We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Qingdao
Ranked #3 of 1,659 Hotels in Qingdao
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I've had the pleasure of staying here twice now and look forward to future visits. The service is good, staff is bi-lingual and the water view rooms are stunning. The club lounge is well worth the upgrade - highly recommended. The is a well-run, modern hotel that understands the needs of international travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakland_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    312
    56
    8
    7
See reviews for
78
80
65
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed there for two nights in December 2011 on business. As other reviewers have remarked, the check in process was a little slow. Once provided with the key, the hotel staff were very accommodating. The room was very beautifully appointed and spacious; however, it would have been nicer to have a coffee maker in the room instead of the instant coffee and the kettle provided. For a hotel of this standard, I would have expected a coffee maker with real coffee or coffee bags rather than the powdered instant coffee provided.

I needed to confer with staff about location of a meeting room, and although I found the information I was looking for by a courteous staff member, it was a little difficult finding an English speaking staff member. Also, the internet in the room is not free and is expensive.

I used the business centre and the staff was very helpful.

The food in the restaurant was very good and I was very pleased that the staff were accommodating with my food allergies to nuts and sesame seeds. In fact, they went out of their way to show me the foods that I was able to eat, which definitely made for a stress-free, enjoyable dining experience.

A good hotel overall but with some areas for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modesttraveller30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed there 2 nights. Thought -when seen on the map- it must be quite far away from the center but it is actually nicely located. Lots of Malls, Bars, etc in the area.

Stayed on 19th floor with Club Access. Absolutely worth the extra money. Great Room, great Service, great Club-Lounge. Restaurant and food in general was not outstanding but doesn´t have to.

When coming back to Qingdao, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for the Club Floor but say you want to stay in the A Tower. There you have "t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_Schmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Overall, IC Qingdao was quite a nice hotel, with superb hotel rooms, with a great view. The location was great, only a few minutes away from the mall, and it was also quite close to many attractions. The concierge was really friendly and helpful, but the other staff weren't so helpful, Check-in was quite slow, and the breakfast buffet wasn't that great, the food choice was quite limited for a 5 star hotel. Also, the hotel had no free wifi which was quite disappointing, but overall the stay was alright but I discovered a croachroach in the closet bit behind the hotels were you stored your clothes and suitcase which was rather disgusting and disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The IC Qingdao is a great hotel, the hotel is located in the Olympic Sailing Centre, so taxis should not have any problems finding the location. Taxis from airport should be between 100-120 RMB depending on whether you get the standard or luxury type.

The check-in was a bit slow with tour groups in front of us, I think the hotel can better manage this in the future.

On check in, we were offered an upgrade to the harbour view room, with Club Access, breakfast and internet for 400 RMB + service charge per night. Given that the breakfast is about 150 RMB + service charge per person, for a couple like us, this was a very reasonable deal.

The room is as shown on the hotel website and everything is in good order. I must mention that there is plenty of storage space with large cupboards everywhere. The bed is very soft and the sheets are very high quality, they have a pillow menu if the normal ones do not suit your taste.

We had a harbour view room on the 7th floor in Tower C. Tower C and D only goes up to 8th floor, while Tower A and B goes up to level 20. We were satisfied with the view, but did wish that we got a higher floor room in Tower A.

The club lounge is on the 21st floor in Tower A, you need to change lifts at level 20, but if you take the most right lift, you goes directly up to level 21. Also, if you stay in Tower C on the 7th floor, there is a sky bridge connect Tower A and Tower C, so you can cross the sky bridge to get to Tower A without going down to 1st floor first.

The club lounge offers breakfast from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM, afternoon team with cakes and cookies from 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM then cocktails from 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM. There was plenty of food during cocktails hour that if you want you could have your dinner there. Also, there were plenty of choices in alcohol from red and white wine, usual selection of hard liquor and also a choice of 10 cocktails you can get made to order. For a relaxing holiday that you know you will spend a lot of time in the hotel, I really do recommend getting club lounge access.

The service is the club lounge good. They will try to accommodate any requests you have, there is one male customer service attendant working the cocktails/evening shift, between 4/11-7/11 that goes the extra mile. He is very friendly and makes a note of the guests preferences after just one visit. I wish all the waiters/waitresses has his enthusiasm and pro-activeness.

One disappointment with the hotel is the food. Whilst breakfast had lots of selection in the 3rd floor Flavours cafe, club lounge has limited selection at breakfast, the quality of the food is just okay, but I expected this. The room service is especially disappointing and really lacks flavour and freshness. Also, some dishes had some ingredients missing or deviated from the menu. It is clear that IC Qingdao and other ICs do not place food & beverage as a top priority in contrast to say Shangri-La where the restaurants are so good that I often go to Shangri-La hotels just for the food.

I recommend you avoid any restaurants and room service if you can. The immediate area has plenty of food options. There is the Darling Harbour and Marina City all within walking distance that has plenty of food options. For late night dinning option, there is a Hot Pot restaurant, Hai Di Lao, in Darling Harbour that is open 24 hours. Do not worry about walking around the Olympic Sailing Centre late at night, it is very safe and well lit.

Overall I was happy with my choice, but wish they improve the food. Next time I will try the Shangri-La and/or Sea View Garden Hotel to compare the differences.

Room Tip: If you want a harbour view room, the best rooms are in Tower A, harbour side, if that's not avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICQD, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Qingdao, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Calfie,

Thank you very much for staying at InterContinental Qingdao.

I was pleased to read about your positive and detailed feedback about your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for praising the service level in our Club Lounge. I have shared your encouraging feedback with the Club Lounge team. Referring to your comment on the quality of room service I'm delighted to inform you that we have launched an entirely new room service menu on November 15th and the feedback from our guests is extremely positive. I would appreciate to hear your opinion about it during your next stay with us.
I look forward to meeting you personally during your next visit at InterContinental Qingdao.

Best regards,
Alexander O. Wassermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexminute
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel almost every month only because of its location. I never liked their food services, but now found out much worse. I discovered a piece of steel wire in my breakfast porridge, it's about 3cm long and hard enough to punch stomach or intestines. I did not make a scene, just quietly called the manager over and point out to him. He apologized profusely before walking away. Nothing happened - you would think he would at least remove that bowl from my table not expecting I would continue with it, and then remove the whole pot from serving area to make sure no guests would inadvertently swallow another piece. Nope. Safety did not appear to occur to his mind. Did I get any fruit basket or anything delivered to my room? No, neither did I want. I wrote to the Qingdao Inter-Continental email address listed on their global web site, and got nothing back. I did hear from them only after I filled out a survey some months later. The other five-star hotel in Qingdao is Shangri-la. Compare the two, Inter-Continental has better location right at the marina, but after three years of operation, it still cannot match Shangari-la in services and foods, and I suspect it will never.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Good hotel with nice staff and wonderful location, will stay here again next month!!!Also they have the complimentary shuttle bus to airport, and the sound system is Bose, great club lounge with full ocean view and cocktail were very attractive, it is worth for the money!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justingao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICQD, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Qingdao, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Justin,

thank you very much for staying at InterContinental Qingdao.
I'm delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back this month.

Best regards,
Alexander O. Wassermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
#2 of 1,659 in Qingdao
1,783 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
11.3 mi away
Hilton Qingdao Golden Beach
Hilton Qingdao Golden Beach
#9 of 1,659 in Qingdao
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
#7 of 1,659 in Qingdao
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Qingdao
The Westin Qingdao
#12 of 1,659 in Qingdao
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Qingdao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Qingdao

Property: InterContinental Hotel Qingdao
Address: No.98 Aomen Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266071, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,659 Hotels in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Qingdao 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning InterContinental Qingdao is ideally located at the waterfront within the Olympic Sailing Centre, the landmark of the city. Surrounded by various dining, shopping and entertainment venues, this luxurious hotel also provides the most convenient access to popular yachting and sailing activities that Qingdao is famous for. With the dramatic views of city's skyline from the perfect location at the CBD, the hotel is designed to suit the needs of any business and leisure traveler with its 410 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, 9 stylish restaurants and bars, and over 2000 m2 of meeting space. With a variety of outdoor venues, InterContinental Qingdao sets a resort-like backdrop for social gatherings. Luxury facilities and with the in-the-know charming service staff delivers a memorable experience that is recognized as the best in Qingdao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Qingdao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing