qingdao) on top of a hill right next to the German Governors House. It's really beautiful up there, as you have a perfect view over Qingdao, and the entire area is surrounded by treas and parks. It's really a perfect place to get a little bit away from all the stressful car traffic. Even though it's no problem to go downtown by taxi within 10 minutes (taxi costs about 10 RMB).
The service of the hotel is great, the staff members are very friendly. The rooms are in a perfect condition and it's absolutely clean. Therefore I highly recommend this hotel. I will definetly go there again.

and compared to all the other hotels the best one.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivian201025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This hotel is a true gem, everything a boutique five-star hotel should be -- the location is superb, in an old German colonial mansion, and surrounding gardens, on a hill overlooking this lovely city. The rooms are spacious, beautifully-decorated, and as in any great small hotel, you feel like a very privileged guest. The staff are great, and they are very attentive. Most great hotels in China are ultra-modern urban high-rises. I stay in these often. But The Castle is a very special place in China and a very special experience for any traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfuhrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 推薦特色房間,享受寧靜
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee_jljljl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with 招商银行出行易旅行者
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: ベランダ付きの部屋をお勧めします。
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank YiboZhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
0.7 mi away
Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel
Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel
#33 of 1,688 in Qingdao
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Huiquan Dynasty Hotel
Huiquan Dynasty Hotel
#28 of 1,688 in Qingdao
240 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seaview Garden Hotel
Seaview Garden Hotel
#17 of 1,688 in Qingdao
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Qingdao
Crowne Plaza Qingdao
#18 of 1,688 in Qingdao
660 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Westin Qingdao
The Westin Qingdao
#6 of 1,688 in Qingdao
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: No.26 Longshan Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266003, China
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,688 Hotels in Qingdao
Price Range: $58 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing