We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor facility, but really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel
Ranked #2 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Qingdao
Reviewed January 3, 2011

All the staff are so nice & kind.
But the central heating is suspended for they are under re-decoration. It snowed outside, the air-conditioner was old, so the room was quite cold.
Have to get some water downstairs, and cannot take a shower for there's no hot water.
No cafe, no place to sit or enjoy a relaxed afternoon. (comparing to kaiyue, it's horribly small). And twice blackout.
The room is the smallest room among all the hostel i've been to.
The view from the peak was amazing, and the transpotation was convenient.
The dog is so cute.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

I have stayed in this hostel for a couple of weeks now and have been very happy and comfortable here. I have been staying in a 4-bed dorm which is clean (although not spotless - there's lots of dust under the beds) but it has secure locked cupboards for valuables. There is air con in the room I'm in (and I presume all). I have seen the twin / double rooms and these look rather nice.

The highlight for me is the rooftop cafe/bar area. It has an indoor and outdoor area with great views over the city and the sea plus a pool table and wifi. The building is an historic observatory with much character. They also serve a basic (and slightly overpriced) menu of Chinese and western food. The staff are friendly and the owner (when around) is very friendly too. He took a couple of us to see a nearby park just because he wanted to show us it.

I have checked out all the other hostels in town (walked around their communal areas and checked out a bedroom and shower in each). Without question I prefer this one. The only real other contender is the Kaiyue (aka Old Church), but it's does not have the views and it feels much 'younger' and western in terms of the crowd. If you have to stay in the CBD / Hong Kong Park area, try the Big Brother hostel (there are two - one in this area 31 Jiangxi Lu) although it doesn't compare for atmosphere.

Back at the Old Observatory, the showers are the only minor disappointment in that only one or two out of four have good pressure... but once you know which ones, its no problem (choose the second door!!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notherenorthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed there in mid May and it was still chilly so make sure to bring jeans and a jumper for the evening.
The Hostel was really nice. We stayed in our own en suite double room. The room was clean and the sheets looked clean too and so did the bathroom.
The staff is very friendly and will try as much as possible toy help you if you have any problems.
The rooftop bar is great and the views are amazing. The bar has nice sofas and the usual basic cocktails and of course Tsingtao beer.
The only problem is that the hostel is on top of a hill. That shoudn't put anyone off because it's really central and all within easy reach although getting a taxi home is more comfortable.
At night walking down the hill is a bit creepy so I would suggest to bring a torch and although it's safe I would recommend to walk with someone.
They also serve some food. Nice breakfast and dinner although I won't brag about dinner too much but absolutely great if you just want a basic pizza after a long day out....

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevs_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Stayed here with my mum in March, it's a nice little hostel that seems unused to western tourists but willing to have a go! the staff are friendly and helpful (they rang around all day to get the best deals for us on flights to Shanghai).

spotlessly clean, and in an amazing renovated old observatory (as the name suggests!) at the top of a hill - the rooftop restaurant (try the chinese breakfast - it's delicious) has an incredible view of the city which is particularly atmostpheric at night. Early in the morning you can see huge crowds of locals practising tai chi on the forecourt outside the hotel, overlooking the great view across the town (all are welcome to join in!).

The walk into town is a good 15 mins or so, but it's nice to be somewhere away from the main busy area, and the lovely park and residential area around the hostel has a quiet charm of its own.

rooms are clean, big, and - amazingly - have international news stations on the in-room TVs! a real treat for news-hungry travellers sick of state-run news bulletins... i don't know how they get away with it in China. the ensuite bathrooms are also nice and clean (with hot water).

there's also a little mini stall selling instant noodle snacks, toiletries, drinks etc - the only 'in-hostel' travellers shop i saw in china, and a really handy resource.

definitely a good choice, and a cheap one too!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
1  Thank LosingMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 22, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Luxuszimmer
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank werner g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
3.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
#20 of 1,688 in Qingdao
289 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#29 of 1,688 in Qingdao
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westin Qingdao
The Westin Qingdao
#6 of 1,688 in Qingdao
211 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
3.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
#1 of 1,688 in Qingdao
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel

Address: No.21 Quanxiang Second Road, Qingdao 266003, China
Location: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Qingdao
Price Range: $13 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Qingdao Old Observatory Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing