We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to see Manchu culture”

Shenyang Imperial Palace (Gu Gong)
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Shenyang City Historical Highlight Private Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 258 things to do in Shenyang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shenyang, China
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best place to see Manchu culture”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Even it's much smaller than the forbidden city in Beijing, but it's the best place to learn and understand the Manchu traditional culture and the history of the last emperor's ancestor.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Northeast China T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    321
    155
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The remarkable beginning of China Qing Dynasty”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Shenyang, formerly known Mukden during Qing Manchurian era, is the capital and largest city of Liaoning Province, as well as the largest city in Northeast China. Mukden Palace, also known as the Shenyang Imperial Palace, is the former imperial palace of the early Qing Dynasty of China.
Constructed in 1625, the palace was the official residential palace of the first three Qing emperors from 1625 to 1644. The Mukden Palace was built to resemble the Forbidden City in Beijing. However, the palace architectural design exhibits mostly Manchurian and Tibetan designs.
Most important, the palace area is only 1/10 of the layout size of the Forbidden City in Beijing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bambooKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 'must see' destination for any serious tourist of china”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

you're in Shenyang.
obviously you're here for the chinese culture and history experience!
Gu Gong was my first stop and should be for all people interested in the culture, It ties in the ancient feudal history with modern events such as the japanese invasion of China, the manchuco incident etc.
It helped me to understand the cultural eruption that was occurring at all levels of Chinese culture following the end of the Quing empire.
This cultural treasure of china is so well preserved, so habitable still it is a credit to the poeples republic.
original masterpieces of woodworking, carving, stonework, tiling,the presentation of the diaramas is simply overwhelming, this is a site you could visit several times over a week and discover new detail!

guides are available, wonderfully dressed in period costume (traditional) although english is poor. Fortunately all information inside the buildings is in both Chinese and English so you will not be left curious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Most Interesting”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was very enjoyable. The palace is large but not overwhelming. Our guide was knowledgeable and I think she memorized the history and stories very well. Her English was not good enough to handle questions very far beyond what she communicated to us. Nevertheless, it was a joy to have her as our guide. I would highly recommend you hire a guide for a more enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahoo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must see in Shenyang”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went to both imperial palaces in Beijing and Shenyang. We like this one better. It is smaller and easy to get around. There were fewer people and we enjoyed our time there. The palace provided a different historical perspective compared to the Imperial Palace in Beijing. We finished the entire palace in about three hours.

The location is nearby the metro system; however, it is a little harder to find. I would recommend have a good map in hand and know the directions before leaving the metro system.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenyang Imperial Palace (Gu Gong) also viewed

 

Been to Shenyang Imperial Palace (Gu Gong)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing