We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the Best Hotel in Shenyang” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang
Ranked #4 of 1,083 Hotels in Shenyang
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotel in Shenyang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, New hotel, nice room, excellent view, and professional staffs. The manger working in the executive floor is weill trained and very friendly. The breakfast is nice, but the staffs served there needs to clean the table more effectively.

Room Tip: the higher floor is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dana925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    28
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
6
7
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Linwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Shangri La in Shenyang is once again my favorite hotel in China. Every aspect of their service and people is exceptional - especially for China. Like the Cheers bar - every one remembered my name.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Grant713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel, as relatively new, is in a very good condition, but also the staff is well trained and overwhelmingly friendly.
A special recommendation is the Teppaniaki on the 30th floor with separate rooms and with a nice view over the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank DRAKS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Highly recommended. This hotel has added a new level of service and overall living experience to Shenyang. Beautiful facilities, fantastic service, great food and very comfortable overall environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Shoghi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Shenyang's Shangri-La opened in the summer of 2013, and is centrally located on a major business and retail artery about a 20-minute drive from Shenyang North train station. The hotel is across the street from both a large park and a retail complex that includes a luxury shopping mall and a similarly-new Grand Hyatt (while I didn't stay at the Hyatt, I did visit one of the restaurants and the lounge. Typical of their brand identities, the Hyatt has a livelier, more informal feel, while the Shangri-La is comparatively traditional - I think the Hyatt would be a good option if your priorities include a bigger selection of Western food and a busy night club with live entertainment).

My room at the Shangri-La came with Horizon Club access, including separate check-in in the Horizon lounge. Staff members are quite well-trained, and all speak at least basic English. The room was medium-sized, plush, and comfortable, with a view over the nearby park. My only quibble is with the housekeeping, which could have been more thorough - when I first entered the room, there was a bit of litter on the carpet and food stains on a table, two items which should have been caught when the room was cleaned.

Breakfast in the Horizon Club offers a limited selection of Asian and Western food, but a sweeping view and attentive service. There are many more choices in the main dining room, which gets quite hectic during the morning rush.

The Horizon Club offers free Internet service, but I encountered the worst Internet service I've had anywhere in China. Both times I tried, I was stuck with painfully slow connections for even basic applications - a problem I didn't have elsewhere in the city.

Since my business trip included a bit of weekend down time, I did some Shenyang sightseeing. The concierge desk can give you a helpful tourist map identifying common tourist attractions. Taxis are sometimes in short supply, so give yourself ample time - I spent over 30 minutes trying to find a free cab one rainy evening. Because the hotel is new, many taxi drivers don't know where it is, and simply giving them the hotel's address card won't do you much good. Before you head out, ask someone at the hotel to write down the name of the intersection where the hotel is located - you'll have better luck finding a driver who knows the location.

Shenyang has two worthwhile UNESCO World Heritage sites - the Imperial Palace, a smaller version of Beijing's Forbidden City, and the North Tomb, which is the final resting place of the founder of the Qing Dynasty. The Palace is in the center of the city, and is clustered near several other historic sites. The North Tomb is on the outskirts of downtown, and is in the center of an expansive park. While the Imperial Palace takes an hour or two to explore, the North Tomb requires more time, as the sprawling area is best seen on foot.

Shangri-Las offer reassuring consistency, and the brand's expansion to Shenyang keeps that trait intact.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSH, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear ShiMoke,

Thank you for staying with us at Shangri-La Hotel, Shenyang and for taking some of your valuable time to provide us with your comments. I do appreciate your suggestions and observations and will share them with my colleagues so that we can strive for continual improvement.! At the same time, I would be very happy to communicate further with you, please feel free to contact me at gary.biondo@shangri-la.com. Please trust our commitment to deliver excellent and caring service to all our guest and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just recently returned from a stay and overall can't fault this hotel. Great friendly staff who always willing to help. The only teething problem with this hotel is the air con in the rooms it is non existent asked a few times to have it fixed but they unable to help. Would definetly recommend this hotel in shenyang

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Norn-iron1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a new Hotel in Shenyang yet it provides excellnt service and focused attention by all the staff from the General manager down. The Standard of the Hotel is typical high end Shangri la quality and excellent food. The staff in particular were very attentive and extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenyang hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Shenyang
Grand Hyatt Shenyang
#3 of 1,083 in Shenyang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Shenyang by Shangri-La
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Shenyang Lido
Sofitel Shenyang Lido
#2 of 1,083 in Shenyang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Shenyang
Doubletree by Hilton Shenyang
#6 of 1,083 in Shenyang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Shenyang
Kempinski Hotel Shenyang
#7 of 1,083 in Shenyang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Shenyang Zhongshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang
Address: No.115 Qingnian Avenue, Shenhe District, Shenyang 110016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Liaoning > Shenyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,083 Hotels in Shenyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Shenyang enjoys a central location with panoramic views of the historic city. Guests will have easy access to Shenyang's commercial and industrial zones, city government and consulate offices, and exhibition centres. The hotel is also within walking distance of shopping districts and tourist attractions. Guestrooms are spacious and the hotel offers more than 4,000 sqm of function space, for weddings and other events. Highlights include Shangri-La's signature Summer Palace restaurant. The hotel is 20 kilometres (30 minutes by car without traffic) from Shenyang Taoxian International Airport. It is a 20-minute drive to the two major train stations, which connect Shenyang by high-speed and express trains to other key cities in China. The subway is only a five-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Shenyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing